September 20th, 2022

Magdalena Bay

Los Angeles-based electro indie-pop duo Magdalena Bay—a.k.a. Mica Tenenbaum and Matthew Lewin—recently announced a deluxe reissue of their breakout debut album Mercurial World, out September 23 on Luminelle Recordings. Today they share another new track entitled “Unconditional,” alongside an amazing, self-directed video.

“We think of ‘Unconditional’ as ‘Secrets’ weird little cousin. Just like ‘All You Do,’ we loved it when we made it but it didn’t quite fit the flow of Mercurial World,” explain Magdalena Bay. As for the accompanying visual, they say: “This video is our dream birthday party, and you’re all invited.”

Magdalena Bay recently announced a Fall headline tour throughout the U.S., which kicks off later this month.

Tour dates

9/28/2022: Vancouver, BC – Fortune Sound Club

9/30/2022: Portland, OR – Wonder Ballroom

10/1/2022: Eugene, OR – W.O.W Hall

10/2/2022: Arcata, CA – Arcata Theatre Lounge

10/4/2022: Santa Cruz, CA – The Atrium (at the Catalyst)

10/6/2022: Phoenix, AZ – Rebel Lounge

10/7/2022: Santa Fe, MN – Meow Wolf

10/9/2022: Austin, TX – Austin City Limits Music Festival

10/11/2022: Houston, TX – White Oak Downstairs

10/12/2022: Dallas, TX – Deep Ellum Art Co.

10/13/2022: Oklahoma City, OK – Beer City Music Hall

10/16/2022: Austin, TX – Austin City Limits Music Festival

10/28/2022: San Francisco, CA – The Regency Ballroom

10/29/2022: Oakland, CA – Second Sky

11/1/2022: Salt Lake City, UT – Soundwell

11/2/2022: Denver, CO – Bluebird Theater

11/4/2022: Minneapolis, MN – Fine Line

11/5/2022: Des Moines, IA – Wooly’s

11/6/2022: Madison, WI- Majestic Theatre

11/8/2022: Detroit, MI – El Club

11/9/2022: Toronto, ON – Velvet Underground

11/10/2022: Montreal, QC – SAT

11/12/2022: Boston, MA – Royale

11/15/2022: New York, NY – Webster Hall

11/18/2022: Washington, DC – 930 Club

11/19/2022: Nashville, TN – Basement East

11/20/2022: Atlanta, GA – Terminal West

11/22/2022: Orlando, FL – The Beacham Theatre

11/26/2022: Miami, FL – Art With Me Festival

12/31/22: Melbourne, VIC – Falls Festival

1/2/23: Byron Bay, NSW – Falls Festival

1/5/23: Sydney, NSW – Oxford Arts Factory

1/7/23: Fremantle, WA – Falls Festival

#magdalenabay

 

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , ,

August 24th, 2022

Magdalena Bay

Los Angeles-based electro indie-pop duo Magdalena Bay—a.k.a. Mica Tenenbaum and Matthew Lewin—recently announced a deluxe reissue of their breakout debut album Mercurial World, out September 23 on Luminelle Recordings.

The band share their first new single of 2022. The guitar-driven “All You Do” swells into a majestic pop gem that perfectly complements the reimagined sonic landscape of Mercurial World Deluxe.

Magdalena Bay recently announced a Fall headline tour throughout the U.S., and continue their festival run this weekend at This Ain’t No Picnic in Los Angeles. The band performed at Primavera and Pitchfork Festivals this Summer, and will play Austin City Limits and Second Sky later this year. See below to find a show near you and get tickets here.

Tour dates

8/27-28/2022: Pasadena, CA @ This Ain’t No Picnic @ Brookside at the Rose Bowl

9/28/2022: Vancouver, BC – Fortune Sound Club

9/30/2022: Portland, OR – Wonder Ballroom

10/1/2022: Eugene, OR – W.O.W Hall

10/2/2022: Arcata, CA – Arcata Theatre Lounge

10/4/2022: Santa Cruz, CA – The Atrium (at the Catalyst)

10/6/2022: Phoenix, AZ – Rebel Lounge

10/7/2022: Santa Fe, MN – Meow Wolf

10/9/2022: Austin, TX – Austin City Limits Music Festival

10/11/2022: Houston, TX – White Oak Downstairs

10/12/2022: Dallas, TX – Deep Ellum Art Co.

10/13/2022: Oklahoma City, OK – Beer City Music Hall

10/16/2022: Austin, TX – Austin City Limits Music Festival

10/28/2022: San Francisco, CA – The Regency Ballroom

10/29/2022: Oakland, CA – Second Sky

11/1/2022: Salt Lake City, UT – Soundwell

11/2/2022: Denver, CO – Bluebird Theater

11/4/2022: Minneapolis, MN – Fine Line

11/5/2022: Des Moines, IA – Wooly’s

11/6/2022: Madison, WI- Majestic Theatre

11/8/2022: Detroit, MI – El Club

11/9/2022: Toronto, ON – Velvet Underground

11/10/2022: Montreal, QC – SAT

11/12/2022: Boston, MA – Royale

11/15/2022: New York, NY – Webster Hall

11/18/2022: Washington, DC – 930 Club

11/19/2022: Nashville, TN – Basement East

11/20/2022: Atlanta, GA – Terminal West

11/22/2022: Orlando, FL – The Beacham Theatre

11/26/2022: Miami, FL – Art With Me Festival

12/31/2022: Murroon VIC, Australia – Falls Birregurra

#magdalenabay

 

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , ,

March 3rd, 2022

Magdalena Bay

Los Angeles-based electro indie-pop duo Magdalena Bay—a.k.a. Mica Tenenbaum and Matthew Lewin—released their long-awaited debut album, Mercurial World, at the end of 2021 to mass critical acclaim. Now, as the band is currently on a largely sold-out tour and about to embark on dates with the likes of Charli XCX, Flume and Porter Robinson, Magdalena Bay shares a new music video. Album highlight “Dreamcatching” receives a stunning and multi-dimensional visual directed by Felix Geen, and explored through cutting-edge AI technology and GAN artwork.

Tour dates

3/23-3/26 – Boise, ID @ Treefort Music Festival

3/27 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza (SOLD OUT)

3/30 – Portland, OR @ Holocene (SOLD OUT)

4/1 – San Francisco, CA @ Popscene (SOLD OUT)

4/2 – Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks %

4/22 – New York, NY @ Hammerstein Ballroom*

4/23 – New York, NY @ Hammerstein Ballroom*

4/29 – Chicago, IL @ Byline Lake Aragan Ballroom*

6/03 – Cleveland, OH @ Jacobs Pavilion^

6/04 – Columbus, OH @ Express Live^

6/05 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Stage AE^

6/08 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound (SOLD OUT)

7/22 – Seattle, WA @ Capitol Hill Block Party

8/27 – 8/28 – Pasadena, CA @ This Ain’t No Picnic @ Brookside at the Rose Bowl

*= supporting Charli XCX

^= supporting Flume

%= supporting Porter Robinson

#magdalenabay

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,

December 6th, 2021

Magdalena Bay

Los Angeles-based electro indie-pop duo Magdalena Bay—a.k.a. Mica Tenenbaum and Matthew Lewin—released their long-awaited debut album, Mercurial World, this Fall to mass critical acclaim. Now, as the band just wrapped up a largely sold-out support tour with George Clanton, Magdalena Bay announce their first-ever headline tour

Tour dates:

12/18 – Los Angeles, CA @ Jingle Bell Roxy @ The Roxy Theatre

12/19 – Pomona, CA @ Viva! Pomona @ The Glasshouse

12/29 – Miami, FL @ Gramps

2/17 – Boston, MA @ The Sinclair

2/18 – Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere

2/19 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat

2/21 – Philadelphia, PA @ The Foundry

2/23 – Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop

2/24 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall

3/23-3/26 – Boise, ID @ Treefort Music Festival

3/27 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza

3/30 – Portland, OR @ Holocene

4/1 – San Francisco, CA @ Popscene @ Rickshaw Stop

8/27-28 – Pasadena, CA @ This Ain’t No Picnic

To celebrate the band released their live performance video of “You Lose!”

@magdalenabay

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , ,

December 1st, 2021

best-of-2021

Best of 2021 – Last year we missed doing our annual “Best Of.” This year we present it after a year of quarantine albums galore. Tours didn’t start until May but new music was flowing from the start of 2021. 2022 is already aiming to be a busy year. Here are our choices for the Best of 2021.

We’ve evolved from Phoebe Bridgers, Megan Thee Stallion and others of last year to a new crop of artists.

Best Label – Fire Talk Records – Home to Bnny, Mamalarky, Packs and more this boutique label is setting up to be the next Saddle Creek Records.  

Secretly Group @secretlygroup, Saddle Creek Records @saddlecreek, Fire Talk Records @firetalkrecs, Don Giovanni Records @DonGiovanniRecs

Nest New Artist –  “New” is always relative. Georgia Maq has been part of Camp Cope, and Isabella Manfredi was part of The Preatures. Our winner is Ashe who album Ashlyn was hard to put down this year.

Georgia Maq @goldsoundz_, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Ashe @ashemusic, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Hawxx @hawxxmusic,  Noa Kirel @noakirel, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Killboy @killboy , Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd , Ydegirl @ydegirl, The Linda Lindas @the_linda_lindas, Allison Ponthier @allisonponthier, Isabella Manfredi @isabellamanfredi, Pom Pom Squad  @pompomsquad

Best Local (Colorado) Artist – Local artists can often be touring or even national acts. This category was very competitive with the amount of quarantine albums that came out. Our winner is Companion who mesmerized us in the Spring. They will quickly become a national act.

Companion @companiontheband , Wellington Bullings @wellingtonbullings, Jenny Shawhan @jennyshawhan, The Velveteers @thevelveteers , Grand Alliance @LeGrandAlliance, Bunny Blake @bunnyblakemusic, Ellsworth @ellsworththefolksinger, Stop Motion, Lvdy @lvdy, Lolita  @lolitaworldwide

Best Dance – Dance is also electronic and electro pop. Magdalena Bay & Sofi Tukker are the 800 lb gorillas in this category. Kito is our winner for surprising collaborations.

Magdalena Bay @magdalenabay, Sofi Tukker @sofitukker, Kito @kito

Best Pop – Pop like Indie is often open to interpretation. It is often what dominates at venues. Our winner is Charlotte Cardin whose Phoenix album was one of the best albums this year.

Hana Vu @hanavuuu, Lucy Dacus @lucydacus, Japanese Breakfast @jbrekkie, Baby Queen @queenofthebabies, Charlotte Cardin @charlottecardin, Jess Chalker @jess_chalker_, May-A @mayacumming, Ashe @ashemusic, Girl In Red @girlinred, Angèle @angele_vl, Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd, Nadia Vaeh @nadiavaeh, Olivia Rox @oliviarox, Number One Popstar @numberonepopstar, Bahari @bahari, Noga Erez @nogaerez, Lola Lennox @lolalennex

Best Rock – Rock is often the guitar driven beat that keeps you going. Kill Birds, who have been touring with Foo Fighters are our winner.

Royal and the Serpent @royalandtheserpent,  Amyl and the Sniffers @amylandthesniffers, Mattiel @mattielworldwide , Upsahl @upsahlmusicl, Self Esteem @selfesteemselfesteem, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Nadia Sheikh @nadiasheikhmusic, Red Hook @weareredhook, Pom Pom Squad @pompomsquad

Best Indie –  Indie always means both a sound but also a level of development. These are the artists at the small venues touring to survive. We have a diverse selection this year. Bnny is our winner.

Torres @torreslovesyou, The Beths @lizstokedstokes, Bnny @bnnyband, Madi Diaz @madidiaz, Marissa Nadler @marrisa_nadler, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Siiickbrain @siiickbrain, Sub*t @subtrules, Killboy @killboy, Cumgirl8 @cumgirl8, L’Freaq @lfreaq, Madelline @i.am.madelline, Anna Smyrk @annasmyrk

Best Experimental – There is always a “flinch” moment when you saw experimental. It involves a great deal of risk as personified by our winner Fifi Rong who is working on her dual album set with one album all in English, and one all in Chinese. She is crowdfunding now.

Insect Ark @insectark, Fifi Rong @fifirong, Sasami @sasamiashworth, Irreversible Entanglements @irreversibleentanglements, Haru Nemuri @haru_nemuri

Best Hip Hop – This is the first year that FEMMUSIC has this category. There may be some arguments as to whether all these artists fit it. Coi Leray is the best newcomer in this area. Ray BLK is our winner.

Bia @bia, Tones and I @tonesandi, Doja Cat @dojacat, Sza @sza, Cardi B @iamcardib, Megan Thee Stallion @theestallion, Coi Leray @coileray, Ms Banks @msbanks, Ray BLK @rayblk, Remi Wolf @remiwolf, Tinashe @tinashenow

Best Jazz – We will admit to not hearing as much jazz this year. Laufey is the winner with original interpretations of classics.

Laufey @laufey, Nnenna Freelon @officialnnenna

Best Country – Brandi Carlile is a favorite in this category and will take home more GRAMMYs. Allison Russell wins for being new and original.

Brandi Carlile @brandicarlile, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, Yola @iamyolaofficial, CMAT @cmatbaby, Jackson & Sellers @jacksonsellersmusic, Ingrid Andress @ingridandress

Best Heavy Metal – Infected Rain is a former winner in this category. Jinjer, Halestorm & The Pretty Reckless dominate. The Velveteers are this year’s winner.

Hawxx @hawxxmusic, Edge of Paradise @edgeofparadise, Jinjer @jinjer_official, The Velveteers @thevelveteers, Infected Rain @infectedrain_official, The Pretty Reckless @theprettyreckless, Halestorm @halestormrocks

Best R & B –  This category includes powerhouses like Arlo Parks and Dawn Richard. Alewya is our winner for new and original music this year.

Muni Long @munilong, India Shawn @indiashawn, Dawn Richard @dawnrichard, Alewya @alewya11, Arlo Parks @arloparks, Tkay Maidza @tkaymaidza, Danielia Cotton @danieliacotton, Saleka @saleka

Best Surprise – A “surprise” for us is that unexpected performance when it was not expected. It includes some risky performances such as LVXURI and Big Klit. S.G. Goodman is our hands down winner. We caught her as an opener and she garnered as much reaction as the headliner. She is a blunt, and emotive songwriter.

S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Kiesza @kiesza, LVXURI @mx_lvxuri, Big Klit  @klitoriusmaximus

Best Comeback – This has been a surprisingly competitive category. Whether it’s the return of ABBA after a long time to Adele’s new album. The big surprise this month is Taylor Swift taking the world with the longest song. She is our winner.

Kylie Minogue @kylieminogue, Avril Lavigne @avrillavigne, Deborah Gibson @debbiegibson, Liz Phair @LizPhairOfficial, Taylor Swift @taylorswift , ABBA @ABBA, Adele @adele, Lorde @lorde

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

October 5th, 2021

Los Angeles-based electro indie-pop duo Magdalena Bay—a.k.a. Mica Tenenbaum and Matthew Lewin—will release their long-awaited debut, Mercurial World, later this week.

Ahead of this week’s album release, Magdalena Bay share one last preview of the record in the form of “Hysterical Us.” “’Hysterical Us’ is about our anxieties, paranoias and existential musings,” the band explains. Of the video, which was made in New Orleans, the band continues, “We loved being able to interpret all these heavy questions through the colorful world of MILAGROS Collective.”

@magdalenabay

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , ,

September 15th, 2021

Los Angeles-based electro indie-pop duo Magdalena Bay—a.k.a. Mica Tenenbaum and Matthew Lewin—will release their long-awaited debut album next month, and today they share another taste of the forthcoming record. The band says the dramatic “You Lose!” is about trying to be a musician and feeling like time for success is always running out. It’s definitely melodramatic, describing ourselves as aging and nearing death, but sometimes it really feels that way.”

Entirely written, produced, performed, mixed and mastered by Magdalena Bay, Mercurial World will be released on October 8 via Luminelle.

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , ,

June 30th, 2021

Today Los Angeles-based electro indie-pop duo Magdalena Bay—a.k.a. Mica Tenenbaum and Matthew Lewin—announce their long-awaited debut album. Entirely written, produced, performed, mixed and mastered by Magdalena Bay, Mercurial World will be released on October 8 via Luminelle. This album comes as a follow-up to their latest EP, A Little Rhythm and a Wicked Feeling.

“We spend all of our time together, and in some ways Mercurial World is about that particular sense of madness in containment,” Lewin says. “We live together and make art together; this immerses you in our creative, insular universe.” The result is Mercurial World, a ridiculously good and otherworldly project that is as much musical as it is an experiment in pop persona and visual aesthetics.

To celebrate the announcement of Mercurial World, Magdalena Bay share the album’s first single “Chaeri” alongside its music video. “Chaeri muses on mental health, friendship, loneliness and control. It’s about the walls we put up and the walls we should tear down for the sake of authentic connection, and Mica’s own personal difficulties with that,” the band explains of the track that finds Mica pleading for forgiveness while a soundscape so vast and thunderous threatens to consume her. “We tried taking these themes and elevating them to build a big, dark world with unsettling undertones.”

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , ,

August 15th, 2020

Posted in Videos Tagged with: ,

April 11th, 2020

Posted in Videos Tagged with: ,

December 12th, 2019

Magdalena Bay is Mica Tenenbaum & Matthew Lewin. This electronic pop duo has been releasing hits all year including “Killshot”, “Good Intentions”, “Venice” and more. Today they release “Oh Hell” about misguided young love. The song has a dream pop airy feel to it and the video shows a smiling Tennebaum describing the overwhelming feelings. For info visit https://www.magdalenabaymusic.com/

Magdalena Bay - Oh Hell

Posted in Special Features Tagged with: ,