May 12th, 2022

unleashed her groundbreaking debut album if i can make it go quiet into the world. The album made waves globally with critics and fans relishing in Ulven’s honesty and raw emotional intelligence.

Now girl in red has teamed up with fellow creative Hunter Schafer who is making her directorial debut with the new music video from album favorite “hornylovesickmess.”

Ulven tells us: “‘hornylovesickmess’ is one of my favorites off the album. Being able to make a video with Hunter for the album’s anniversary was so cool. We had so many ideas after the first time we hung out and it was cool to be with another creative in that way. it was also fun to be on set with her and get her vibe as a director.”

#Girlinred

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , ,

January 20th, 2022

Today, breakout singer-songwriter Holly Humberstone has debuted her brand new single, “London Is Lonely,” the first release since the arrival of her heralded sophomore EP, The Walls Are Way Too Thin last fall. Produced by long-time collaborator Rob Milton.

“I wrote London Is Lonely back in February 2020 right before the pandemic hit here in the UK” says Holly.  I had just moved out of my childhood home down to London and had spent the past few months feeling really trapped and alone in my tiny flat with strangers. London felt so intense and although there were so many people around me, I felt even more isolated and like I didn’t belong. I kind of lost myself in the city. I didn’t exactly know who I was anymore, and so going home and writing felt like my safe space to process everything. It’s funny now listening to the song almost two years on, post-pandemic, and feeling like nothing much has changed at all. I’m still trying to find my place here and make it my home and so it felt right to put this song out into the world right now, when so many other people are probably feeling lost right now too.”

HOLLY HUMBERSTONE – 2022 NORTH AMERICAN TOUR DATES

March 7, 2022 – The Eastern – Atlanta, GA (SOLD OUT)*

March 8, 2022 – Brooklyn Bowl – Nashville, TN (SOLD OUT)*

March 9, 2022 – The Orange Peel – Asheville, TN (SOLD OUT)*

March 11, 2022 – 9:30 Club – Washington, DC (SOLD OUT)*

March 12, 2022 – Rams Head Live – Baltimore, MD (SOLD OUT)*

March 14, 2022 – Brooklyn Steel  – Brooklyn, NY (SOLD OUT)*

March 15, 2022 – Brooklyn Steel – Brooklyn, NY (SOLD OUT)*

March 16, 2022 – Union Transfer – Philadelphia, PA (SOLD OUT)*

March 18, 2022 – Paradise Rock Club – Boston, MA (SOLD OUT)*

March 19, 2022 – Club Soda – Montreal, QC (SOLD OUT)*

March 20, 2022 – Queen Elizabeth Theatre – Toronto, ON (SOLD OUT)*

March 22, 2022 – The Majestic Theatre – Detroit, MI (SOLD OUT)*

March 23, 2022 – Express Live! – Columbus, OH (SOLD OUT)*

March 24, 2022 – Metro – Chicago, IL (SOLD OUT)*

March 25, 2022 – Metro – Chicago, IL (SOLD OUT)*

March 27, 2022 – The Rave – Milwaukee, WI (SOLD OUT)*

March 28, 2022 – First Avenue – Minneapolis, MN (SOLD OUT)*

March 29, 2022 – The Truman – Kansas City, MO (SOLD OUT)*

March 31, 2022 – Emo’s – Austin, TX (SOLD OUT)*

April 1, 2022 – House of Blues – Houston, TX (SOLD OUT)*

April 2, 2022 – House of Blues – Dallas, TX (SOLD OUT)*

April 3, 2022 – Cain’s Ballroom – Tulsa, OK (SOLD OUT)*

April 5, 2022 – Gothic Theatre – Denver, CO (SOLD OUT)*

April 6, 2022 – The Rockwell at The Complex – Salt Lake City, UT*

April 8, 2022 – Showbox Sodo – Seattle, WA (SOLD OUT)*

April 9, 2022 – Roseland Theater – Portland, OR (SOLD OUT)*

April 11, 2022 – The Regency Ballroom – San Francisco, CA (SOLD OUT)*

April 12, 2022 – The Regency Ballroom – San Francisco, CA (SOLD OUT)*

April 26, 2022 – Radio City Music Hall – New York, NY (SOLD OUT)!

April 27, 2022 – Radio City Music Hall – New York, NY (SOLD OUT)!

April 29, 2022 – Massey Hall – Toronto, ON (SOLD OUT)!

April 30, 2022 – Massey Hall – Toronto, ON (SOLD OUT)!

May 3, 2022 – Roadrunner – Boston, MA (SOLD OUT)!

May 4, 2022 – The Anthem – Washington, DC (SOLD OUT)!

May 6, 2022 – The Met Philadelphia – Philadelphia, PA (SOLD OUT)!

May 7, 2022 – The Met Philadelphia – Philadelphia, PA (SOLD OUT)!

May 9, 2022 – Coca-Cola Roxy – Atlanta, GA (SOLD OUT)!

May 10, 2022 – Grand Ole Opry House – Nashville, TN (SOLD OUT)!

May 12, 2022 – 713 Music Hall – Houston, TX (SOLD OUT)!

May 13, 2022 – Moody Amphitheater – Austin, TX (SOLD OUT)!

May 14, 2022 – The Pavilion At Toyota Music Factory – Irving, TX (SOLD OUT)!

May 17, 2022 – Arizona Federal Theatre – Phoenix, AZ (SOLD OUT)!

May 18, 2022 – The Rady Shell at Jacobs Park – San Diego, CA (SOLD OUT)!

May 20, 2022 – The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas – Las Vegas, NV (SOLD OUT)!

May 21, 2022 – Santa Barbara Bowl – Santa Barbara, CA (SOLD OUT)!

May 24, 2022 – Greek Theatre – Los Angeles, CA (SOLD OUT)!

May 25, 2022 – Greek Theatre – Los Angeles, CA (SOLD OUT)!

! supporting Olivia Rodrigo

*supporting girl in red

#hollyhumberstone

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , ,

December 1st, 2021

best-of-2021

Best of 2021 – Last year we missed doing our annual “Best Of.” This year we present it after a year of quarantine albums galore. Tours didn’t start until May but new music was flowing from the start of 2021. 2022 is already aiming to be a busy year. Here are our choices for the Best of 2021.

We’ve evolved from Phoebe Bridgers, Megan Thee Stallion and others of last year to a new crop of artists.

Best Label – Fire Talk Records – Home to Bnny, Mamalarky, Packs and more this boutique label is setting up to be the next Saddle Creek Records.  

Secretly Group @secretlygroup, Saddle Creek Records @saddlecreek, Fire Talk Records @firetalkrecs, Don Giovanni Records @DonGiovanniRecs

Nest New Artist –  “New” is always relative. Georgia Maq has been part of Camp Cope, and Isabella Manfredi was part of The Preatures. Our winner is Ashe who album Ashlyn was hard to put down this year.

Georgia Maq @goldsoundz_, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Ashe @ashemusic, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Hawxx @hawxxmusic,  Noa Kirel @noakirel, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Killboy @killboy , Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd , Ydegirl @ydegirl, The Linda Lindas @the_linda_lindas, Allison Ponthier @allisonponthier, Isabella Manfredi @isabellamanfredi, Pom Pom Squad  @pompomsquad

Best Local (Colorado) Artist – Local artists can often be touring or even national acts. This category was very competitive with the amount of quarantine albums that came out. Our winner is Companion who mesmerized us in the Spring. They will quickly become a national act.

Companion @companiontheband , Wellington Bullings @wellingtonbullings, Jenny Shawhan @jennyshawhan, The Velveteers @thevelveteers , Grand Alliance @LeGrandAlliance, Bunny Blake @bunnyblakemusic, Ellsworth @ellsworththefolksinger, Stop Motion, Lvdy @lvdy, Lolita  @lolitaworldwide

Best Dance – Dance is also electronic and electro pop. Magdalena Bay & Sofi Tukker are the 800 lb gorillas in this category. Kito is our winner for surprising collaborations.

Magdalena Bay @magdalenabay, Sofi Tukker @sofitukker, Kito @kito

Best Pop – Pop like Indie is often open to interpretation. It is often what dominates at venues. Our winner is Charlotte Cardin whose Phoenix album was one of the best albums this year.

Hana Vu @hanavuuu, Lucy Dacus @lucydacus, Japanese Breakfast @jbrekkie, Baby Queen @queenofthebabies, Charlotte Cardin @charlottecardin, Jess Chalker @jess_chalker_, May-A @mayacumming, Ashe @ashemusic, Girl In Red @girlinred, Angèle @angele_vl, Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd, Nadia Vaeh @nadiavaeh, Olivia Rox @oliviarox, Number One Popstar @numberonepopstar, Bahari @bahari, Noga Erez @nogaerez, Lola Lennox @lolalennex

Best Rock – Rock is often the guitar driven beat that keeps you going. Kill Birds, who have been touring with Foo Fighters are our winner.

Royal and the Serpent @royalandtheserpent,  Amyl and the Sniffers @amylandthesniffers, Mattiel @mattielworldwide , Upsahl @upsahlmusicl, Self Esteem @selfesteemselfesteem, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Nadia Sheikh @nadiasheikhmusic, Red Hook @weareredhook, Pom Pom Squad @pompomsquad

Best Indie –  Indie always means both a sound but also a level of development. These are the artists at the small venues touring to survive. We have a diverse selection this year. Bnny is our winner.

Torres @torreslovesyou, The Beths @lizstokedstokes, Bnny @bnnyband, Madi Diaz @madidiaz, Marissa Nadler @marrisa_nadler, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Siiickbrain @siiickbrain, Sub*t @subtrules, Killboy @killboy, Cumgirl8 @cumgirl8, L’Freaq @lfreaq, Madelline @i.am.madelline, Anna Smyrk @annasmyrk

Best Experimental – There is always a “flinch” moment when you saw experimental. It involves a great deal of risk as personified by our winner Fifi Rong who is working on her dual album set with one album all in English, and one all in Chinese. She is crowdfunding now.

Insect Ark @insectark, Fifi Rong @fifirong, Sasami @sasamiashworth, Irreversible Entanglements @irreversibleentanglements, Haru Nemuri @haru_nemuri

Best Hip Hop – This is the first year that FEMMUSIC has this category. There may be some arguments as to whether all these artists fit it. Coi Leray is the best newcomer in this area. Ray BLK is our winner.

Bia @bia, Tones and I @tonesandi, Doja Cat @dojacat, Sza @sza, Cardi B @iamcardib, Megan Thee Stallion @theestallion, Coi Leray @coileray, Ms Banks @msbanks, Ray BLK @rayblk, Remi Wolf @remiwolf, Tinashe @tinashenow

Best Jazz – We will admit to not hearing as much jazz this year. Laufey is the winner with original interpretations of classics.

Laufey @laufey, Nnenna Freelon @officialnnenna

Best Country – Brandi Carlile is a favorite in this category and will take home more GRAMMYs. Allison Russell wins for being new and original.

Brandi Carlile @brandicarlile, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, Yola @iamyolaofficial, CMAT @cmatbaby, Jackson & Sellers @jacksonsellersmusic, Ingrid Andress @ingridandress

Best Heavy Metal – Infected Rain is a former winner in this category. Jinjer, Halestorm & The Pretty Reckless dominate. The Velveteers are this year’s winner.

Hawxx @hawxxmusic, Edge of Paradise @edgeofparadise, Jinjer @jinjer_official, The Velveteers @thevelveteers, Infected Rain @infectedrain_official, The Pretty Reckless @theprettyreckless, Halestorm @halestormrocks

Best R & B –  This category includes powerhouses like Arlo Parks and Dawn Richard. Alewya is our winner for new and original music this year.

Muni Long @munilong, India Shawn @indiashawn, Dawn Richard @dawnrichard, Alewya @alewya11, Arlo Parks @arloparks, Tkay Maidza @tkaymaidza, Danielia Cotton @danieliacotton, Saleka @saleka

Best Surprise – A “surprise” for us is that unexpected performance when it was not expected. It includes some risky performances such as LVXURI and Big Klit. S.G. Goodman is our hands down winner. We caught her as an opener and she garnered as much reaction as the headliner. She is a blunt, and emotive songwriter.

S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Kiesza @kiesza, LVXURI @mx_lvxuri, Big Klit  @klitoriusmaximus

Best Comeback – This has been a surprisingly competitive category. Whether it’s the return of ABBA after a long time to Adele’s new album. The big surprise this month is Taylor Swift taking the world with the longest song. She is our winner.

Kylie Minogue @kylieminogue, Avril Lavigne @avrillavigne, Deborah Gibson @debbiegibson, Liz Phair @LizPhairOfficial, Taylor Swift @taylorswift , ABBA @ABBA, Adele @adele, Lorde @lorde

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

November 18th, 2021

Posted in Videos Tagged with: ,

June 16th, 2021

All Things Go Music Festival

October 16, 2021

Merriweather Post Pavilion

Columbia, Maryland

https://allthingsgofestival.com/

The 2021 All Things Go Music Festival returns on Saturday October 16th and makes a major move to the 20,000 capacity Merriweather Post Pavilion venue. The festival continues their female-forward billing with this year’s headliner and Grammy Album Of The Year nominee, HAIM – in addition to St. Vincent , Charli XCX and LAUV at the top of the bill.

Those artists will be joined by a slew of up-and-coming artists — Girl In Red, Cautious Clay, Beach Bunny, Soccer Mommy, Gus Dapperton, Tkay Maidza, Jelani Aryeh, Role Model, Tai Verdes, Blue DeTiger, Isaac Dunbar and Del Water Gap — all taking over two stages at the iconic Merriweather Post Pavilion, making it one of the largest independent festival on the east coast.

The festival is known for their female-focused billing and equal representation in the music industry in general, for instance the Saturday of All Things Go 2018 spotlighted an all-female lineup specially curated in collaboration with Maggie Rogers and LPX (Lizzy Plapinger), both All Things Go friends, and Plapinger, a previous partner on the All Things Gold club nights in Washington DC.

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

May 27th, 2021

Marie Ulven aka Girl in Red released her debut album if I could make it go quiet. Now she releases the latest single video “Body and Mind.”

“I was working with the director Thea Hvistendahl and she’s absolutely crazy and really funny. Making this video and giving ‘Body And Mind’ a new dimension with these visuals is really dope. It feels like it’s been awhile since I’ve seen some witch shit so it was about time!”

https://worldinred.com/

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , ,

April 28th, 2021

There is less than a week until the highly anticipated debut album from singer-songwriter-producer Marie Ulven aka girl in red is out into the world. if i could make it go quiet is out this Friday via her label World In Red / AWAL. Today she released the video for the hit single “Serotonin” which features her running around the streets of Oslo; girl in red co-directed the video with close friend and collaborator Isak Jenssen.

In more exciting news, girl in red will be making her late night TV debut on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon on Monday 5/3 performing “Serotonin.”

”Serotonin” is co-produced by GRAMMY®-winning producer FINNEAS, the track’s characteristically raw, honest and questioning lyrics delve into Ulven’s psyche, set to the most irrepressibly crisp, beat-driven earworm that girl in red has penned to date.

https://worldinred.com/

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , ,

March 3rd, 2021

Girl In Red, Marie Ulven announces her debut album if I could make it go quiet out April 30 on AWAL. The album was written by Girl In Red, and co-produced by Matias Tellez. The album single “Serotonin” was co-produced by FINNEAS.

Of the album, Marie states: “if i could make it go quiet is an attempt to learn what it’s like to be human; to deal with the scariest parts of myself; to live with the pain of knowing i’m only flesh and bones; to be angry, broken and unforgiving yet still able to wear my heart on my sleeve; i’m shedding light on the darkest parts of my mind and i’m letting everyone in; if i could make it go quiet is me simply trying to understand what the fuck is going on.

if i could make it go quiet Track Listing:

Serotonin

Did You Come?

Body And Mind

hornylovesickmess

midnight love

You Stupid Bitch

Rue

Apartment 402

I’ll Call You Mine

it would feel like this

https://worldinred.com/

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , ,

November 23rd, 2020

Posted in Videos Tagged with: ,

August 26th, 2020

Norwegian Marie Ulven has taken the world by storm ever since “I wane be your girlfriend” exploded in 2016. Today she releases a new song “rue”.

“rue” began in an unlikely place — a Guitar Center in Times Square where she was trying out acoustic guitars and happened upon its chord progression. Taking further shape at the back of her tour bus, it’s inspired by the parallels she recognized between herself and the character of Rue in HBO’s Euphoria. “She is a drug addict, which I’m not,” says Marie. “But a lot of the stuff she’s felt and is trying to escape from is shit I’m dealing with all the time.” Returning to Norway, she began to construct a far bigger arrangement. The song sees Marie battle with mental health struggles. “That’s some heavy ass work,” says Marie. “It’s not physical work but it feels like it because it’s so hard.” https://worldinred.com/

Posted in Special Features, Videos Tagged with: ,