April 8th, 2022

Lena Scissorhands

“My first song in collaboration with Death Dealer Union… It didn’t just help me stay busy and creative in the times of a big global depression but also worked as therapy in the times of need. I had fun collaborating with new musicians! Please enjoy ‘Borderlines.'” – Lena Scissorhands

“With all the amazing and talented bands of the last decade, we wanted to stand apart by capturing some of the foundational aspects of Metal and yet weave a strong thread of modern female fronted Nu-Metal but with no rules!” – CC McKenna

#LenaScissorhands #DeathDealerUnion #InfectedRain 

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , ,

January 27th, 2022

Infected Rain

Infected Rain 2022 North American Headlining Tour

Moldovan progressive modern metal unit INFECTED RAIN are firing on all cylinders after the release of their new album, Ecdysis, which just dropped on January 7th, 2022 via Napalm Records. On the strength of the new record, Infected Rain is excited to announce that they’re returning to the road in North America this Spring!

Ecdysis

Frontwoman Lena Scissorhands about the band returning to North America:

“We are coming back! After receiving so much love from you during our first American tour, we just had to come back again. This time presenting Ecdysis and visiting some places we couldn’t visit before.”

5/10 – Los Angeles, CA @ 1720

5/11 – Las Vegas, NV @ The Divebar

5/13 – Denver, CO @ The Roxy Theater

5/14 – Fort Collins, CO @ 830 North

5/15 – Sioux Falls, SD @ Bigs Bar

5/18 – Chicago, IL @ The WC Social Club

5/19 – Toronto, ON @ The Garrison

5/20 – Rochester, NY @ Montage Music Hall

5/21 – Providence, RI @ Fete Music Hall

5/22 – Quebec City, QC @ L’Anti

5/23 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Crafthouse

5/24 – Harrisburg, PA @ HMAC

5/25 – Lakewood, OH @ The Winchester

5/26 – Virginia Beach, VA @ Scandals Live!

5/27 – Jacksonville, NC @ Hooligans

5/28 – Greensboro, NC @ The Blind Tiger

5/29 – Spartanburg, SC @ Ground Zero

5/31 – Orlando, FL @ Haven

6/1 – Tampa, FL @ Brass Mug

6/2 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa

6/3 – Corpus Christi, TX @ Boozerz Rock Bar

6/4 – Austin, TX @ Empire Control Room

6/5 – Lubbock, TX @ Jakes Sports Café

6/6 – San Antonio, TX @ Fitzgeralds

6/8 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Rebel Lounge

6/9 – San Diego, CA @ Brick by Brick

#InfectedRain_Official

 

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , ,

January 7th, 2022

Frontwoman Lena Scissorhands says about “Longing”:
“Never happy, never content! We spend our lives craving and longing for things that someone else has or for things that we think will make us happy.  
‘A picture immaculate, perfectly designed.                
A story in which you’re always desired.’  
What is happiness really?”    
 

#InfectedRain

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , ,

December 9th, 2021

Moldovan progressive modern metal unit INFECTED RAIN have been turning heads in the metal world this fall with the next chapter of their metamorphosis – their otherworldly fifth album, Ecdysis, out January 7, 2022 via Napalm Records.       

Today, INFECTED RAIN turn up the heat once more with electrifying third single “The Realm Of Chaos” featuring guest vocals from Heidi Shepherd of Butcher Babies! The recent tour-mates provide a decimating dual vocal attack as the track pummels and bends with raging riffs and urging drums.

Frontwoman Lena Scissorhands says about “The Realm Of Chaos”:

“‘The Realm Of Chaos’ was inspired by the massive depression we all lived in 2020, dedicated to the lost nation and confused society we live in. Together with my friend Heidi from Butcher Babies, we implore everyone to stop running and start seeing the tragic reality we all live in.”

Guest vocalist Heidi Shepherd adds:

“INFECTED RAIN have quickly become one of my favorite bands with some of my favorite people. It’s an honor to scream alongside Lena and the boys in their latest single. Everything IR touches turns to gold; this song and video are no exception. Over the past two years, this has been the feature that has been requested more times that I can count. Can’t wait to give the fans what they want in ‘The Realm of Chaos’!”

#infectedrain_official #butcherbabies

 

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , ,

December 1st, 2021

best-of-2021

Best of 2021 – Last year we missed doing our annual “Best Of.” This year we present it after a year of quarantine albums galore. Tours didn’t start until May but new music was flowing from the start of 2021. 2022 is already aiming to be a busy year. Here are our choices for the Best of 2021.

We’ve evolved from Phoebe Bridgers, Megan Thee Stallion and others of last year to a new crop of artists.

Best Label – Fire Talk Records – Home to Bnny, Mamalarky, Packs and more this boutique label is setting up to be the next Saddle Creek Records.  

Secretly Group @secretlygroup, Saddle Creek Records @saddlecreek, Fire Talk Records @firetalkrecs, Don Giovanni Records @DonGiovanniRecs

Nest New Artist –  “New” is always relative. Georgia Maq has been part of Camp Cope, and Isabella Manfredi was part of The Preatures. Our winner is Ashe who album Ashlyn was hard to put down this year.

Georgia Maq @goldsoundz_, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Ashe @ashemusic, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Hawxx @hawxxmusic,  Noa Kirel @noakirel, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Killboy @killboy , Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd , Ydegirl @ydegirl, The Linda Lindas @the_linda_lindas, Allison Ponthier @allisonponthier, Isabella Manfredi @isabellamanfredi, Pom Pom Squad  @pompomsquad

Best Local (Colorado) Artist – Local artists can often be touring or even national acts. This category was very competitive with the amount of quarantine albums that came out. Our winner is Companion who mesmerized us in the Spring. They will quickly become a national act.

Companion @companiontheband , Wellington Bullings @wellingtonbullings, Jenny Shawhan @jennyshawhan, The Velveteers @thevelveteers , Grand Alliance @LeGrandAlliance, Bunny Blake @bunnyblakemusic, Ellsworth @ellsworththefolksinger, Stop Motion, Lvdy @lvdy, Lolita  @lolitaworldwide

Best Dance – Dance is also electronic and electro pop. Magdalena Bay & Sofi Tukker are the 800 lb gorillas in this category. Kito is our winner for surprising collaborations.

Magdalena Bay @magdalenabay, Sofi Tukker @sofitukker, Kito @kito

Best Pop – Pop like Indie is often open to interpretation. It is often what dominates at venues. Our winner is Charlotte Cardin whose Phoenix album was one of the best albums this year.

Hana Vu @hanavuuu, Lucy Dacus @lucydacus, Japanese Breakfast @jbrekkie, Baby Queen @queenofthebabies, Charlotte Cardin @charlottecardin, Jess Chalker @jess_chalker_, May-A @mayacumming, Ashe @ashemusic, Girl In Red @girlinred, Angèle @angele_vl, Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd, Nadia Vaeh @nadiavaeh, Olivia Rox @oliviarox, Number One Popstar @numberonepopstar, Bahari @bahari, Noga Erez @nogaerez, Lola Lennox @lolalennex

Best Rock – Rock is often the guitar driven beat that keeps you going. Kill Birds, who have been touring with Foo Fighters are our winner.

Royal and the Serpent @royalandtheserpent,  Amyl and the Sniffers @amylandthesniffers, Mattiel @mattielworldwide , Upsahl @upsahlmusicl, Self Esteem @selfesteemselfesteem, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Nadia Sheikh @nadiasheikhmusic, Red Hook @weareredhook, Pom Pom Squad @pompomsquad

Best Indie –  Indie always means both a sound but also a level of development. These are the artists at the small venues touring to survive. We have a diverse selection this year. Bnny is our winner.

Torres @torreslovesyou, The Beths @lizstokedstokes, Bnny @bnnyband, Madi Diaz @madidiaz, Marissa Nadler @marrisa_nadler, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Siiickbrain @siiickbrain, Sub*t @subtrules, Killboy @killboy, Cumgirl8 @cumgirl8, L’Freaq @lfreaq, Madelline @i.am.madelline, Anna Smyrk @annasmyrk

Best Experimental – There is always a “flinch” moment when you saw experimental. It involves a great deal of risk as personified by our winner Fifi Rong who is working on her dual album set with one album all in English, and one all in Chinese. She is crowdfunding now.

Insect Ark @insectark, Fifi Rong @fifirong, Sasami @sasamiashworth, Irreversible Entanglements @irreversibleentanglements, Haru Nemuri @haru_nemuri

Best Hip Hop – This is the first year that FEMMUSIC has this category. There may be some arguments as to whether all these artists fit it. Coi Leray is the best newcomer in this area. Ray BLK is our winner.

Bia @bia, Tones and I @tonesandi, Doja Cat @dojacat, Sza @sza, Cardi B @iamcardib, Megan Thee Stallion @theestallion, Coi Leray @coileray, Ms Banks @msbanks, Ray BLK @rayblk, Remi Wolf @remiwolf, Tinashe @tinashenow

Best Jazz – We will admit to not hearing as much jazz this year. Laufey is the winner with original interpretations of classics.

Laufey @laufey, Nnenna Freelon @officialnnenna

Best Country – Brandi Carlile is a favorite in this category and will take home more GRAMMYs. Allison Russell wins for being new and original.

Brandi Carlile @brandicarlile, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, Yola @iamyolaofficial, CMAT @cmatbaby, Jackson & Sellers @jacksonsellersmusic, Ingrid Andress @ingridandress

Best Heavy Metal – Infected Rain is a former winner in this category. Jinjer, Halestorm & The Pretty Reckless dominate. The Velveteers are this year’s winner.

Hawxx @hawxxmusic, Edge of Paradise @edgeofparadise, Jinjer @jinjer_official, The Velveteers @thevelveteers, Infected Rain @infectedrain_official, The Pretty Reckless @theprettyreckless, Halestorm @halestormrocks

Best R & B –  This category includes powerhouses like Arlo Parks and Dawn Richard. Alewya is our winner for new and original music this year.

Muni Long @munilong, India Shawn @indiashawn, Dawn Richard @dawnrichard, Alewya @alewya11, Arlo Parks @arloparks, Tkay Maidza @tkaymaidza, Danielia Cotton @danieliacotton, Saleka @saleka

Best Surprise – A “surprise” for us is that unexpected performance when it was not expected. It includes some risky performances such as LVXURI and Big Klit. S.G. Goodman is our hands down winner. We caught her as an opener and she garnered as much reaction as the headliner. She is a blunt, and emotive songwriter.

S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Kiesza @kiesza, LVXURI @mx_lvxuri, Big Klit  @klitoriusmaximus

Best Comeback – This has been a surprisingly competitive category. Whether it’s the return of ABBA after a long time to Adele’s new album. The big surprise this month is Taylor Swift taking the world with the longest song. She is our winner.

Kylie Minogue @kylieminogue, Avril Lavigne @avrillavigne, Deborah Gibson @debbiegibson, Liz Phair @LizPhairOfficial, Taylor Swift @taylorswift , ABBA @ABBA, Adele @adele, Lorde @lorde

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

September 8th, 2021

Butcher Babies with Infected Rain, Stitched Up Heart, Purge The Heretics at The Oriental Theater
September 7, 2021
Photos by David A. Barber

@OrientalTheater, @butcherbabies, @infectedrain, @StitchedUpHeartRock, @PTHBand, #RockOnColorado, #butcherbabies, #infectedrain, #StitchedUpHeartRock, #PTHBand

Posted in Live Photos Tagged with: , , , ,

September 1st, 2021

Butcher Babies

Butcher Babies

The Oriental Theater

Denver, CO

September 7, 2021

https://butcherbabies.com/

https://www.theorientaltheater.com/

Butcher Babies began their headlining tour on August 28 and won’t stop until October. The ‘Butcher Babies Vs. Goliath’ tour will see the band perform their 2013 debut album GOLIATH (Century Media) in its entirety along with fan-favorites and new previously unheard music. The fully female-fronted lineup will include support from Infected Rain and Stitched Up Heart, with Kaleido also appearing on select dates. The band is working on an upcoming self-released EP which includes the singles “It’s Killin’ Time, Baby”, “Last Dance”, “Sleeping With the Enemy”, “Bottom of the Bottle” and “Yorktown”

 

For over a decade, BUTCHER BABIES have been crushing stages worldwide with their vicious live performance and explosive energy. Their stage presence is a hypnotic spectacle that leaves audiences hungry for more as they’ve displayed on tours among the likes of Megadeth, Rob Zombie, Marilyn Manson, Five Finger Death Punch, Danzig, In This Moment, Hollywood Undead, Cradle of Filth, Black Label Society and many more.

Hailing from the City of Angels, BUTCHER BABIES aided in the jubilant revival of the metal scene on LA’s iconic Sunset Strip, landing the band a record deal with Century Media Records.

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,