November 10th, 2022

Madi Diaz with Caroline Spence at Globe Hall Denver, CO
November 9, 2022
Photos by David A. Barber

#globehalldenver  #MadiDiazMusic  #carolinespencemusic #RockOnColo

Posted in Live Photos Tagged with: , ,

November 7th, 2022

Be Careful

Leading into tomorrow’s midterm elections, Madi Diaz, Joy Oladokun and S.G. Goodman present a cover of Patty Griffin’s “Be Careful.”

Diaz –contributes her own verse to Griffin’s 2002 track, honoring the original’s sentiment while adding resonance for listeners two decades later: “For all the parents who are losing sleep // For all the babies that will come to be // For all the reasons that are ours to know // It’s my choice and I am not alone // For every man who’s standing next to me // and queer and trans and non-binary // For everybody with their own body // I will meet you all out on the streets // So be careful how you bend me // Be careful where you send me // Careful how you end me // Be careful with me.”

The proceeds from “Be Careful (A Patty Griffin Cover)” will benefit Abortion Within Reach Coalition, whose aim is to make abortion accessible, compassionate and affirming for all identities, and safe for everyone who needs it, free of politically motivated barriers and without cost as a barrier to care. The trio’s cover, produced by Diaz and Goodman and engineered by Alex Hope, is presented alongside a striking lyric video, and features backing vocals from Courtney Marie Andrews and Savana Santos.

I’m excited and honored to be a part of this release because we’re at a moment in American politics where we have to remember and act on the truth that advocating for my neighbors’ rights is my advocating for my own rights.” – Joy Oladokun

“To be honest, having to emphasize why the message of ‘Be Careful’ is important at this very moment is tragic within itself. Unfortunately, it’s relevant. The need to plead for a vote ensuring women’s autonomy is relevant.” – S.G. Goodman

“When Roe V. Wade was overturned this past summer, Patty Griffin’s song ‘Be Careful’ slipped into my subconscious. It became a mantra of strength that was playing consistently in the back of my heart and mind day in and day out, gently encouraging me to keep putting one foot in front of the other. It became a sort of battle cry directed toward anyone that wants to take away my rights to my own body and my reproductive freedom. You’ve awakened the beast so you better ‘Be Careful.’ This Supreme Court decision affects all of us – ‘All the girls with the washing rags,’ ‘all the girls with the shopping bags,’ any person with a uterus and everybody with their own body. This is about control over another person’s human rights and freedoms – the right of making our own choices about our health and wellbeing. When it was so hard to talk about what had just happened in our country, writing about it felt a little easier, so my best friend, Morgan Elizabeth Peirce, and I wrote our own verse, using the brilliant Patty Griffin’s song as a springboard into our present. It felt good to say and sing something that means so much to us and I’m beyond thankful for this group of wonderful humans for coming together to put all of our voices and hearts on record, printing this moment in time, putting it out into the world and harnessing the power that is born when we unite and work together. I hope that anyone needing to hear this song, hears it and feels a little bit less alone. Vote with that in mind.” – Madi Diaz

#madidiaz #s.g.goodman #joyolodokun

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,

September 22nd, 2022

Madi Diaz

Madi Diaz “makes even the most immovable feelings open up with just a little time and space” (Pitchfork). Today, she returns with the new single/lyric video, “Love Looks Different.”

“This song is combing out the last remnants of love that wasn’t working. I’m doing a final recount, laying out every piece, cutting off all the bitter and bad memories, and setting it off so I no longer carry every small detail with me,” Diaz says. “This time around, love feels less like a battle cry and more of a cry of total relief because it’s finally different. I’m still learning about everything that love is, but I definitely know what love is not.”

Madi Diaz Tour Dates:

Sat. Oct. 22 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement East *~

Tue. Oct. 25 – Washington, DC @ DC9 Nightclub *

Wed. Oct. 26 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s *

Thu. Oct. 27 – Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right *

Fri. Oct. 28 – Boston, MA @ Café 939 at Berklee * (Sold Out)

Sun. October 30 – Montreal, Quebec @ Petit Campus *

Tue. Nov. 1 – Toronto, ON @ The Great Hall * (Sold Out)

Thu. Nov. 3 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern *

Fri. Nov. 4 – Chicago, IL @ Sleeping Village *

Sun. Nov. 6 – Minneapolis, MN @ Turf Club *

Mon. Nov. 7 – Davenport, Iowa @ Racoon Motel *

Wed. Nov. 9 – Denver, CO @ Globe Hall

Fri. Nov. 11 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court ^

Sat. Nov. 12 – Boise, ID @ The Olympic ^

Mon. Nov. 14 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern ^

Tue. Nov. 15 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios ^

Thu. Nov. 17 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel ^

Fri. Nov. 18 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Moroccan Lounge ^ (Sold Out)

Support from *John-Robert  / ~Baerd / ^ Caroline Spence

#madidiaz

 

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , ,

December 1st, 2021

best-of-2021

Best of 2021 – Last year we missed doing our annual “Best Of.” This year we present it after a year of quarantine albums galore. Tours didn’t start until May but new music was flowing from the start of 2021. 2022 is already aiming to be a busy year. Here are our choices for the Best of 2021.

We’ve evolved from Phoebe Bridgers, Megan Thee Stallion and others of last year to a new crop of artists.

Best Label – Fire Talk Records – Home to Bnny, Mamalarky, Packs and more this boutique label is setting up to be the next Saddle Creek Records.  

Secretly Group @secretlygroup, Saddle Creek Records @saddlecreek, Fire Talk Records @firetalkrecs, Don Giovanni Records @DonGiovanniRecs

Nest New Artist –  “New” is always relative. Georgia Maq has been part of Camp Cope, and Isabella Manfredi was part of The Preatures. Our winner is Ashe who album Ashlyn was hard to put down this year.

Georgia Maq @goldsoundz_, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Ashe @ashemusic, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Hawxx @hawxxmusic,  Noa Kirel @noakirel, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Killboy @killboy , Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd , Ydegirl @ydegirl, The Linda Lindas @the_linda_lindas, Allison Ponthier @allisonponthier, Isabella Manfredi @isabellamanfredi, Pom Pom Squad  @pompomsquad

Best Local (Colorado) Artist – Local artists can often be touring or even national acts. This category was very competitive with the amount of quarantine albums that came out. Our winner is Companion who mesmerized us in the Spring. They will quickly become a national act.

Companion @companiontheband , Wellington Bullings @wellingtonbullings, Jenny Shawhan @jennyshawhan, The Velveteers @thevelveteers , Grand Alliance @LeGrandAlliance, Bunny Blake @bunnyblakemusic, Ellsworth @ellsworththefolksinger, Stop Motion, Lvdy @lvdy, Lolita  @lolitaworldwide

Best Dance – Dance is also electronic and electro pop. Magdalena Bay & Sofi Tukker are the 800 lb gorillas in this category. Kito is our winner for surprising collaborations.

Magdalena Bay @magdalenabay, Sofi Tukker @sofitukker, Kito @kito

Best Pop – Pop like Indie is often open to interpretation. It is often what dominates at venues. Our winner is Charlotte Cardin whose Phoenix album was one of the best albums this year.

Hana Vu @hanavuuu, Lucy Dacus @lucydacus, Japanese Breakfast @jbrekkie, Baby Queen @queenofthebabies, Charlotte Cardin @charlottecardin, Jess Chalker @jess_chalker_, May-A @mayacumming, Ashe @ashemusic, Girl In Red @girlinred, Angèle @angele_vl, Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd, Nadia Vaeh @nadiavaeh, Olivia Rox @oliviarox, Number One Popstar @numberonepopstar, Bahari @bahari, Noga Erez @nogaerez, Lola Lennox @lolalennex

Best Rock – Rock is often the guitar driven beat that keeps you going. Kill Birds, who have been touring with Foo Fighters are our winner.

Royal and the Serpent @royalandtheserpent,  Amyl and the Sniffers @amylandthesniffers, Mattiel @mattielworldwide , Upsahl @upsahlmusicl, Self Esteem @selfesteemselfesteem, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Nadia Sheikh @nadiasheikhmusic, Red Hook @weareredhook, Pom Pom Squad @pompomsquad

Best Indie –  Indie always means both a sound but also a level of development. These are the artists at the small venues touring to survive. We have a diverse selection this year. Bnny is our winner.

Torres @torreslovesyou, The Beths @lizstokedstokes, Bnny @bnnyband, Madi Diaz @madidiaz, Marissa Nadler @marrisa_nadler, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Siiickbrain @siiickbrain, Sub*t @subtrules, Killboy @killboy, Cumgirl8 @cumgirl8, L’Freaq @lfreaq, Madelline @i.am.madelline, Anna Smyrk @annasmyrk

Best Experimental – There is always a “flinch” moment when you saw experimental. It involves a great deal of risk as personified by our winner Fifi Rong who is working on her dual album set with one album all in English, and one all in Chinese. She is crowdfunding now.

Insect Ark @insectark, Fifi Rong @fifirong, Sasami @sasamiashworth, Irreversible Entanglements @irreversibleentanglements, Haru Nemuri @haru_nemuri

Best Hip Hop – This is the first year that FEMMUSIC has this category. There may be some arguments as to whether all these artists fit it. Coi Leray is the best newcomer in this area. Ray BLK is our winner.

Bia @bia, Tones and I @tonesandi, Doja Cat @dojacat, Sza @sza, Cardi B @iamcardib, Megan Thee Stallion @theestallion, Coi Leray @coileray, Ms Banks @msbanks, Ray BLK @rayblk, Remi Wolf @remiwolf, Tinashe @tinashenow

Best Jazz – We will admit to not hearing as much jazz this year. Laufey is the winner with original interpretations of classics.

Laufey @laufey, Nnenna Freelon @officialnnenna

Best Country – Brandi Carlile is a favorite in this category and will take home more GRAMMYs. Allison Russell wins for being new and original.

Brandi Carlile @brandicarlile, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, Yola @iamyolaofficial, CMAT @cmatbaby, Jackson & Sellers @jacksonsellersmusic, Ingrid Andress @ingridandress

Best Heavy Metal – Infected Rain is a former winner in this category. Jinjer, Halestorm & The Pretty Reckless dominate. The Velveteers are this year’s winner.

Hawxx @hawxxmusic, Edge of Paradise @edgeofparadise, Jinjer @jinjer_official, The Velveteers @thevelveteers, Infected Rain @infectedrain_official, The Pretty Reckless @theprettyreckless, Halestorm @halestormrocks

Best R & B –  This category includes powerhouses like Arlo Parks and Dawn Richard. Alewya is our winner for new and original music this year.

Muni Long @munilong, India Shawn @indiashawn, Dawn Richard @dawnrichard, Alewya @alewya11, Arlo Parks @arloparks, Tkay Maidza @tkaymaidza, Danielia Cotton @danieliacotton, Saleka @saleka

Best Surprise – A “surprise” for us is that unexpected performance when it was not expected. It includes some risky performances such as LVXURI and Big Klit. S.G. Goodman is our hands down winner. We caught her as an opener and she garnered as much reaction as the headliner. She is a blunt, and emotive songwriter.

S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Kiesza @kiesza, LVXURI @mx_lvxuri, Big Klit  @klitoriusmaximus

Best Comeback – This has been a surprisingly competitive category. Whether it’s the return of ABBA after a long time to Adele’s new album. The big surprise this month is Taylor Swift taking the world with the longest song. She is our winner.

Kylie Minogue @kylieminogue, Avril Lavigne @avrillavigne, Deborah Gibson @debbiegibson, Liz Phair @LizPhairOfficial, Taylor Swift @taylorswift , ABBA @ABBA, Adele @adele, Lorde @lorde

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

August 6th, 2021

Posted in Videos Tagged with: ,

August 1st, 2021
 
Upcoming New Releases
Madi Diaz – History of Feeling – https://madidiaz.com/
 
Sleigh Bells – Texis – https://tornclean.com/
 
Jinjer – Wallflowers – http://jinjer-metal.com/
 
Kalie Shorr – I Got Here By Accident EP – http://www.kalieshorr.com/
 
Zelma Stone – The Best EP – https://www.zelmastone.com/
 

Posted in Upcoming New releases Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,

February 10th, 2021

Nashville-based Madi Diaz marks a full restart of her artistic career with “Man In Me,” her poignant debut single/video for ANTI-. It’s a first taste of how Diaz has worked at perfecting the craft of delivering a full spectrum of emotions via songs stripped to their most confrontational and raw form. This song was produced by Diaz with additional production by Andrew Sarlo (Big Thief, Bon Iver).  Across reverberating guitar strums and light piano, Diaz’s voice is evocative as she makes frank observations about a past relationship: “Do you imagine me differently // Cause when I met you swore that you saw me // When you think I might be someone else // Does it turn you on.” As the track continues, Diaz’s vocals swell exponentially, only to be drawn back to a fading note.

 “‘Man In Me’ was the first song I sat down to record for myself in about six years, which is the reason I thought it was so important to release first. It’s a very intimately visceral moment, a sort of play-by-play inner monologue, taking my first steps through a really hard time.” The accompanying video, directed by Stephen Kinigopoulos, “emphasizes the intensity of a moment held and held and held. For me, this video is like holding a stare for so long that it hurts. It’s like knowing you should let go, but you keep holding on cause you can’t say ‘when,’ and playing with that tension lying right beneath the surface. You know something’s up, but you just can’t put your finger on it.”

https://madidiaz.com/

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , ,