February 22nd, 2022

Atlanta-based duo Mattiel present a new offering from their forthcoming third album Georgia Gothic, due March 18th via ATO Records.

Blood in the Yolk” arrives with a video directed by David James Swanson and edited by Brown full of medieval-inspired imagery, muted colors and farm animals. Visuals for “Blood in the Yolk” were inspired by the 1969 film Color of Pomegranates directed by Sergei Parajanov, described by the band as “one of the most beautiful films ever made.”

Speaking about the new single, Mattiel says – “When Jonah (Swilley) first wrote the structure to ‘Blood in the Yolk,’ it took me a while to compose my wrting and decide how I wanted to approach it with lyrics and melody. I remember being a little frustrated with my lack of ideas in the beginning, but he gave me a pep-talk to keep me going, and we ended up writing a song that is so near and dear to my heart now. ‘Blood in the Yolk’ is one of my favorite songs Jonah and I have ever written together and I feel so lucky that this is our ‘job.'”

#MattielWorldwide #GeorgiaGothic

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,

January 25th, 2022

Atlanta-based duo Mattiel unveil their new single “Lighthouse” today, the second offering from their forthcoming third album Georgia Gothic, due March 18th via ATO Records.

Speaking about the meaning behind “Lighthouse”, Mattiel & Jonah share, “We hope ‘Lighthouse’ is a positive, uplifting song for anyone who hears it. If you’re working toward something and it feels like an uphill battle, that can be a sign that you’re headed in the right direction. And there’s always someone or something to help guide you through it.”

Mattiel will embark on a North American tour in 2022 beginning in February in Washington, DC, with stops in Brooklyn, Chicago, and SXSW before wrapping up April 23rd in Louisville. Mattiel will also tour Europe following their North American run in 2022.

Upcoming Live Dates

2/25 – Asheville, NC @ Fleetwoods

2/26 – Raleigh, NC @ The Pinhook

2/28- Washington, DC @ Union Stage

3/1- Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s

3/3 – Brooklyn, NY @ Union Pool

3/4 – Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right

3/7 – Detroit, MI @ El Club

3/9 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern

3/10 – Milwaukee, WI @ Cactus Club

3/11 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle

3/13 – Nashville, TN @ Exit In

3/14 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa

3/15 – Austin, TX @ SXSW

3/16 – Austin, TX @ SXSW

3/17 – Austin, TX @ SXSW

3/18 – Austin, TX @ SXSW

3/19 – Austin, TX @ SXSW

3/31 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West

4/4 – Fort Worth, TX @ Tulips

4/6 – Tucson, AZ @ Groundworks

4/7 – San Diego, CA @ The Casbah

4/8 – Los Angeles, CA @ Lodge Room

4/9 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel

4/14 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern

4/15 – Vancouver, BC @ Fortune

4/16 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir

4/17 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux

4/18 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge

4/20 – Denver, CO @ Globe Hall

4/22 – Kansas City, MO @ Record Bar

4/23 – Louisville, KY @ Zanzabar

5/5 – Birmingham, UK @ Hare & Hounds

5/7 – London, UK @ Lafayette

5/8 – Bristol, UK @ The Fleece

5/9 – Leeds, UK @ The Brudenell Social Club

5/10 – Glasgow, SC @ Oran Mor

5/12 – Dublin, IR @ Whelan’s

5/13 – Manchester, UK @ Gorilla

5/16 – Lille, FR @ Aeroneff

5/18 – Paris, FR @ Maroquinerie

5/19 – Antwerp, BE @ TRIX

5/21 – Berlin, DE @ Lido

5/22 – Copenhagen, DK @ Loppen

5/23 – Hamburg, DE @ Nochtspeicher

5/24 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Noord

5/25 – Nijmegen, NL @ Doornroosje

5/26 – Hellendoorn, NL @ Dauwpop Festival

#mattielworldwide

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , ,

December 1st, 2021

best-of-2021

Best of 2021 – Last year we missed doing our annual “Best Of.” This year we present it after a year of quarantine albums galore. Tours didn’t start until May but new music was flowing from the start of 2021. 2022 is already aiming to be a busy year. Here are our choices for the Best of 2021.

We’ve evolved from Phoebe Bridgers, Megan Thee Stallion and others of last year to a new crop of artists.

Best Label – Fire Talk Records – Home to Bnny, Mamalarky, Packs and more this boutique label is setting up to be the next Saddle Creek Records.  

Secretly Group @secretlygroup, Saddle Creek Records @saddlecreek, Fire Talk Records @firetalkrecs, Don Giovanni Records @DonGiovanniRecs

Nest New Artist –  “New” is always relative. Georgia Maq has been part of Camp Cope, and Isabella Manfredi was part of The Preatures. Our winner is Ashe who album Ashlyn was hard to put down this year.

Georgia Maq @goldsoundz_, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Ashe @ashemusic, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Hawxx @hawxxmusic,  Noa Kirel @noakirel, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Killboy @killboy , Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd , Ydegirl @ydegirl, The Linda Lindas @the_linda_lindas, Allison Ponthier @allisonponthier, Isabella Manfredi @isabellamanfredi, Pom Pom Squad  @pompomsquad

Best Local (Colorado) Artist – Local artists can often be touring or even national acts. This category was very competitive with the amount of quarantine albums that came out. Our winner is Companion who mesmerized us in the Spring. They will quickly become a national act.

Companion @companiontheband , Wellington Bullings @wellingtonbullings, Jenny Shawhan @jennyshawhan, The Velveteers @thevelveteers , Grand Alliance @LeGrandAlliance, Bunny Blake @bunnyblakemusic, Ellsworth @ellsworththefolksinger, Stop Motion, Lvdy @lvdy, Lolita  @lolitaworldwide

Best Dance – Dance is also electronic and electro pop. Magdalena Bay & Sofi Tukker are the 800 lb gorillas in this category. Kito is our winner for surprising collaborations.

Magdalena Bay @magdalenabay, Sofi Tukker @sofitukker, Kito @kito

Best Pop – Pop like Indie is often open to interpretation. It is often what dominates at venues. Our winner is Charlotte Cardin whose Phoenix album was one of the best albums this year.

Hana Vu @hanavuuu, Lucy Dacus @lucydacus, Japanese Breakfast @jbrekkie, Baby Queen @queenofthebabies, Charlotte Cardin @charlottecardin, Jess Chalker @jess_chalker_, May-A @mayacumming, Ashe @ashemusic, Girl In Red @girlinred, Angèle @angele_vl, Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd, Nadia Vaeh @nadiavaeh, Olivia Rox @oliviarox, Number One Popstar @numberonepopstar, Bahari @bahari, Noga Erez @nogaerez, Lola Lennox @lolalennex

Best Rock – Rock is often the guitar driven beat that keeps you going. Kill Birds, who have been touring with Foo Fighters are our winner.

Royal and the Serpent @royalandtheserpent,  Amyl and the Sniffers @amylandthesniffers, Mattiel @mattielworldwide , Upsahl @upsahlmusicl, Self Esteem @selfesteemselfesteem, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Nadia Sheikh @nadiasheikhmusic, Red Hook @weareredhook, Pom Pom Squad @pompomsquad

Best Indie –  Indie always means both a sound but also a level of development. These are the artists at the small venues touring to survive. We have a diverse selection this year. Bnny is our winner.

Torres @torreslovesyou, The Beths @lizstokedstokes, Bnny @bnnyband, Madi Diaz @madidiaz, Marissa Nadler @marrisa_nadler, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Siiickbrain @siiickbrain, Sub*t @subtrules, Killboy @killboy, Cumgirl8 @cumgirl8, L’Freaq @lfreaq, Madelline @i.am.madelline, Anna Smyrk @annasmyrk

Best Experimental – There is always a “flinch” moment when you saw experimental. It involves a great deal of risk as personified by our winner Fifi Rong who is working on her dual album set with one album all in English, and one all in Chinese. She is crowdfunding now.

Insect Ark @insectark, Fifi Rong @fifirong, Sasami @sasamiashworth, Irreversible Entanglements @irreversibleentanglements, Haru Nemuri @haru_nemuri

Best Hip Hop – This is the first year that FEMMUSIC has this category. There may be some arguments as to whether all these artists fit it. Coi Leray is the best newcomer in this area. Ray BLK is our winner.

Bia @bia, Tones and I @tonesandi, Doja Cat @dojacat, Sza @sza, Cardi B @iamcardib, Megan Thee Stallion @theestallion, Coi Leray @coileray, Ms Banks @msbanks, Ray BLK @rayblk, Remi Wolf @remiwolf, Tinashe @tinashenow

Best Jazz – We will admit to not hearing as much jazz this year. Laufey is the winner with original interpretations of classics.

Laufey @laufey, Nnenna Freelon @officialnnenna

Best Country – Brandi Carlile is a favorite in this category and will take home more GRAMMYs. Allison Russell wins for being new and original.

Brandi Carlile @brandicarlile, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, Yola @iamyolaofficial, CMAT @cmatbaby, Jackson & Sellers @jacksonsellersmusic, Ingrid Andress @ingridandress

Best Heavy Metal – Infected Rain is a former winner in this category. Jinjer, Halestorm & The Pretty Reckless dominate. The Velveteers are this year’s winner.

Hawxx @hawxxmusic, Edge of Paradise @edgeofparadise, Jinjer @jinjer_official, The Velveteers @thevelveteers, Infected Rain @infectedrain_official, The Pretty Reckless @theprettyreckless, Halestorm @halestormrocks

Best R & B –  This category includes powerhouses like Arlo Parks and Dawn Richard. Alewya is our winner for new and original music this year.

Muni Long @munilong, India Shawn @indiashawn, Dawn Richard @dawnrichard, Alewya @alewya11, Arlo Parks @arloparks, Tkay Maidza @tkaymaidza, Danielia Cotton @danieliacotton, Saleka @saleka

Best Surprise – A “surprise” for us is that unexpected performance when it was not expected. It includes some risky performances such as LVXURI and Big Klit. S.G. Goodman is our hands down winner. We caught her as an opener and she garnered as much reaction as the headliner. She is a blunt, and emotive songwriter.

S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Kiesza @kiesza, LVXURI @mx_lvxuri, Big Klit  @klitoriusmaximus

Best Comeback – This has been a surprisingly competitive category. Whether it’s the return of ABBA after a long time to Adele’s new album. The big surprise this month is Taylor Swift taking the world with the longest song. She is our winner.

Kylie Minogue @kylieminogue, Avril Lavigne @avrillavigne, Deborah Gibson @debbiegibson, Liz Phair @LizPhairOfficial, Taylor Swift @taylorswift , ABBA @ABBA, Adele @adele, Lorde @lorde

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

November 16th, 2021

@mattielworldwide

@atinamattiel

Posted in Videos Tagged with: ,

August 19th, 2021

Today, Middle Kids have shared a new video for “Stacking Chairs,” the surging album highlight which encapsulates the extraordinary intimacy and creativity that gave rise to their brilliant record Today We’re The Greatest, released earlier this year.

“Stacking Chairs” reveals a band at full-flight, imbued with mellotron and great peels of electric guitar – it’s one of the most immediate songs on an album full of astonishing hooks and textures. Directed by collaborator W.A.M. Bleakly, the video mixes offbeat humor with a stylized but literal interpretation of the song’s lyrics.

Starting in mid-September, Middle Kids will depart Australia for their first performances in North America in two years. The month-long nationwide run kicks off in Camden, CT, wraps up in Nashville, TN and includes four recently added dates in Toronto, Vancouver, San Diego and Dallas. Middle Kids (who have been locked down in Sydney for the last 6 weeks) will be the first Australia-based band to tour the USA since the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic.

 The band have announced support for the tour, sharing the stage with Joe P (Hamden, Boston, NYC, Washington, Pittsburgh), Mattiel (Toronto, Columbus, Detroit, Chicago, Minneapolis), Deep Sea Diver (San Fran, San Diego, LA and Pioneertown) and Ginger Root (Portland, Vancouver, Seattle, Austin, Dallas, Atlanta, Nashville).

For more information and tickets visit https://www.middlekidsmusic.com/

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , , ,

April 29th, 2019

Video of the Month – May 2019

Posted in Video of the Month Tagged with: ,