May 25th, 2022

Flowing with her trademark swaggering attitude, gritty lyrics and slick production, pop renegade Noga Erez has returned with her razor sharp new single, “NAILS.”

 

“‘NAILS’ is a song about jealousy, and how being jealous of people, in this particular case another woman, makes you idealize that person in a very weird and dark way,” Erez comments. This is something that Erez explores in the track’s accompanying video, directed by Indy Hait.

Along with the new single, Erez has announced her signing to Neon Gold/Atlantic Records, revealed exclusively on Billboard. Of the new partnership, Erez said, “I’m super excited to begin to work with the people of Atlantic/Neon Gold. This partnership is a big step for me. We’ve already started to get the ball rolling creatively and we have some big plans ahead of us.”

Neon Gold Co-Founder Derek Davies shared, “Neon Gold has long been defined by iconoclastic international pop talents — from Charli XCX and MARINA to Tove Lo and Christine And The Queens — and we are thrilled to welcome the genreless and borderless Noga Erez to the fold as one of the most visionary artists we’ve ever had the pleasure of working with.”

Atlantic Records SVP, A&R Jeff Levin & A&R Director Madison Vickery added, “Noga Erez breaks down the barriers of genre with a unique creative vision that plays with elements of pop, alternative, R&B and rap. Erez represents another leap forward for the label and for music. Their live show brings stadium level energy to every room. We’re proud to welcome her to our roster and provide a platform for her creative vision.”

NOGA EREZ NORTH AMERICAN TOUR DATES

JUNE

11 – WonderRoad Fest – Indianapolis, IN

13 – Roadrunner – Boston, MA *

14 – Fillmore – Washington, DC *

15 – Fillmore – Charlotte, NC *

17 – Bonnaroo Festival – Manchester, TN

21 – Zanzabar – Louisville, KY

22 – Lincoln Hall – Chicago, IL

23 – Electric Forest Festival – Rothbury Michigan

25 – Summerfest – Milwaukee, MI

28 – Camp Centerland – Buffalo, NY

29 – Velvet Underground – Toronto, ON

SEPTEMEBER

16 – Madison Square Garden – New York, NY ^

17 – Madison Square Garden – New York, NY ^

* supporting Tove Lo

^ supporting Florence + The Machine

#nogaerez

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,

May 3rd, 2022

Tove recalls on making the song, “when you’re with someone for a long time and it ends all of all sudden, it’s like a part of you has died. This person is now a stranger to you. All of the memories are tainted. For the first part of the breakup, you believe you’re not supposed to feel good about anything you had together. What I believe I do best is ‘heartbreak you can dance to.’ The song is that.”

The video for ‘No One Dies From Love’ was filmed on location in Mexico City and was directed by the Brazilian duo Alaska, whom Tove previously collaborated with on the video for “Are U gonna tell her?”

 Speaking about the video, Tove reveals, “All the songs on the album are very cinematic, dramatic and grand, so for the visual story I want to attach a character to each song. For No One Dies From Love it’s the classic vulnerable, lonely starlet looking for connection. This mini movie is a different kind of love story.”

NORTH AMERICAN TOUR DATES

05/18 – The Observatory – Santa Ana, CA*

05/19 – The Observatory – Santa Ana, CA*

06/09 – Irving Plaza – New York, NY>~

06/11 – Governors Ball Music Festival – New York, NY^^

06/13 – Roadrunner – Boston, MA+

06/14 – The Fillmore – Silver Spring, MD+

06/15 – The Fillmore Charlotte – Charlotte, NC+

06/17 – Bonnaroo Music and Arts Festival – Manchester, TN^^

07/28 – Lollapalooza – Chicago, IL^^

07/24 – Float Fest – Gonzalez Colonia, TX^^

07/30 – Osheaga Music and Arts Festival – Montreal, CA^^

 *Phoebe Ryan supporting +Noga Erez supporting ~BUZZ supporting > Gov Ball After Dark Show ^^Festival Performance

#ToveLo

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , ,

December 1st, 2021

best-of-2021

Best of 2021 – Last year we missed doing our annual “Best Of.” This year we present it after a year of quarantine albums galore. Tours didn’t start until May but new music was flowing from the start of 2021. 2022 is already aiming to be a busy year. Here are our choices for the Best of 2021.

We’ve evolved from Phoebe Bridgers, Megan Thee Stallion and others of last year to a new crop of artists.

Best Label – Fire Talk Records – Home to Bnny, Mamalarky, Packs and more this boutique label is setting up to be the next Saddle Creek Records.  

Secretly Group @secretlygroup, Saddle Creek Records @saddlecreek, Fire Talk Records @firetalkrecs, Don Giovanni Records @DonGiovanniRecs

Nest New Artist –  “New” is always relative. Georgia Maq has been part of Camp Cope, and Isabella Manfredi was part of The Preatures. Our winner is Ashe who album Ashlyn was hard to put down this year.

Georgia Maq @goldsoundz_, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Ashe @ashemusic, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Hawxx @hawxxmusic,  Noa Kirel @noakirel, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Killboy @killboy , Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd , Ydegirl @ydegirl, The Linda Lindas @the_linda_lindas, Allison Ponthier @allisonponthier, Isabella Manfredi @isabellamanfredi, Pom Pom Squad  @pompomsquad

Best Local (Colorado) Artist – Local artists can often be touring or even national acts. This category was very competitive with the amount of quarantine albums that came out. Our winner is Companion who mesmerized us in the Spring. They will quickly become a national act.

Companion @companiontheband , Wellington Bullings @wellingtonbullings, Jenny Shawhan @jennyshawhan, The Velveteers @thevelveteers , Grand Alliance @LeGrandAlliance, Bunny Blake @bunnyblakemusic, Ellsworth @ellsworththefolksinger, Stop Motion, Lvdy @lvdy, Lolita  @lolitaworldwide

Best Dance – Dance is also electronic and electro pop. Magdalena Bay & Sofi Tukker are the 800 lb gorillas in this category. Kito is our winner for surprising collaborations.

Magdalena Bay @magdalenabay, Sofi Tukker @sofitukker, Kito @kito

Best Pop – Pop like Indie is often open to interpretation. It is often what dominates at venues. Our winner is Charlotte Cardin whose Phoenix album was one of the best albums this year.

Hana Vu @hanavuuu, Lucy Dacus @lucydacus, Japanese Breakfast @jbrekkie, Baby Queen @queenofthebabies, Charlotte Cardin @charlottecardin, Jess Chalker @jess_chalker_, May-A @mayacumming, Ashe @ashemusic, Girl In Red @girlinred, Angèle @angele_vl, Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd, Nadia Vaeh @nadiavaeh, Olivia Rox @oliviarox, Number One Popstar @numberonepopstar, Bahari @bahari, Noga Erez @nogaerez, Lola Lennox @lolalennex

Best Rock – Rock is often the guitar driven beat that keeps you going. Kill Birds, who have been touring with Foo Fighters are our winner.

Royal and the Serpent @royalandtheserpent,  Amyl and the Sniffers @amylandthesniffers, Mattiel @mattielworldwide , Upsahl @upsahlmusicl, Self Esteem @selfesteemselfesteem, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Nadia Sheikh @nadiasheikhmusic, Red Hook @weareredhook, Pom Pom Squad @pompomsquad

Best Indie –  Indie always means both a sound but also a level of development. These are the artists at the small venues touring to survive. We have a diverse selection this year. Bnny is our winner.

Torres @torreslovesyou, The Beths @lizstokedstokes, Bnny @bnnyband, Madi Diaz @madidiaz, Marissa Nadler @marrisa_nadler, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Siiickbrain @siiickbrain, Sub*t @subtrules, Killboy @killboy, Cumgirl8 @cumgirl8, L’Freaq @lfreaq, Madelline @i.am.madelline, Anna Smyrk @annasmyrk

Best Experimental – There is always a “flinch” moment when you saw experimental. It involves a great deal of risk as personified by our winner Fifi Rong who is working on her dual album set with one album all in English, and one all in Chinese. She is crowdfunding now.

Insect Ark @insectark, Fifi Rong @fifirong, Sasami @sasamiashworth, Irreversible Entanglements @irreversibleentanglements, Haru Nemuri @haru_nemuri

Best Hip Hop – This is the first year that FEMMUSIC has this category. There may be some arguments as to whether all these artists fit it. Coi Leray is the best newcomer in this area. Ray BLK is our winner.

Bia @bia, Tones and I @tonesandi, Doja Cat @dojacat, Sza @sza, Cardi B @iamcardib, Megan Thee Stallion @theestallion, Coi Leray @coileray, Ms Banks @msbanks, Ray BLK @rayblk, Remi Wolf @remiwolf, Tinashe @tinashenow

Best Jazz – We will admit to not hearing as much jazz this year. Laufey is the winner with original interpretations of classics.

Laufey @laufey, Nnenna Freelon @officialnnenna

Best Country – Brandi Carlile is a favorite in this category and will take home more GRAMMYs. Allison Russell wins for being new and original.

Brandi Carlile @brandicarlile, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, Yola @iamyolaofficial, CMAT @cmatbaby, Jackson & Sellers @jacksonsellersmusic, Ingrid Andress @ingridandress

Best Heavy Metal – Infected Rain is a former winner in this category. Jinjer, Halestorm & The Pretty Reckless dominate. The Velveteers are this year’s winner.

Hawxx @hawxxmusic, Edge of Paradise @edgeofparadise, Jinjer @jinjer_official, The Velveteers @thevelveteers, Infected Rain @infectedrain_official, The Pretty Reckless @theprettyreckless, Halestorm @halestormrocks

Best R & B –  This category includes powerhouses like Arlo Parks and Dawn Richard. Alewya is our winner for new and original music this year.

Muni Long @munilong, India Shawn @indiashawn, Dawn Richard @dawnrichard, Alewya @alewya11, Arlo Parks @arloparks, Tkay Maidza @tkaymaidza, Danielia Cotton @danieliacotton, Saleka @saleka

Best Surprise – A “surprise” for us is that unexpected performance when it was not expected. It includes some risky performances such as LVXURI and Big Klit. S.G. Goodman is our hands down winner. We caught her as an opener and she garnered as much reaction as the headliner. She is a blunt, and emotive songwriter.

S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Kiesza @kiesza, LVXURI @mx_lvxuri, Big Klit  @klitoriusmaximus

Best Comeback – This has been a surprisingly competitive category. Whether it’s the return of ABBA after a long time to Adele’s new album. The big surprise this month is Taylor Swift taking the world with the longest song. She is our winner.

Kylie Minogue @kylieminogue, Avril Lavigne @avrillavigne, Deborah Gibson @debbiegibson, Liz Phair @LizPhairOfficial, Taylor Swift @taylorswift , ABBA @ABBA, Adele @adele, Lorde @lorde

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

June 22nd, 2021

Today, Powerhouse singer/songwriter/producer Noga Erez announces her highly anticipated headlining 2021-2021 KIDS World Tour. Noga will perform tracks off her new album KIDS (City Slang) bringing her impeccable choreography and bombastic sound for the first time in the US.

The singer also released a video for album opener, “Cipi.” Directed by Omri Rozi and shot in Berlin with a fierce crew of dancers, it is another example of Noga’s inimitable talent and creative artistry.

“Cipi is about coping with mental weakness while constantly being in an environment where drugs and pills and medication are offered as a way to cope,” Noga explains. “It can be hard to say no when all you want is something to numb the pain. The Cipi video is a visualization of the mind during that time…and the multiple voices inside of it. It’s a depiction of what you think the drugs might do before you do it, cleaning up the chaos in your head. I have many that are close to me, whose lives have been saved by getting proper medical help. It’s a very personal decision. But for me, I know I did the right thing the times I’ve said no, and am scared by what might have happened if I hadn’t. This song comes from my own personal experience in dealing with this.”

Noga World Tour.jpg

KIDS explores themes of tension and release, anxiety and remedy, and masterly melodic licks in swipes of stomping brass, wrapped around Noga’s versatile vocals that quick-switch from clipped flow to smoky purr; from stadium chorus to street-ready beats. Crafted with her creative and life partner, Ori Rousso, the album comes packed with chart-worthy outspoken pop anthems for the 21st century.

https://www.instagram.com/nogaerez/

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , ,