March 11th, 2022

Companion announced the release of their single “23rd Street” and the release of their album Second Day of Spring on May 27th, 2022

“23rd Street” was written during a time saturated with change. We were living in downtown Oklahoma City, a couple blocks from the busy street the song is named after.

We were just a few months away from graduating college, Sophia had recently got engaged and was moving to a new state she barely knew a soul in, and we both had no idea what the coming year held for us.

In times of change, we often find ourselves experiencing a feeling we can only describe as “pre-nostalgia” — it’s the feeling, or realization, that things will never be the same as they are now.

Though you may come back to the same places, or reunite with old friends — the feeling you had then won’t ever quite come back the same way.

This song & this album perfectly encapsulate this feeling of impermanence, new growth, and change for us.

#companionband

Carolyn HunterI actually wrote this song before Lovelight, and yet it’s the last to be released. I think that the huge amount of time between writing and producing served it well. By the time we were in the studio with it, I was much less attached to the original structure, and lyrics of the song. I was able to “lose control” as they say, and let Julian Peterson and Micah Tawlks work their magic on the production side.

 

Julian (producer) and I would sit at his studio (Wolf Den Studios) out on a hay farm and just have fun. This was the last of the batch of songs we were recording and so we had a unique final-stretch playfulness. We messed with robotic audio settings, we flipped choruses and verses, we cut everything and laughed about it.

It was a good time, and I think it shows in the track. Then of course you add Micah’s shimmering synth splash hook and we were just happy crying.

#CarolunHunter 

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

December 1st, 2021

best-of-2021

Best of 2021 – Last year we missed doing our annual “Best Of.” This year we present it after a year of quarantine albums galore. Tours didn’t start until May but new music was flowing from the start of 2021. 2022 is already aiming to be a busy year. Here are our choices for the Best of 2021.

We’ve evolved from Phoebe Bridgers, Megan Thee Stallion and others of last year to a new crop of artists.

Best Label – Fire Talk Records – Home to Bnny, Mamalarky, Packs and more this boutique label is setting up to be the next Saddle Creek Records.  

Secretly Group @secretlygroup, Saddle Creek Records @saddlecreek, Fire Talk Records @firetalkrecs, Don Giovanni Records @DonGiovanniRecs

Nest New Artist –  “New” is always relative. Georgia Maq has been part of Camp Cope, and Isabella Manfredi was part of The Preatures. Our winner is Ashe who album Ashlyn was hard to put down this year.

Georgia Maq @goldsoundz_, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Ashe @ashemusic, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Hawxx @hawxxmusic,  Noa Kirel @noakirel, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Killboy @killboy , Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd , Ydegirl @ydegirl, The Linda Lindas @the_linda_lindas, Allison Ponthier @allisonponthier, Isabella Manfredi @isabellamanfredi, Pom Pom Squad  @pompomsquad

Best Local (Colorado) Artist – Local artists can often be touring or even national acts. This category was very competitive with the amount of quarantine albums that came out. Our winner is Companion who mesmerized us in the Spring. They will quickly become a national act.

Companion @companiontheband , Wellington Bullings @wellingtonbullings, Jenny Shawhan @jennyshawhan, The Velveteers @thevelveteers , Grand Alliance @LeGrandAlliance, Bunny Blake @bunnyblakemusic, Ellsworth @ellsworththefolksinger, Stop Motion, Lvdy @lvdy, Lolita  @lolitaworldwide

Best Dance – Dance is also electronic and electro pop. Magdalena Bay & Sofi Tukker are the 800 lb gorillas in this category. Kito is our winner for surprising collaborations.

Magdalena Bay @magdalenabay, Sofi Tukker @sofitukker, Kito @kito

Best Pop – Pop like Indie is often open to interpretation. It is often what dominates at venues. Our winner is Charlotte Cardin whose Phoenix album was one of the best albums this year.

Hana Vu @hanavuuu, Lucy Dacus @lucydacus, Japanese Breakfast @jbrekkie, Baby Queen @queenofthebabies, Charlotte Cardin @charlottecardin, Jess Chalker @jess_chalker_, May-A @mayacumming, Ashe @ashemusic, Girl In Red @girlinred, Angèle @angele_vl, Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd, Nadia Vaeh @nadiavaeh, Olivia Rox @oliviarox, Number One Popstar @numberonepopstar, Bahari @bahari, Noga Erez @nogaerez, Lola Lennox @lolalennex

Best Rock – Rock is often the guitar driven beat that keeps you going. Kill Birds, who have been touring with Foo Fighters are our winner.

Royal and the Serpent @royalandtheserpent,  Amyl and the Sniffers @amylandthesniffers, Mattiel @mattielworldwide , Upsahl @upsahlmusicl, Self Esteem @selfesteemselfesteem, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Nadia Sheikh @nadiasheikhmusic, Red Hook @weareredhook, Pom Pom Squad @pompomsquad

Best Indie –  Indie always means both a sound but also a level of development. These are the artists at the small venues touring to survive. We have a diverse selection this year. Bnny is our winner.

Torres @torreslovesyou, The Beths @lizstokedstokes, Bnny @bnnyband, Madi Diaz @madidiaz, Marissa Nadler @marrisa_nadler, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Siiickbrain @siiickbrain, Sub*t @subtrules, Killboy @killboy, Cumgirl8 @cumgirl8, L’Freaq @lfreaq, Madelline @i.am.madelline, Anna Smyrk @annasmyrk

Best Experimental – There is always a “flinch” moment when you saw experimental. It involves a great deal of risk as personified by our winner Fifi Rong who is working on her dual album set with one album all in English, and one all in Chinese. She is crowdfunding now.

Insect Ark @insectark, Fifi Rong @fifirong, Sasami @sasamiashworth, Irreversible Entanglements @irreversibleentanglements, Haru Nemuri @haru_nemuri

Best Hip Hop – This is the first year that FEMMUSIC has this category. There may be some arguments as to whether all these artists fit it. Coi Leray is the best newcomer in this area. Ray BLK is our winner.

Bia @bia, Tones and I @tonesandi, Doja Cat @dojacat, Sza @sza, Cardi B @iamcardib, Megan Thee Stallion @theestallion, Coi Leray @coileray, Ms Banks @msbanks, Ray BLK @rayblk, Remi Wolf @remiwolf, Tinashe @tinashenow

Best Jazz – We will admit to not hearing as much jazz this year. Laufey is the winner with original interpretations of classics.

Laufey @laufey, Nnenna Freelon @officialnnenna

Best Country – Brandi Carlile is a favorite in this category and will take home more GRAMMYs. Allison Russell wins for being new and original.

Brandi Carlile @brandicarlile, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, Yola @iamyolaofficial, CMAT @cmatbaby, Jackson & Sellers @jacksonsellersmusic, Ingrid Andress @ingridandress

Best Heavy Metal – Infected Rain is a former winner in this category. Jinjer, Halestorm & The Pretty Reckless dominate. The Velveteers are this year’s winner.

Hawxx @hawxxmusic, Edge of Paradise @edgeofparadise, Jinjer @jinjer_official, The Velveteers @thevelveteers, Infected Rain @infectedrain_official, The Pretty Reckless @theprettyreckless, Halestorm @halestormrocks

Best R & B –  This category includes powerhouses like Arlo Parks and Dawn Richard. Alewya is our winner for new and original music this year.

Muni Long @munilong, India Shawn @indiashawn, Dawn Richard @dawnrichard, Alewya @alewya11, Arlo Parks @arloparks, Tkay Maidza @tkaymaidza, Danielia Cotton @danieliacotton, Saleka @saleka

Best Surprise – A “surprise” for us is that unexpected performance when it was not expected. It includes some risky performances such as LVXURI and Big Klit. S.G. Goodman is our hands down winner. We caught her as an opener and she garnered as much reaction as the headliner. She is a blunt, and emotive songwriter.

S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Kiesza @kiesza, LVXURI @mx_lvxuri, Big Klit  @klitoriusmaximus

Best Comeback – This has been a surprisingly competitive category. Whether it’s the return of ABBA after a long time to Adele’s new album. The big surprise this month is Taylor Swift taking the world with the longest song. She is our winner.

Kylie Minogue @kylieminogue, Avril Lavigne @avrillavigne, Deborah Gibson @debbiegibson, Liz Phair @LizPhairOfficial, Taylor Swift @taylorswift , ABBA @ABBA, Adele @adele, Lorde @lorde

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

September 11th, 2021

What is the Arts Lead Sheet? It is a resource for finding grants, jobs, opportunities in the arts. It started as an ad-hoc e-mail list a few years. We are now bringing it back as a feature on FEMMUSIC. It is not restricted to music but encompasses all of the arts. Miss something? Look at the archives at: 

https://femmusic.com/wp/index.php/category/the-arts-lead-sheet/

Grants

Jobs

Senior Broadcast Business Development Exec – London, UK

https://www.shesaid.so/jobs/senior-broadcast-business-development-executive-ppl

UI Designer – Berlin, Germany

https://www.shesaid.so/jobs/ui-designer-ableton-berlin

Gaming & Blockchain Project Manager – Remote

https://www.shesaid.so/jobs/gaming-blockchain-project-manager-pixelynx

boxout.FM – CEO – New Delhi, India

https://www.shesaid.so/jobs/ceo-boxoutfm

Digital Marketing Manager – Bristol, UK

https://www.shesaid.so/jobs/digital-marketing-manager-electronic-music-lady-of-the-house

Prospector – London, UK

https://www.shesaid.so/jobs/prospector-resident-advisor

Sr. Graphic Designer – London, Berlin, NYC

https://www.shesaid.so/jobs/sr-graphic-designer-resident-advisor

Creative Partnerships Manager – London, UK

https://www.shesaid.so/jobs/creative-partnerships-manager-resident-advisor

International Marketing Manager – Australia or London

https://www.shesaid.so/jobs/-international-marketing-manager-secretly-group

Manager: Music & Talent – Nickelodeon – Hollywood, CA

https://careers.viacomcbs.com/job/Hollywood-Manager%2C-Music-&-Talent-Nickelodeon-CA-90028/761020700/?feedId=340900&utm_source=LinkedInJobPostings&utm_campaign=ViacomCBS_LinkedIn

Music Studios Coordinator – Amazon – Rio

https://www.amazon.jobs/en/jobs/1675742/program-manager-music

Amazon Jobs Portal

https://www.amazon.jobs/en

Operations Manager & HR Manager – Colorado

https://www.publicnewsservice.org/about/jobs.php

Weekend General Assignment Reporter & Host – Colorado

https://www.kunc.org/employment-internships

Digital Media Sales Rep – Colorado

https://cumulusmedia.jobs.net/en-US/

KVOR AM Drive Time News Anchor – Colorado

https://cumulusmedia.jobs.net/en-US/

Sales & Digital Marketing Associate – Colorado

http://openmediafoundation.org/about/careers

Office Manager – E-Town – Boulder, CO

https://www.etown.org/careers/?mc_cid=af2dd06e9d&mc_eid=c9909ef0b6

Women’s Audio Mission: Marketing Associate –  San Francisco, CA

https://wamission.bamboohr.com/jobs/view.php?id=35&source=bamboohr

Women’s Audio Mission: Director of Development – San Francisco, CA

https://wamission.bamboohr.com/jobs/view.php?id=39&source=bamboohr

Opportunities

SeriesFest: Shondaland: Women Directing Mentorship – Deadline – Sept 14, 2021

https://filmfreeway.com/SeriesFestpofessionaldevelopment

Events

California Copyright Conference: Legal Eagles Panel – September 14, 2021 – 2:30 PST

https://theccc.org/events/the-ccc-annual-music-legal-eagles-panel/

Denver Office of Special Events: Lunch & Learn – September 16, 2021 – 12pm MST

https://www.denvergov.org/Government/Agencies-Departments-Offices/Office-of-Special-Events/OSENews/2021-News/New-page

Black Fret Colorado Introduction – September, 19, 2021 – FT. Collins, CO

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/black-fret-colorado-sneak-peek-fort-collins-tickets-169855374999

Black Fret Colorado Introduction – September 20, 2021 – Boulder, CO

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/black-fret-colorado-sneak-peek-boulder-tickets-170323761957

Black Fret Colorado Introduction – September 22, 2021 – Denver, CO

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/black-fret-colorado-sneak-peek-denver-tickets-170324694747

Music Biz: A Novel Approach for Streaming Concerts & Ticketing – September 23, 2021 – 2pm EST

https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_Do9ZTlfJRECboOks_6pw6Q

Cyber PR Webinar: Websites For Musicians – September 23, 2021 – 12pm EST

https://my.demio.com/ref/rzWRqenj6xQHWQes?ck_subscriber_id=463327248

Southwest Regional Folk Alliance Conference – September 24-26, 2021

https://swrfa.wufoo.com/forms/swrfa-2021-registration-form/?mc_cid=9181822ec5&mc_eid=3069346eaf

Music Forward: All Access Fest – September 30, 2021

https://musicforwardfoundation.org/all-access-fest/

Music Biz: Metadata Summit 2021 – October 5-7, 2021 – 11:30-1:30 EST

https://musicbiz.org/events/virtual-metadata-summit/

Far West Virtual Conference – Folk Alliance – October 14-26, 2021

https://far-west.org/2021tickets/?mc_cid=9181822ec5&mc_eid=3069346eaf

Women’s Audio Mission: Immersive Audio Mixing – October 14-16, 2021

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/immersive-audio-mixing-tickets-168988903359?aff=ebdsoporgprofile&utm_source=WAM+Main+Mailing+List&utm_campaign=209f83bcec-EMAIL_CAMPAIGN_2018_06_27_03_56_COPY_01&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_2358c08682-209f83bcec-128225165

Virtual Global Symposium 2021 – Looking Back and Moving Forward: Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in TV – October 18, 2021 – 3pm EST

https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_68BkW5H_Sv2XzMTX4WDaoQ

FARM Virtual Connections: Folk Alliance – October 27-30, 2021

https://www.farmfolk.org/the-gathering-2021/?mc_cid=9181822ec5&mc_eid=3069346eaf

NERFA Virtual Conference: Folk Alliance – November 11-14, 2021

https://www.nerfa2021.com/?mc_cid=9181822ec5&mc_eid=3069346eaf

 

Posted in The Arts Lead Sheet Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

July 25th, 2021

What is the Arts Lead Sheet? It is a resource for finding grants, jobs, opportunities in the arts. It started as an ad-hoc e-mail list a few years. We are now bringing it back as a feature on FEMMUSIC. It is not restricted to music but encompasses all of the arts. Miss something? Look at the archives at: 

https://femmusic.com/wp/index.php/category/the-arts-lead-sheet/

Grants

Jobs

Director of Development – New Music USA

https://newmusicusa.org/who-we-are/our-people/careers/director-of-development/

Director of Finance & Administration – New Music USA

https://newmusicusa.org/who-we-are/our-people/careers/director-of-finance-and-administration/

Digital Associate – New Music USA

https://newmusicusa.org/who-we-are/our-people/careers/digital-associate/

Volunteer Marketing Chair – Denver Startup Week – Denver, CO

https://www.linkedin.com/jobs/view/2620525889/?utm_campaign=website&utm_source=Denver%20Startup%20Week&utm_medium=Email

E-commerce Marketing Manager – London

https://www.shesaid.so/jobs/e-commerce-marketing-manager-spitfire-audio

Streaming Analytics Coordinator – USA

https://www.shesaid.so/jobs/streaming-analytics-coordinator-secretly-group

Marketing Assistant – London

https://www.shesaid.so/jobs/marketing-assistant-ninja-tune-london-uk

Music Supervisor / Producer – London

https://www.shesaid.so/jobs/music-supervisor-producer-siren

Associate Music Supervisor / Production Assistant – London

https://www.shesaid.so/jobs/associate-music-supervisor-production-assistant-siren

Label Assistant and Junior PM – London

https://www.shesaid.so/jobs/label-assistant-and-junior-pm-big-dada

Head of Curation – London

https://www.shesaid.so/jobs/head-of-curation-keakie

Composer Assistant – London

https://www.shesaid.so/jobs/composer-assistant-atc-management

Publicity Assistant – Los Angeles, CA

https://www.shesaid.so/jobs/publicity-assistant-ninja-tune

Westword Fellowship – Denver, CO

https://www.westword.com/news/westword-has-immediate-opening-for-news-reporting-fellow-12041055

Opportunities

PRS Power Up – Black Music Creators – UK

https://prsfoundation.com/power-up-participant-programme/

Events

Canadian Music Week – How to Create a Memorable Vocal Performance – July 27, 2021 – 2pm EST

https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_LwrkVsWMR7Sd2ze5qVUqqQ

Posted in The Arts Lead Sheet Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,