June 9th, 2022

Sofi Tukker with Bob’s Dance Shop, LP Giobbi, and Mary Droppinz at Mission Ballroom
Denver, CO
June 8, 2022
Photos by David A. Barber

#missionballroom  #sofitukker  #lpgiobbi  #marydroppinz  #RockOnColo

Posted in Live Photos Tagged with: , , , ,

April 1st, 2022

SOFI TUKKER today share their exuberant new single “Kakee,” an ode to persimmons in Brazilian Portuguese full of double entendres.

The playfully seductive track opens their forthcoming second album, WET TENNIS, out April 29th on Ultra.

The group shares, “Kakee, which means persimmon in Portuguese and in many other languages, is a song, quite literally, about persimmons. Soph had been talking about how obsessed she is with persimmons for a long time and so she and Chacal (the Brazilian poet we have made a lot of songs with) wrote a poem about them. The lyrics literally translate to “I don’t go by car or by foot. I go by persimmon…. I’m not Sophie, I’m persimmon…. The juice of the persimmon is on my nose and on my chest, so sexy.” We started it as a techno track and then with the guitar it really took a turn. No idea what genre this is. We just know that we love it. “

The “Kakee” video was filmed in Hawaii and is full of visual double entendres that correspond with the lyrics. Persimmons are squeezed until they gush and drip everywhere culminating in an ecstatic Sophie laying in a field. It was directed by Aerin Moreno with creative direction from Amber Park and styling by Johnny Wujek who were also the team on the “Original Sin” video.

“This is one of our favorite videos we’ve made. The experience being in Kualoa Park in Hawaii was… awe. Being in that environment is so inspiring, and really gives us a sense of our beautiful insignificance (lol that’s a Sophie line of course).” shares SOFI TUKKER on the making of the video, “In the first take, Tuck started clapping and that became a fun theme throughout the video. We ran through the valleys, squeezed persimmons… squeezed tennis balls filled with persimmon juice. And it climaxes with Soph quite literally climaxing, on the top of a mountain–she turns herself on by playing the guitar on the top of the mountain, with a persimmon between her legs. It’s as absurd as the lyrics of the song.“

LAS VEGAS DJ RESIDENCY:

Sun, April 10 – Las Vegas, NV @ TAO Beach Dayclub

Fri, April 15 – Las Vegas, NV @ TAO Beach Dayclub

Sat, April 23 – Las Vegas, NV @ Marquee Dayclub

Sat, May 14 – Las Vegas, NV @ Marquee Dayclub

Sun, Aug 21 – Las Vegas, NV @ TAO Beach Dayclub

SOFI TUKKER LIVE:

North American Tour

Sat, May 21 – Washington, D.C. @ 9:30 Club (SOLD OUT)

Sun, May 22 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club (SOLD OUT)

Mon, May 23 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer

Wed, May 25 – Brooklyn, NY @ Avant Gardner – The Brooklyn Mirage

Thu, May 26 – Boston, MA @ Roadrunner

Sat, May 28 – Quebec City, QC @ Imperial Bell (SOLD OUT)

Mon, May 30 – Montreal, QC @ MTELUS

Wed, June 1 – Toronto, ON @ HISTORY

Thu, June 2 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre

Fri, June 3 – Chicago, IL @ Radius

Mon, June 6 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue

Wed, June 8 – Denver, CO @ The Mission Ballroom

Thu, June 9 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Depot

Sat, June 11 – Portland, OR @ Roseland Theater (SOLD OUT)

Sun, June 12 – Portland, OR @ Roseland Theater

Tue, June 14 – Seattle, WA @ The Paramount Theatre

Thu, June 16 – Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theatre

Sat, June 18 – Los Angeles, CA @ Shrine Exposition Hall

Mon, June 20 – San Diego, CA @ SOMA

Australian Tour

Sat, July 23 – Melbourne @ Forum

Sun, July 24 – Sydney @ Roundhouse

Thu, July 28 – Adelaide @ Lion Arts Factory

Fri, July 29 – Perth @ Astor Theatre

European Tour

Mon, Sept 5 – Warsaw, Poland @ Progresja

Wed, Sept 7 – Prague, Czech Republic @ Roxy

Thu, Sept 8 – Leipzig, Germany @ Werk 2

Fri, Sept 9 – Berlin, Germany @ Columbiahalle

Sun, Sept 11 – Hamburg, Germany @ Fabrik

Mon, Sept 12 – Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Paradiso

Tue, Sept 13 – Cologne, Germany @ Live Music Hall

Thu, Sept 15 – London, UK @ O2 Shepherds Bush Empire

Fri, Sept 16 – Antwerp, Belgium @ TRIX

Sat, Sept 17 – Paris, France @ Elysee Montmartre

Sun, Sept 18 – Utrecht, Netherlands @ TivoliVredenburg

Wed, Sept 21- Milan, Italy @ Fabrique

Thu, Sept 22 – Frankfurt, Germany @ Sankt Peter

Fri, Sept 23 – Munich, Germany @ Freiheiz

Sat, Sept 24 – Bern, Switzerland @ Bierhubeli

Tue, Sept 27 – Vienna, Austria @ WUK

Wed, Sept 28 – Budapest, Hungary @ Budapest Park

Fri, Sept 30 – Istanbul, Turkey @ Kucukciftlik Park

Sat, Oct 1 – Cankaya, Ankara, Turkey @ Odtu Visnelik

Festival Dates

Fri, April 1 – Cancun, Mexico @ Tiesto: The Trip (DJ Set)

Sun, April 24 – Houston, TX @ Clé Summer Sessions (DJ Set)

Fri, July 8 – Sun, July 10 – Split, Croatia @ Ultra Music Festival (DJ Set)

Sat, July 9 – Barcelona, Spain @ Cruilla Festival (DJ Set)

Fri, July 15 – Lisbon, Portugal @ Super Bock Super Rock (DJ Set)

Sun, July 17 – Boom, Belgium @ Tomorrowland (DJ Set)

Fri, July 22 – Byron Bay, NSW Australia @ Splendour in the Grass Festival (Live Set)

Fri, Aug 19 – North East, PA @ Elements Music & Arts Festival (Hybrid Set)

#sofitukker

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , ,

February 4th, 2022

Today (February 4th) SOFI TUKKER share a new single “Original Sin” and announce their forthcoming sophomore album WET TENNIS along with a world tour. WET TENNIS is the highly anticipated follow-up to their 2018 GRAMMY nominated debut album Treehouse, due April 29th via Ultra/Sony Music.

“Original Sin” is a mantra of being kind to yourself and rejecting imposed social mores. It’s a duet that parachutes you into the center of SOFI TUKKER’s world with a juggernaut rhythm and an instantly memorable hook. 

The group says, “‘Original Sin’ is the perfect way to introduce the world of WET TENNIS and it’s very emblematic of ” the freak fam”, our community. It says: we aren’t meant to be saints. We aren’t born sinners. We’re just a bunch of freaks who make mistakes and keep trying to do our best. WET TENNIS is an acronym that stands for: “when everyone tries to evolve, nothing negative is safe” and that’s what this song is all about. We live in a troubled world, it’s not our fault if we have trouble sometimes. That’s part of what makes us human. But when we evolve together and celebrate instead of judge each other, we can move through negativity into a more optimistic way of life. “

The “Original Sin” video is steeped in playful eroticism and introduces the  joyful and seductive iconography of WET TENNIS. In true SOFI TUKKER fashion, they decamped to a tropical location radiating lush greens and sunlight and realized the video in Oahu, Hawaii with director Aerin Moreno and creative direction by Amber Park (Camila Cabello, Madison Beer). They wear custom WET TENNIS outfits designed by Johnny Wujek (Katy Perry, HBO’s Legendary) in the video’s very metaphorical and ecstatic tennis match.

SOFI TUKKER share about the video:

“The ‘Original Sin’ video is the Garden of Eden of the WET TENNIS world. It’s a place beaming with sexual freedom and colorful possibilities. At first, we see everybody in their traditional roles, wearing all white, clapping politely, acting as one “should” during a tennis match, but as the world unfolds, we see that everyone is a freak. At the end of the video, that freakiness is liberated as we all look up to the WET TENNIS statue in the sky.

We’re wearing custom tennis outfits we designed with Johnny Wujek, that have the WET TENNIS gradient scheme from orange to purple. We wanted to take the traditional aspects of the tennis aesthetic and flip it on its head to make it more colorful and wild. We have a moment of Sophie in a headdress made of tennis balls. And of course–an orgy in the confessional booth, set in front of the lush Hawaiian mountains. It was so much fun to shoot this video and create this world from our bizarre imaginations into real life. We hope it invites people to take a step away from the path they think they’re supposed to be on towards one where all their desires and colors are welcomed. And we hope it puts people into a sexy state of mind. ”

SOFI TUKKER LIVE:

North American Tour

Sat, May 21 – Washington, D.C. @ 9:30 Club

Mon, May 23 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer

Wed, May 25 – Brooklyn, NY @ Avant Gardner – The Brooklyn Mirage

Thu, May 26 – Boston, MA @ Roadrunner

Sat, May 28 – Quebec City, QC @ Imperial Bell

Mon, May 30 – Montreal, QC @ MTELUS

Wed, June 1 – Toronto, ON @ HISTORY

Thu, June 2 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre

Fri, June 3 – Chicago, IL @ Radius

Mon, June 6 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue

Wed, June 8 – Denver, CO @ The Mission Ballroom

Thu, June 9 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Depot

Sat, June 11 – Portland, OR @ Roseland Theater

Tue, June 14 – Seattle, WA @ The Paramount Theatre

Thu, June 16 – Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theatre

Sat, June 18 – Los Angeles, CA @ Shrine Exposition Hall

Mon, June 20 – San Diego, CA @ SOMA

Festival Dates

Sat, March 5 – San Diego, CA @ CRSSD Festival (Live Set)

Fri, March 25 – Sat, March 27 – Miami, FL @ Ultra Music Festival (Live Set)

Thu, March 31 – Sun, April 3 – Cancun, Mexico @ Tiesto:The Trip (DJ Set)

Sat, July 9 – Barcelona, Spain @ Cruilla Festival (DJ Set)

Fri, July 15 – Lisbon, Portugal @ Super Bock Super Rock (DJ Set)

Fri, July 22 – Byron Bay, NSW Australia @ Splendour in the Grass Festival (Live Set)

#sofitukker

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , ,

December 1st, 2021

best-of-2021

Best of 2021 – Last year we missed doing our annual “Best Of.” This year we present it after a year of quarantine albums galore. Tours didn’t start until May but new music was flowing from the start of 2021. 2022 is already aiming to be a busy year. Here are our choices for the Best of 2021.

We’ve evolved from Phoebe Bridgers, Megan Thee Stallion and others of last year to a new crop of artists.

Best Label – Fire Talk Records – Home to Bnny, Mamalarky, Packs and more this boutique label is setting up to be the next Saddle Creek Records.  

Secretly Group @secretlygroup, Saddle Creek Records @saddlecreek, Fire Talk Records @firetalkrecs, Don Giovanni Records @DonGiovanniRecs

Nest New Artist –  “New” is always relative. Georgia Maq has been part of Camp Cope, and Isabella Manfredi was part of The Preatures. Our winner is Ashe who album Ashlyn was hard to put down this year.

Georgia Maq @goldsoundz_, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Ashe @ashemusic, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Hawxx @hawxxmusic,  Noa Kirel @noakirel, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Killboy @killboy , Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd , Ydegirl @ydegirl, The Linda Lindas @the_linda_lindas, Allison Ponthier @allisonponthier, Isabella Manfredi @isabellamanfredi, Pom Pom Squad  @pompomsquad

Best Local (Colorado) Artist – Local artists can often be touring or even national acts. This category was very competitive with the amount of quarantine albums that came out. Our winner is Companion who mesmerized us in the Spring. They will quickly become a national act.

Companion @companiontheband , Wellington Bullings @wellingtonbullings, Jenny Shawhan @jennyshawhan, The Velveteers @thevelveteers , Grand Alliance @LeGrandAlliance, Bunny Blake @bunnyblakemusic, Ellsworth @ellsworththefolksinger, Stop Motion, Lvdy @lvdy, Lolita  @lolitaworldwide

Best Dance – Dance is also electronic and electro pop. Magdalena Bay & Sofi Tukker are the 800 lb gorillas in this category. Kito is our winner for surprising collaborations.

Magdalena Bay @magdalenabay, Sofi Tukker @sofitukker, Kito @kito

Best Pop – Pop like Indie is often open to interpretation. It is often what dominates at venues. Our winner is Charlotte Cardin whose Phoenix album was one of the best albums this year.

Hana Vu @hanavuuu, Lucy Dacus @lucydacus, Japanese Breakfast @jbrekkie, Baby Queen @queenofthebabies, Charlotte Cardin @charlottecardin, Jess Chalker @jess_chalker_, May-A @mayacumming, Ashe @ashemusic, Girl In Red @girlinred, Angèle @angele_vl, Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd, Nadia Vaeh @nadiavaeh, Olivia Rox @oliviarox, Number One Popstar @numberonepopstar, Bahari @bahari, Noga Erez @nogaerez, Lola Lennox @lolalennex

Best Rock – Rock is often the guitar driven beat that keeps you going. Kill Birds, who have been touring with Foo Fighters are our winner.

Royal and the Serpent @royalandtheserpent,  Amyl and the Sniffers @amylandthesniffers, Mattiel @mattielworldwide , Upsahl @upsahlmusicl, Self Esteem @selfesteemselfesteem, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Nadia Sheikh @nadiasheikhmusic, Red Hook @weareredhook, Pom Pom Squad @pompomsquad

Best Indie –  Indie always means both a sound but also a level of development. These are the artists at the small venues touring to survive. We have a diverse selection this year. Bnny is our winner.

Torres @torreslovesyou, The Beths @lizstokedstokes, Bnny @bnnyband, Madi Diaz @madidiaz, Marissa Nadler @marrisa_nadler, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Siiickbrain @siiickbrain, Sub*t @subtrules, Killboy @killboy, Cumgirl8 @cumgirl8, L’Freaq @lfreaq, Madelline @i.am.madelline, Anna Smyrk @annasmyrk

Best Experimental – There is always a “flinch” moment when you saw experimental. It involves a great deal of risk as personified by our winner Fifi Rong who is working on her dual album set with one album all in English, and one all in Chinese. She is crowdfunding now.

Insect Ark @insectark, Fifi Rong @fifirong, Sasami @sasamiashworth, Irreversible Entanglements @irreversibleentanglements, Haru Nemuri @haru_nemuri

Best Hip Hop – This is the first year that FEMMUSIC has this category. There may be some arguments as to whether all these artists fit it. Coi Leray is the best newcomer in this area. Ray BLK is our winner.

Bia @bia, Tones and I @tonesandi, Doja Cat @dojacat, Sza @sza, Cardi B @iamcardib, Megan Thee Stallion @theestallion, Coi Leray @coileray, Ms Banks @msbanks, Ray BLK @rayblk, Remi Wolf @remiwolf, Tinashe @tinashenow

Best Jazz – We will admit to not hearing as much jazz this year. Laufey is the winner with original interpretations of classics.

Laufey @laufey, Nnenna Freelon @officialnnenna

Best Country – Brandi Carlile is a favorite in this category and will take home more GRAMMYs. Allison Russell wins for being new and original.

Brandi Carlile @brandicarlile, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, Yola @iamyolaofficial, CMAT @cmatbaby, Jackson & Sellers @jacksonsellersmusic, Ingrid Andress @ingridandress

Best Heavy Metal – Infected Rain is a former winner in this category. Jinjer, Halestorm & The Pretty Reckless dominate. The Velveteers are this year’s winner.

Hawxx @hawxxmusic, Edge of Paradise @edgeofparadise, Jinjer @jinjer_official, The Velveteers @thevelveteers, Infected Rain @infectedrain_official, The Pretty Reckless @theprettyreckless, Halestorm @halestormrocks

Best R & B –  This category includes powerhouses like Arlo Parks and Dawn Richard. Alewya is our winner for new and original music this year.

Muni Long @munilong, India Shawn @indiashawn, Dawn Richard @dawnrichard, Alewya @alewya11, Arlo Parks @arloparks, Tkay Maidza @tkaymaidza, Danielia Cotton @danieliacotton, Saleka @saleka

Best Surprise – A “surprise” for us is that unexpected performance when it was not expected. It includes some risky performances such as LVXURI and Big Klit. S.G. Goodman is our hands down winner. We caught her as an opener and she garnered as much reaction as the headliner. She is a blunt, and emotive songwriter.

S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Kiesza @kiesza, LVXURI @mx_lvxuri, Big Klit  @klitoriusmaximus

Best Comeback – This has been a surprisingly competitive category. Whether it’s the return of ABBA after a long time to Adele’s new album. The big surprise this month is Taylor Swift taking the world with the longest song. She is our winner.

Kylie Minogue @kylieminogue, Avril Lavigne @avrillavigne, Deborah Gibson @debbiegibson, Liz Phair @LizPhairOfficial, Taylor Swift @taylorswift , ABBA @ABBA, Adele @adele, Lorde @lorde

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

September 16th, 2021

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , ,

October 27th, 2020

 

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , ,

July 29th, 2018

Posted in Videos Tagged with: ,

May 16th, 2018
Sofi Tukker, Kah-Lo, LP Giobbi at Gothic Theatre – Englewood, CO – May 11, 2018
Photos by Veronica Lee

Posted in Live Photos Tagged with: , , ,

April 20th, 2018

Posted in Videos Tagged with: ,