April 29th, 2022

Camp Cope

Melbourne trio Camp Cope announced a headlining North American tour today in support of their celebrated new album Running with the Hurricane, out now on Run For Cover Records.

Founded in Melbourne over stick-and-poke tattoos, Camp Cope – Georgia Maq (songwriter, vocals, piano, acoustic & electric guitar), Kelly-Dawn Hellmrich (lead bass guitar) and Sarah Thompson (drums & percussion) – have been a force since the release of their debut album Camp Cope (2016).

Camp Cope’s new third LP Running with the Hurricane breathes growth for the trio, both personally and professionally, and sees the band older, wiser, and more at peace with the world. Running with the Hurricane reflects on faltered romances, secret crushes and vibrating with the confidence that makes you feel like you’re on fire. It’s about taking comfort in knowing who you are, feeling yourself and returning, always, to the city of Melbourne.

TOUR DATES

Friday, July 8 – Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club

Saturday, July 9 – Syracuse, NY @ Lost Horizon

Sunday, July 10 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall* SOLD OUT

Monday, July 11 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern

Wednesday, July 13 – Montreal, QC @ Corona Theatre* SOLD OUT

Friday, July 15 – Chicago, IL @ PItchfork Music Festival

Sunday, July 17 – Lexington, KY @ The Burl*

Tuesday, July 19 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat

Wednesday, July 20 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall

Friday, July 22 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer

Saturday, July 23 – Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups

Sunday, July 24 – Milwaukee, WI @ X-Ray Arcade

Monday, July 25 – Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line

Friday, July 29 – Vancouver, BC @ Rickshaw Theatre

Saturday, July 30 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile

Sunday, July 31 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom

Tuesday, August 2 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall

Wednesday, August 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ Regent Theater

#camp_cope

 

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , ,

December 14th, 2021

Empowering, self reflective and a little bit on the nose, ‘Joe Rogan’ is a cheeky examination of taste and boundaries in the dating world. An anthemic piece of self-produced pop the track is both a self-diss track and a celebration of asserting autonomy and upholding standards even when dating your everyday Joe Rogan fans. A live-stream fan favouririddy ate ‘Joe Rogan’ was recorded and produced by Georgia while stuck in quarantine, it’s vocal layers are helped along by her friends who pepper the track with their own thoughts on her dating life as spoken word samples transposed atop the track’s bustling synths. Watch the video by Tori Styles.

Georgia reveals “I made this song alone in my house. It’s a burn on myself because of my historically bad taste. It’s a song about leaving a bad date because you realised you don’t have to sit around while some guy defends joe rogan and smokes a gatorade bong, it’s about a very… unique experience that isn’t actually that unique – I think it’s relatable.”

#goldsoundz_

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , ,

December 1st, 2021

best-of-2021

Best of 2021 – Last year we missed doing our annual “Best Of.” This year we present it after a year of quarantine albums galore. Tours didn’t start until May but new music was flowing from the start of 2021. 2022 is already aiming to be a busy year. Here are our choices for the Best of 2021.

We’ve evolved from Phoebe Bridgers, Megan Thee Stallion and others of last year to a new crop of artists.

Best Label – Fire Talk Records – Home to Bnny, Mamalarky, Packs and more this boutique label is setting up to be the next Saddle Creek Records.  

Secretly Group @secretlygroup, Saddle Creek Records @saddlecreek, Fire Talk Records @firetalkrecs, Don Giovanni Records @DonGiovanniRecs

Nest New Artist –  “New” is always relative. Georgia Maq has been part of Camp Cope, and Isabella Manfredi was part of The Preatures. Our winner is Ashe who album Ashlyn was hard to put down this year.

Georgia Maq @goldsoundz_, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Ashe @ashemusic, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Hawxx @hawxxmusic,  Noa Kirel @noakirel, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Killboy @killboy , Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd , Ydegirl @ydegirl, The Linda Lindas @the_linda_lindas, Allison Ponthier @allisonponthier, Isabella Manfredi @isabellamanfredi, Pom Pom Squad  @pompomsquad

Best Local (Colorado) Artist – Local artists can often be touring or even national acts. This category was very competitive with the amount of quarantine albums that came out. Our winner is Companion who mesmerized us in the Spring. They will quickly become a national act.

Companion @companiontheband , Wellington Bullings @wellingtonbullings, Jenny Shawhan @jennyshawhan, The Velveteers @thevelveteers , Grand Alliance @LeGrandAlliance, Bunny Blake @bunnyblakemusic, Ellsworth @ellsworththefolksinger, Stop Motion, Lvdy @lvdy, Lolita  @lolitaworldwide

Best Dance – Dance is also electronic and electro pop. Magdalena Bay & Sofi Tukker are the 800 lb gorillas in this category. Kito is our winner for surprising collaborations.

Magdalena Bay @magdalenabay, Sofi Tukker @sofitukker, Kito @kito

Best Pop – Pop like Indie is often open to interpretation. It is often what dominates at venues. Our winner is Charlotte Cardin whose Phoenix album was one of the best albums this year.

Hana Vu @hanavuuu, Lucy Dacus @lucydacus, Japanese Breakfast @jbrekkie, Baby Queen @queenofthebabies, Charlotte Cardin @charlottecardin, Jess Chalker @jess_chalker_, May-A @mayacumming, Ashe @ashemusic, Girl In Red @girlinred, Angèle @angele_vl, Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd, Nadia Vaeh @nadiavaeh, Olivia Rox @oliviarox, Number One Popstar @numberonepopstar, Bahari @bahari, Noga Erez @nogaerez, Lola Lennox @lolalennex

Best Rock – Rock is often the guitar driven beat that keeps you going. Kill Birds, who have been touring with Foo Fighters are our winner.

Royal and the Serpent @royalandtheserpent,  Amyl and the Sniffers @amylandthesniffers, Mattiel @mattielworldwide , Upsahl @upsahlmusicl, Self Esteem @selfesteemselfesteem, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Nadia Sheikh @nadiasheikhmusic, Red Hook @weareredhook, Pom Pom Squad @pompomsquad

Best Indie –  Indie always means both a sound but also a level of development. These are the artists at the small venues touring to survive. We have a diverse selection this year. Bnny is our winner.

Torres @torreslovesyou, The Beths @lizstokedstokes, Bnny @bnnyband, Madi Diaz @madidiaz, Marissa Nadler @marrisa_nadler, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Siiickbrain @siiickbrain, Sub*t @subtrules, Killboy @killboy, Cumgirl8 @cumgirl8, L’Freaq @lfreaq, Madelline @i.am.madelline, Anna Smyrk @annasmyrk

Best Experimental – There is always a “flinch” moment when you saw experimental. It involves a great deal of risk as personified by our winner Fifi Rong who is working on her dual album set with one album all in English, and one all in Chinese. She is crowdfunding now.

Insect Ark @insectark, Fifi Rong @fifirong, Sasami @sasamiashworth, Irreversible Entanglements @irreversibleentanglements, Haru Nemuri @haru_nemuri

Best Hip Hop – This is the first year that FEMMUSIC has this category. There may be some arguments as to whether all these artists fit it. Coi Leray is the best newcomer in this area. Ray BLK is our winner.

Bia @bia, Tones and I @tonesandi, Doja Cat @dojacat, Sza @sza, Cardi B @iamcardib, Megan Thee Stallion @theestallion, Coi Leray @coileray, Ms Banks @msbanks, Ray BLK @rayblk, Remi Wolf @remiwolf, Tinashe @tinashenow

Best Jazz – We will admit to not hearing as much jazz this year. Laufey is the winner with original interpretations of classics.

Laufey @laufey, Nnenna Freelon @officialnnenna

Best Country – Brandi Carlile is a favorite in this category and will take home more GRAMMYs. Allison Russell wins for being new and original.

Brandi Carlile @brandicarlile, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, Yola @iamyolaofficial, CMAT @cmatbaby, Jackson & Sellers @jacksonsellersmusic, Ingrid Andress @ingridandress

Best Heavy Metal – Infected Rain is a former winner in this category. Jinjer, Halestorm & The Pretty Reckless dominate. The Velveteers are this year’s winner.

Hawxx @hawxxmusic, Edge of Paradise @edgeofparadise, Jinjer @jinjer_official, The Velveteers @thevelveteers, Infected Rain @infectedrain_official, The Pretty Reckless @theprettyreckless, Halestorm @halestormrocks

Best R & B –  This category includes powerhouses like Arlo Parks and Dawn Richard. Alewya is our winner for new and original music this year.

Muni Long @munilong, India Shawn @indiashawn, Dawn Richard @dawnrichard, Alewya @alewya11, Arlo Parks @arloparks, Tkay Maidza @tkaymaidza, Danielia Cotton @danieliacotton, Saleka @saleka

Best Surprise – A “surprise” for us is that unexpected performance when it was not expected. It includes some risky performances such as LVXURI and Big Klit. S.G. Goodman is our hands down winner. We caught her as an opener and she garnered as much reaction as the headliner. She is a blunt, and emotive songwriter.

S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Kiesza @kiesza, LVXURI @mx_lvxuri, Big Klit  @klitoriusmaximus

Best Comeback – This has been a surprisingly competitive category. Whether it’s the return of ABBA after a long time to Adele’s new album. The big surprise this month is Taylor Swift taking the world with the longest song. She is our winner.

Kylie Minogue @kylieminogue, Avril Lavigne @avrillavigne, Deborah Gibson @debbiegibson, Liz Phair @LizPhairOfficial, Taylor Swift @taylorswift , ABBA @ABBA, Adele @adele, Lorde @lorde

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

November 25th, 2021

10 Artists to See at Melbourne Music Week

December 3-12, 2021

Melbourne VIC, Australia

https://mmw.melbourne.vic.gov.au/

Paving the way for the much-anticipated return of live music, MMW will see over 300 acts return to the stage for headline gigs, day parties, industry talks, DJ sets, live film scores, and much much more. From the Label showcases to the Live Music Safaris MMW is setting the stage. The Carlton International Jazz Festival will take place on December 4-5, and The Music Victoria Awards will take place on December 8.

There are many familiar names here from Banofee, Alice Skye, Elle Shimada, Zig Zag and more. Here are a few of our favorite picks for the festival.

Espresso Depresso

Espresso Depresso – Aptly named for their crippling coffee addiction and heavy heart, Espresso Depresso emerges from small-town Yackandandah into the Aussie music scene with the new track “Self Control.” Part of the Push Records Presents.

@espressodepresso

Georgia Maq

Georgia Maq – Since her signing we’ve been waiting for more music and live performances from Georgia Maq @goldsoundz

It Thing

It Thing – Formed in Hobart’s beloved Brisbane Hotel beer garden in early 2019 over a thirst for classic punk rock and not much else to do.  @itthingband

Jazz

Jazz – Jazz is a host at PBS 106.7FM. She is also an emerging artist in the electronic scene. @rasminejose

Karadajala Kirridarra

Kardajala Kirridarra – Kardajala Kirridarra translates to ‘Sandhill Women.’ Kardajala is the name of the mysterious bush woman from the sandhills behind the community of Malinja, NT. @kardajala_kirridarra

Lupa J

Lupa J – Lupa J is a multi-discliplinary artist. She is a producer, songwriter, video editor, and more. Her style is an industrial mix of dance and goth. @lupa.j

M8riarchy

M8riarchy – m8riarchy is a singer, songwriter, producer, and sound engineer based in Melbourne. @m8riarchy

Pinch Points

PINCH POINTS – Melbourne four-piece Pinch Points have signed with Mistletone Records (Australia/New Zealand) and Exploding in Sound (USA) for their new album Process, to be released on March 18, 2022. @pinchpointsband

Sophiya

Sophiya – Sophiya has already been booked for Yours and Owls 2022. She’s part of the Writing on the Wall at MMW. @sophiyamusic

Tiana Khasi

Tiana Khasi – Future-Soul artist Tiana Khasi came to scene with her debut EP Maghalaya in 2019. @tianakhasi

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

August 31st, 2021

Artists for Afghanistan

Isol-Aid: Artists For Afghanistan

Thursday September 2, 2021

3pm-11pm AEST

https://www.isolaidfestival.com/

Australian musicians are banding together and taking to Instagram to play tunes and raise funds. This Thursday, a line-up of the country’s best artists are set to stream live from their homes for 8 hours to raise money to aid the people of Afghanistan.

The folks behind Isol-Aid have teamed up with

Isol-Aid: Artists For Afghanistan

Thursday September 2, 2021

3pm-11pm AEST

https://www.isolaidfestival.com/

Australian musicians are banding together and taking to Instagram to play tunes and raise funds. This Thursday, a line-up of the country’s best artists are set to stream live from their homes for 8 hours to raise money to aid the people of Afghanistan.

The folks behind Isol-Aid have teamed up with Didirri, Greg Carey and Michael Ridgeway (Grow Yourself Up) to schedule a mega lineup of artists all playing direct to your screens. Running from 3pm to 11pm on Thursday 2nd of September artists will play live from their Instagram accounts, with all donations directed to Mahboba’s Promise Afghan Relief Fund.

Mahboba’s Promise has been helping the most vulnerable in Afghanistan for over 25 years and it’s staff and volunteers, made up of local Afghani people, have an established on ground presence. Donations will ensure the organisation can provide emergency shelter, food, water, medical and hygiene essentials as well as help their efforts to relocate people from Kabul to safer regions. Our support will help them to scale up their operations as the situation worsens.

This Thursday is also a reminder of how important live music is and its capacity to bring people together, even when a whole swathe of the country is being kept apart. While much of the music industry has been at a standstill, these musicians are sharing their talents and performing, all for a greater cause.

Starting at 2:50pm with an introduction from Shabnam Safa, a member of the Afghan Australian Advocacy Network, 24 artists will be playing 8 hours of tunes live to their Instagram accounts.

https://mahbobaspromise.org/

https://www.actionforafghanistan.com.au/

 

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,