December 18th, 2021

#doddleoddle #laufey

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , ,

December 1st, 2021

best-of-2021

Best of 2021 – Last year we missed doing our annual “Best Of.” This year we present it after a year of quarantine albums galore. Tours didn’t start until May but new music was flowing from the start of 2021. 2022 is already aiming to be a busy year. Here are our choices for the Best of 2021.

We’ve evolved from Phoebe Bridgers, Megan Thee Stallion and others of last year to a new crop of artists.

Best Label – Fire Talk Records – Home to Bnny, Mamalarky, Packs and more this boutique label is setting up to be the next Saddle Creek Records.  

Secretly Group @secretlygroup, Saddle Creek Records @saddlecreek, Fire Talk Records @firetalkrecs, Don Giovanni Records @DonGiovanniRecs

Nest New Artist –  “New” is always relative. Georgia Maq has been part of Camp Cope, and Isabella Manfredi was part of The Preatures. Our winner is Ashe who album Ashlyn was hard to put down this year.

Georgia Maq @goldsoundz_, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Ashe @ashemusic, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Hawxx @hawxxmusic,  Noa Kirel @noakirel, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Killboy @killboy , Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd , Ydegirl @ydegirl, The Linda Lindas @the_linda_lindas, Allison Ponthier @allisonponthier, Isabella Manfredi @isabellamanfredi, Pom Pom Squad  @pompomsquad

Best Local (Colorado) Artist – Local artists can often be touring or even national acts. This category was very competitive with the amount of quarantine albums that came out. Our winner is Companion who mesmerized us in the Spring. They will quickly become a national act.

Companion @companiontheband , Wellington Bullings @wellingtonbullings, Jenny Shawhan @jennyshawhan, The Velveteers @thevelveteers , Grand Alliance @LeGrandAlliance, Bunny Blake @bunnyblakemusic, Ellsworth @ellsworththefolksinger, Stop Motion, Lvdy @lvdy, Lolita  @lolitaworldwide

Best Dance – Dance is also electronic and electro pop. Magdalena Bay & Sofi Tukker are the 800 lb gorillas in this category. Kito is our winner for surprising collaborations.

Magdalena Bay @magdalenabay, Sofi Tukker @sofitukker, Kito @kito

Best Pop – Pop like Indie is often open to interpretation. It is often what dominates at venues. Our winner is Charlotte Cardin whose Phoenix album was one of the best albums this year.

Hana Vu @hanavuuu, Lucy Dacus @lucydacus, Japanese Breakfast @jbrekkie, Baby Queen @queenofthebabies, Charlotte Cardin @charlottecardin, Jess Chalker @jess_chalker_, May-A @mayacumming, Ashe @ashemusic, Girl In Red @girlinred, Angèle @angele_vl, Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd, Nadia Vaeh @nadiavaeh, Olivia Rox @oliviarox, Number One Popstar @numberonepopstar, Bahari @bahari, Noga Erez @nogaerez, Lola Lennox @lolalennex

Best Rock – Rock is often the guitar driven beat that keeps you going. Kill Birds, who have been touring with Foo Fighters are our winner.

Royal and the Serpent @royalandtheserpent,  Amyl and the Sniffers @amylandthesniffers, Mattiel @mattielworldwide , Upsahl @upsahlmusicl, Self Esteem @selfesteemselfesteem, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Nadia Sheikh @nadiasheikhmusic, Red Hook @weareredhook, Pom Pom Squad @pompomsquad

Best Indie –  Indie always means both a sound but also a level of development. These are the artists at the small venues touring to survive. We have a diverse selection this year. Bnny is our winner.

Torres @torreslovesyou, The Beths @lizstokedstokes, Bnny @bnnyband, Madi Diaz @madidiaz, Marissa Nadler @marrisa_nadler, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Siiickbrain @siiickbrain, Sub*t @subtrules, Killboy @killboy, Cumgirl8 @cumgirl8, L’Freaq @lfreaq, Madelline @i.am.madelline, Anna Smyrk @annasmyrk

Best Experimental – There is always a “flinch” moment when you saw experimental. It involves a great deal of risk as personified by our winner Fifi Rong who is working on her dual album set with one album all in English, and one all in Chinese. She is crowdfunding now.

Insect Ark @insectark, Fifi Rong @fifirong, Sasami @sasamiashworth, Irreversible Entanglements @irreversibleentanglements, Haru Nemuri @haru_nemuri

Best Hip Hop – This is the first year that FEMMUSIC has this category. There may be some arguments as to whether all these artists fit it. Coi Leray is the best newcomer in this area. Ray BLK is our winner.

Bia @bia, Tones and I @tonesandi, Doja Cat @dojacat, Sza @sza, Cardi B @iamcardib, Megan Thee Stallion @theestallion, Coi Leray @coileray, Ms Banks @msbanks, Ray BLK @rayblk, Remi Wolf @remiwolf, Tinashe @tinashenow

Best Jazz – We will admit to not hearing as much jazz this year. Laufey is the winner with original interpretations of classics.

Laufey @laufey, Nnenna Freelon @officialnnenna

Best Country – Brandi Carlile is a favorite in this category and will take home more GRAMMYs. Allison Russell wins for being new and original.

Brandi Carlile @brandicarlile, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, Yola @iamyolaofficial, CMAT @cmatbaby, Jackson & Sellers @jacksonsellersmusic, Ingrid Andress @ingridandress

Best Heavy Metal – Infected Rain is a former winner in this category. Jinjer, Halestorm & The Pretty Reckless dominate. The Velveteers are this year’s winner.

Hawxx @hawxxmusic, Edge of Paradise @edgeofparadise, Jinjer @jinjer_official, The Velveteers @thevelveteers, Infected Rain @infectedrain_official, The Pretty Reckless @theprettyreckless, Halestorm @halestormrocks

Best R & B –  This category includes powerhouses like Arlo Parks and Dawn Richard. Alewya is our winner for new and original music this year.

Muni Long @munilong, India Shawn @indiashawn, Dawn Richard @dawnrichard, Alewya @alewya11, Arlo Parks @arloparks, Tkay Maidza @tkaymaidza, Danielia Cotton @danieliacotton, Saleka @saleka

Best Surprise – A “surprise” for us is that unexpected performance when it was not expected. It includes some risky performances such as LVXURI and Big Klit. S.G. Goodman is our hands down winner. We caught her as an opener and she garnered as much reaction as the headliner. She is a blunt, and emotive songwriter.

S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Kiesza @kiesza, LVXURI @mx_lvxuri, Big Klit  @klitoriusmaximus

Best Comeback – This has been a surprisingly competitive category. Whether it’s the return of ABBA after a long time to Adele’s new album. The big surprise this month is Taylor Swift taking the world with the longest song. She is our winner.

Kylie Minogue @kylieminogue, Avril Lavigne @avrillavigne, Deborah Gibson @debbiegibson, Liz Phair @LizPhairOfficial, Taylor Swift @taylorswift , ABBA @ABBA, Adele @adele, Lorde @lorde

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

October 7th, 2021

Laufey

Twenty-one year old Icelandic-Chinese singer-songwriter, musician, cellist and pianist Laufey will release a new single in collaboration with Warner Records artist Adam Melchor tomorrow. Listen to “Love Flew Away,” which the two artists co-wrote about similar experiences with long-distance heartbreak.

Co-written by the two musicians, “Love Flew Away” seamlessly blends the talent of both Laufey and Melchor in a gorgeous ballad. Laufey says, “Adam has been one of my greatest musical idols in the past few years so it’s an incredible honor to release this song with him. Writing with Adam was so much fun and we found that we had similar experiences with the pain of long distance love – which we ultimately wrote the song about.” Melchor continues, “The first time I heard Laufey’s voice, I instantly knew I needed to sing with her. She came to my house one day and we just talked for about 7 hours and by the end we found we had so many things in common, relationship-wise. I showed her this idea that I had after leaving the person I had been seeing overseas, and how sometimes love feels like it flies away. She took the idea to the next level and we knew it would be incredibly powerful as a duet.”

@laufeylin

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , ,

August 13th, 2021

Today, following the release of her utterly charming debut EP Typical of Me, earlier this year, Laufey shares a stunning new single “Let You Break My Heart Again,” featuring London’s legendary Philharmonia Orchestra, one of the premier and most decorated orchestras in Britain for the past 75+ years. Alexander Van Ingen, Chief Executive of the Philharmonia Orchestra, said, ““The Philharmonia – one of the world’s great orchestras – prides itself on supporting the next generation of incredible artists, and we are hugely proud to work alongside Laufey on this track. Laufey has an exceptional vocal and songwriting talent, and we are so pleased to have made this work across the Atlantic during the pandemic; we look forward to welcoming Laufey to London in the autumn for her performance in the EFG London Jazz Festival at our London residence, the Southbank Centre.”

“I wrote this song about a guy that I was hopelessly in love with,” Laufey continues. “I let him disappoint me again and again simply because I liked him so much. It’s the kind of blind love you experience in your youth, inspired by the sounds of old Hollywood films. I’m so honored to collaborate with the London Philharmonia Orchestra on this song. Growing up a classical musician, I’ve been a fan of them for years. The orchestral arrangement lifts the song to new heights with luscious strings, winds and graceful harmonies. I was also so happy to play cello on the track!”

Laufey recently announced tour dates with Ricky Montgomery and Alexander 23, as well as sets at Iceland Airwaves and London Jazz Festival this Fall. Most of the U.S. shows are already sold out and her performance at London Jazz Festival sold out in a matter of hours.

Tour Dates:

11/05/21 – Reykjavik, Iceland @ Iceland Airwaves

11/13/21 – London, UK @ London Jazz at The Purcell Room SOLD OUT

11/18/21 – Philadelphia, PA @The Foundry^ SOLD OUT

11/20/21 – Boston, MA @ The Sinclair^

11/21/21 – Montreal, QC @ Le Ministere^ SOLD OUT

11/23/21 – Toronto, ON @ Velvet Underground^ SOLD OUT

11/27/21 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry* SOLD OUT

11/20/21- Washington, DC @ Songbyrd* SOLD OUT

11/28/21- Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall* SOLD OUT

12/02/21 – New York, NY @ Gramercy Theatre* SOLD OUT

12/04/21 – Atlanta, GA @ Vinyl* SOLD OUT

12/06/21 – Dallas, TX @ HOB Cambridge Room* SOLD OUT

12/09/21 – Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour* SOLD OUT

^ w/ Alexander23

* w/ Ricky Montgomery

https://twitter.com/laufeylin?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Eauthor

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,

April 30th, 2021

Today Laufey releases her debut EP Typical of Me. Laufey is a 21 year old Icelandic-Chinese artist who is heavily influenced by jazz and R & B. She recorded her debut single “Street By Street” with peers at Berklee College of Music before it was shut down for COVID. Laufey then started topping the Icelandic charts and earning support from Billie Eilish and Willow Smith.

Typical of Me features “Street By Street”, her single “Best Friend”, and her new single “James.”

“‘James’ is about a certain type of guy that I have encountered in my life. It’s always the same pattern – I’ll admire them for a while, then get to know them and learn that I have created a false narrative in my head for who they actually are. James has a huge ego, James is a fool – so I wrote a song about it.”

Tracklisting: 
1.Street By Street
2. Magnolia
3. Like The Movies
4. I Wish You Love (Cover)
5. James
6. Someone New
7. Best Friend
 

Half Chinese and half Icelandic, Laufey spent much of her childhood traveling between Reykjavík and Washington, DC, where she learned to speak English with barely a trace of an accent. Inspired in part by her mother, a classical violinist, she took up piano and cello early on, but it was her father’s collection of Ella Fitzgerald and Billie Holiday albums that spoke to her on a deeper level.

“I’ve always loved classical music, and I’m definitely very influenced by composers like Ravel and Chopin,” Laufey explains, “but when I discovered the Great American Songbook and the music of George Gershwin and Richard Rodgers, it felt like this middle ground between jazz and classical that suited me perfectly. It was something I could love on my own terms.” 

Laufey dove into the music headfirst, captivated by the lush arrangements and dreamy vocals, and by her teenage years, she was already turning heads with a mesmerizing style that belied her young age. As much as she enjoyed singing the standards, though, Laufey couldn’t help but feel that something was missing, and she often longed to express herself in more personal ways.

“In the classical world, it’s expected that you’ll follow tradition and stick to the script,” she reflects.  That all changed when Laufey landed a prestigious Presidential Scholarship to Boston’s Berklee College of Music, which enabled her to continue honing her virtuosic skills as a vocalist and instrumentalist while simultaneously pursuing her dreams of becoming a songwriter. Stepping out of her comfort zone and living on her own for the first time, Laufey found herself surrounded by a sea of gifted young musicians and producers at Berklee who inspired and challenged her in exciting new ways. It was a liberating environment for someone who’d spent her entire life playing by the rules, and it helped Laufey find the confidence to begin writing her own material.

“When things started blowing up on social media, I had all these young people reaching out about how the songs were resonating with them,” she recalls. “A lot of kids my age had never really been exposed to this kind of music, and I just loved that I had the opportunity to introduce it to a whole new audience.”

As her music climbed the charts back home in Iceland, Laufey continued writing and recording what would eventually become her debut EP, Typical of Me, laying down guitar, vocals, piano, and cello at home while her collaborators contributed parts and production remotely. Despite the considerable distance involved in its creation, the finished product is a warm and inviting collection, one that puts a modern twist on a timeless sound. Drawing on everything from Chet Baker and Sarah Vaughan to Peggy Lee and Bill Evans, it’s a confident, compelling debut full of mature meditations on loneliness and desire, doubt and resilience, acceptance and hope.

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,

April 8th, 2021

Things continue to pick up for Laufey, the 21 year old Icelandic-Chinese artist. Her debut EP Typical of Me comes out April 30. It features “Street By Street”, “Best Friend” and “Magnolia.”

In addition, Earlier today the BBC announced that Laufey will present a new music series for BBC Radio 3 and BBC Sounds. A twelve-episode mood-music series entitled “Happy Harmonies with Laufey,” the series is announced alongside another series with Lianne La Havas, and both begin on Saturday, April 10th on BBC Sounds.

https://www.laufeymusic.com/

Posted in Uncategorized Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,

March 17th, 2021

Laufey— the twenty-one year old Icelandic-Chinese singer-songwriter, musician, cellist and pianist—announced her debut EP, Typical of Mehttps://ffm.to/typicalofme

FEMMUSIC has already featured the debut single “Best Friend.” Today we feature the video. 

Half Chinese and half Icelandic, Laufey spent much of her childhood traveling between Reykjavík and Washington, DC, where she learned to speak English with barely a trace of an accent. Inspired in part by her mother, a classical violinist, she took up piano and cello early on, but it was her father’s collection of Ella Fitzgerald and Billie Holiday albums that spoke to her on a deeper level.

“I’ve always loved classical music, and I’m definitely very influenced by composers like Ravel and Chopin,” Laufey explains, “but when I discovered the Great American Songbook and the music of George Gershwin and Richard Rodgers, it felt like this middle ground between jazz and classical that suited me perfectly. It was something I could love on my own terms.”

https://www.laufeymusic.com/

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,

March 3rd, 2021

Today Laufey—twenty-one year old Icelandic-Chinese singer-songwriter, musician, cellist and pianist—announces her debut EP, Typical of Me. https://ffm.to/typicalofme

To celebrate the announcement of Typical of Me, Laufey shares a new track off of the EP called “Best Friend.”

Half Chinese and half Icelandic, Laufey spent much of her childhood traveling between Reykjavík and Washington, DC, where she learned to speak English with barely a trace of an accent. Inspired in part by her mother, a classical violinist, she took up piano and cello early on, but it was her father’s collection of Ella Fitzgerald and Billie Holiday albums that spoke to her on a deeper level.

“I’ve always loved classical music, and I’m definitely very influenced by composers like Ravel and Chopin,” Laufey explains, “but when I discovered the Great American Songbook and the music of George Gershwin and Richard Rodgers, it felt like this middle ground between jazz and classical that suited me perfectly. It was something I could love on my own terms.”

https://www.laufeymusic.com/

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , ,