May 19th, 2022

SG Goodman

Indie rocker S.G. Goodman announces new September headline tour dates in support of her new album Teeth Marks, set for release June 3 via Verve Forecast. In addition to the new dates, Goodman releases a new live performance video for her single “All My Love Is Coming Back To Me,” a power-pop single that was released earlier this year.

Recently on tour opening for Son Volt and Jason Isbell, Goodman will continue touring across the US, with headline dates including June 7 at New York’s Mercury Lounge. She is also performing at KCRW’s School Night on May 24 at The Sun Rose in Los Angeles, CA. She then tours with John Moreland throughout August, before continuing her headline tour with dates in Philadelphia, Washington, DC, Boston and more.

Mining garage rock, Appalachian folk and post-punk influence,  Goodman’s sophomore album Teeth Marks finds her stirring vocals and emotionally astute songwriting draped in a sonic patchwork of southern indie rock. Exploring her embodied trauma of coming out as gay to her Southern Baptist rural community, and the homophobic prejudice and ostracization, that has continued to follow her to this day.

She explores how this kind of trauma will log-jam in the body, alongside examining the opioid crisis, queer dating and unrequited love. Across all 11 tracks the central concept of the indelible mark that love leaves behind, is present. From lovingly confronting a self-destructive alcoholic friend, to confronting herself in the face of unrequited love. A landmark release from one of the most impassioned and idiosyncratic voices of this generation, it will cement her as one of the most exciting acts emerging from the South in many years.

TOUR DATES

May 24 – Los Angeles, CA – The Sun Rose

Jun 4 – Nashville, TN – Third Man Records

Jun 7 – New York, NY – Mercury Lounge

Jun 10 – Stockholm, SE – Stockholm Americana

Jun 11 – Copenhagen, DK – Copenhagen Americana

Jun 12 – Oslo, NO – Oslo Americana

June 19 – Manchester , Yes Manchester w/ Darlingside

June 20 – London, Union Chapel  w/ Darlingside

July 2  – Berwyn, IL Fitzgerald’s American Music Festival

July 17 – Somerset, KY, Master Musicians Festival

Aug 11 – Santa Fe, NM – Tumbleroot Brewing ^

Aug 13 – Tucson, AZ – 191 Toole ^

Aug 14 – Phoenix, AZ – Musical Instrument Museum ^

Aug 16 – Los Angeles, CA – Teragram Ballroom ^

Aug 17 – Felton, CA – Felton Music Hall ^

Aug 18 – San Francisco, CA – The Independent ^

Aug 20 – Portland, OR – Doug Fir Lounge ^

Aug 21 – Seattle, WA – Tractor Tavern ^

Aug 22 – Seattle, WA – Tractor Tavern ^

Aug 24 – Bozeman, MT – Live from the Divide ^

Aug 26 – Salt Lake City, UT – The Commonwealth Room ^

Aug 27 – Denver, CO – The Bluebird ^

Aug 28 – Fort Collins, CO – The Armory ^

Aug 29 – Colorado Springs, CO – Lulu’s Downstairs ^

Sep 4 – Nelsonville, OH – Nelsonville Music Festival

Sep 9-10 – Bristol, TN – Bristol Rhythm & Roots

Sep 20 – Asheville, NC – American Vinyl Co

Sep 21 – Raleigh, NC – Cats Cradle

Sep 23 – Philadelphia, PA – Johnny Brendas

Sep 24 – Washington, DC – Songbyrd

Sep 25 – Freehold, NJ   – Concerts in the Studio

Sep 28  – Boston, MA    – 939 Cafe

Oct 2 – Dana Point, CA – Ohana Festival

Oct 4 – Chicago, IL – Schuba’s

Oct 5 – Minneapolis, MN – 7th Street Entry

Oct 7 – St Louis, MO – Off Broadway

^ w/ John Moreland

#s.g.goodman

 

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , ,

April 6th, 2022

S G Goodman

Today, Kentucky rock & roll truth teller S.G. Goodman releases a new power-pop single “All My Love Is Coming Back To Me” from her forthcoming album Teeth Marks, set for release June 3 via Verve Forecast.

“All My Love Is Coming Back To Me” pulses with punk influence with a positive spin. Usually mining heartbreak, trauma, and political strife for her razor-sharp observations, Goodman turns towards the sun on this track, stating, “I was just trying to name it and claim it. I’m not really one to write super positive songs, but I pushed myself to do it because I wanted to believe it too. I needed a positive mantra, I was just willing good things to come to me.”

The music video has a slight hint of videos you might have caught on MTV in the mid-90s,  and features bandmates Michael Ruth (guitar), Mark Sloan (bass) and Steve Montgomery (drums) and was filmed in Nashville.

TOUR DATES

Apr 5 – Tarrytown, NY – Tarrytown Music Hall *

Apr 7 – Huntington, NY – The Paramount *

Apr 8 – New Brunswick, NJ – State Theatre New Jersey *

Apr 10 – Tarrytown, NY – Tarrytown Music Hall

Apr 22 – Birmingham, AL – Saturn +

Apr 23 – Decatur, GA – Amplify Decatur

Apr 24 – Chattanooga, TN – Songbirds +

Apr 25 – Lexington, KY – The Burl +

Apr 26 – Nashville, TN – The Basement East +

Apr 28 – Charleston, SC – Music Farm +

Apr 29 – Macon, GA – Hargray Capitol Theatre +

Apr 30 – Waverly, AL – Standard Deluxe +

Jun 7 – New York, NY – Mercury Lounge

Jun 10 – Stockholm, SE – Stockholm Americana

Jun 11 – Copenhagen, DK – Copenhagen Americana

Jun 12 – Oslo, NO – Oslo Americana

Aug 11 – Santa Fe, NM – Tumbleroot Brewing ^

Aug 13 – Tucson, AZ – 191 Toole ^

Aug 14 – Phoenix, AZ – Musical Instrument Museum ^

Aug 16 – Los Angeles, CA – Teragram Ballroom ^

Aug 17 – Felton, CA – Felton Music Hall ^

Aug 18 – San Francisco, CA – The Independent ^

Aug 20 – Portland, OR – Doug Fir Lounge ^

Aug 21 – Seattle, WA – Tractor Tavern ^

Aug 22 – Seattle, WA – Tractor Tavern ^

Aug 24 – Bozeman, MT – Live from the Divide ^

Aug 26 – Salt Lake City, UT – The Commonwealth Room ^

Aug 27 – Denver, CO – The Bluebird ^

Aug 28 – Fort Collins, CO – The Armory ^

Aug 29 – Colorado Springs, CO – Lulu’s Downstairs ^

Sep 9-10 – Bristol, TN – Bristol Rhythm & Roots

 * w/ Jason Isbell

+ w/ Son Volt

^ w/ John Moreland

#s.g.goodman

 

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,

December 13th, 2021

Riddy Arman

Riddy Arman

Hi Dive

Denver, CO

December 17, 2021

#hidive_denver #riddyarman

Riddy Arman’s self-titled debut album was recorded in 6 days at Mississippi Studios in Oregon. She worked with Bronson Tew of Dialback Sound to record the 9 tracks.

Arman has traveled the country from Ohio, Virginia and California working as a ranch hand and learning livestock agriculture. She found herself in Fayetteville, Arkansas, where many of the songs that would make up her self-titled debut record first came to life. Arman writes with a minimalist approach that conveys deep emotion. She can be compared to S.G. Goodman or Colorado’s own Erika Ryann for enrapturing spirits in the music.

Riddy Arman opens her debut album from La Honda Records with a song called “Spirits, Angels, Or Lies” inspired by the true story of her father’s passing. In the lyrics, she examines the human tendency to interpret the unknown. The story she weaves details the final moments and visual hallucinations experienced when Johnny Cash visited her father on his deathbed.

 “Recording these songs brought me back to the times that inspired them, but instead of reliving the pain, the studio magic empowered me to overcome it,” Arman says of her experience.

“Most people would try to find a therapist, but at the time that wasn’t something that I had access to, so I just started playing music because it was cathartic,” she explains. “It’s very, very meditative for me.”

Riddy Arman

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,

December 1st, 2021

best-of-2021

Best of 2021 – Last year we missed doing our annual “Best Of.” This year we present it after a year of quarantine albums galore. Tours didn’t start until May but new music was flowing from the start of 2021. 2022 is already aiming to be a busy year. Here are our choices for the Best of 2021.

We’ve evolved from Phoebe Bridgers, Megan Thee Stallion and others of last year to a new crop of artists.

Best Label – Fire Talk Records – Home to Bnny, Mamalarky, Packs and more this boutique label is setting up to be the next Saddle Creek Records.  

Secretly Group @secretlygroup, Saddle Creek Records @saddlecreek, Fire Talk Records @firetalkrecs, Don Giovanni Records @DonGiovanniRecs

Nest New Artist –  “New” is always relative. Georgia Maq has been part of Camp Cope, and Isabella Manfredi was part of The Preatures. Our winner is Ashe who album Ashlyn was hard to put down this year.

Georgia Maq @goldsoundz_, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Ashe @ashemusic, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Hawxx @hawxxmusic,  Noa Kirel @noakirel, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Killboy @killboy , Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd , Ydegirl @ydegirl, The Linda Lindas @the_linda_lindas, Allison Ponthier @allisonponthier, Isabella Manfredi @isabellamanfredi, Pom Pom Squad  @pompomsquad

Best Local (Colorado) Artist – Local artists can often be touring or even national acts. This category was very competitive with the amount of quarantine albums that came out. Our winner is Companion who mesmerized us in the Spring. They will quickly become a national act.

Companion @companiontheband , Wellington Bullings @wellingtonbullings, Jenny Shawhan @jennyshawhan, The Velveteers @thevelveteers , Grand Alliance @LeGrandAlliance, Bunny Blake @bunnyblakemusic, Ellsworth @ellsworththefolksinger, Stop Motion, Lvdy @lvdy, Lolita  @lolitaworldwide

Best Dance – Dance is also electronic and electro pop. Magdalena Bay & Sofi Tukker are the 800 lb gorillas in this category. Kito is our winner for surprising collaborations.

Magdalena Bay @magdalenabay, Sofi Tukker @sofitukker, Kito @kito

Best Pop – Pop like Indie is often open to interpretation. It is often what dominates at venues. Our winner is Charlotte Cardin whose Phoenix album was one of the best albums this year.

Hana Vu @hanavuuu, Lucy Dacus @lucydacus, Japanese Breakfast @jbrekkie, Baby Queen @queenofthebabies, Charlotte Cardin @charlottecardin, Jess Chalker @jess_chalker_, May-A @mayacumming, Ashe @ashemusic, Girl In Red @girlinred, Angèle @angele_vl, Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd, Nadia Vaeh @nadiavaeh, Olivia Rox @oliviarox, Number One Popstar @numberonepopstar, Bahari @bahari, Noga Erez @nogaerez, Lola Lennox @lolalennex

Best Rock – Rock is often the guitar driven beat that keeps you going. Kill Birds, who have been touring with Foo Fighters are our winner.

Royal and the Serpent @royalandtheserpent,  Amyl and the Sniffers @amylandthesniffers, Mattiel @mattielworldwide , Upsahl @upsahlmusicl, Self Esteem @selfesteemselfesteem, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Nadia Sheikh @nadiasheikhmusic, Red Hook @weareredhook, Pom Pom Squad @pompomsquad

Best Indie –  Indie always means both a sound but also a level of development. These are the artists at the small venues touring to survive. We have a diverse selection this year. Bnny is our winner.

Torres @torreslovesyou, The Beths @lizstokedstokes, Bnny @bnnyband, Madi Diaz @madidiaz, Marissa Nadler @marrisa_nadler, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Siiickbrain @siiickbrain, Sub*t @subtrules, Killboy @killboy, Cumgirl8 @cumgirl8, L’Freaq @lfreaq, Madelline @i.am.madelline, Anna Smyrk @annasmyrk

Best Experimental – There is always a “flinch” moment when you saw experimental. It involves a great deal of risk as personified by our winner Fifi Rong who is working on her dual album set with one album all in English, and one all in Chinese. She is crowdfunding now.

Insect Ark @insectark, Fifi Rong @fifirong, Sasami @sasamiashworth, Irreversible Entanglements @irreversibleentanglements, Haru Nemuri @haru_nemuri

Best Hip Hop – This is the first year that FEMMUSIC has this category. There may be some arguments as to whether all these artists fit it. Coi Leray is the best newcomer in this area. Ray BLK is our winner.

Bia @bia, Tones and I @tonesandi, Doja Cat @dojacat, Sza @sza, Cardi B @iamcardib, Megan Thee Stallion @theestallion, Coi Leray @coileray, Ms Banks @msbanks, Ray BLK @rayblk, Remi Wolf @remiwolf, Tinashe @tinashenow

Best Jazz – We will admit to not hearing as much jazz this year. Laufey is the winner with original interpretations of classics.

Laufey @laufey, Nnenna Freelon @officialnnenna

Best Country – Brandi Carlile is a favorite in this category and will take home more GRAMMYs. Allison Russell wins for being new and original.

Brandi Carlile @brandicarlile, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, Yola @iamyolaofficial, CMAT @cmatbaby, Jackson & Sellers @jacksonsellersmusic, Ingrid Andress @ingridandress

Best Heavy Metal – Infected Rain is a former winner in this category. Jinjer, Halestorm & The Pretty Reckless dominate. The Velveteers are this year’s winner.

Hawxx @hawxxmusic, Edge of Paradise @edgeofparadise, Jinjer @jinjer_official, The Velveteers @thevelveteers, Infected Rain @infectedrain_official, The Pretty Reckless @theprettyreckless, Halestorm @halestormrocks

Best R & B –  This category includes powerhouses like Arlo Parks and Dawn Richard. Alewya is our winner for new and original music this year.

Muni Long @munilong, India Shawn @indiashawn, Dawn Richard @dawnrichard, Alewya @alewya11, Arlo Parks @arloparks, Tkay Maidza @tkaymaidza, Danielia Cotton @danieliacotton, Saleka @saleka

Best Surprise – A “surprise” for us is that unexpected performance when it was not expected. It includes some risky performances such as LVXURI and Big Klit. S.G. Goodman is our hands down winner. We caught her as an opener and she garnered as much reaction as the headliner. She is a blunt, and emotive songwriter.

S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Kiesza @kiesza, LVXURI @mx_lvxuri, Big Klit  @klitoriusmaximus

Best Comeback – This has been a surprisingly competitive category. Whether it’s the return of ABBA after a long time to Adele’s new album. The big surprise this month is Taylor Swift taking the world with the longest song. She is our winner.

Kylie Minogue @kylieminogue, Avril Lavigne @avrillavigne, Deborah Gibson @debbiegibson, Liz Phair @LizPhairOfficial, Taylor Swift @taylorswift , ABBA @ABBA, Adele @adele, Lorde @lorde

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

May 26th, 2020

Posted in Videos Tagged with: ,