December 1st, 2021

best-of-2021

Best of 2021 – Last year we missed doing our annual “Best Of.” This year we present it after a year of quarantine albums galore. Tours didn’t start until May but new music was flowing from the start of 2021. 2022 is already aiming to be a busy year. Here are our choices for the Best of 2021.

We’ve evolved from Phoebe Bridgers, Megan Thee Stallion and others of last year to a new crop of artists.

Best Label – Fire Talk Records – Home to Bnny, Mamalarky, Packs and more this boutique label is setting up to be the next Saddle Creek Records.  

Secretly Group @secretlygroup, Saddle Creek Records @saddlecreek, Fire Talk Records @firetalkrecs, Don Giovanni Records @DonGiovanniRecs

Nest New Artist –  “New” is always relative. Georgia Maq has been part of Camp Cope, and Isabella Manfredi was part of The Preatures. Our winner is Ashe who album Ashlyn was hard to put down this year.

Georgia Maq @goldsoundz_, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Ashe @ashemusic, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Hawxx @hawxxmusic,  Noa Kirel @noakirel, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Killboy @killboy , Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd , Ydegirl @ydegirl, The Linda Lindas @the_linda_lindas, Allison Ponthier @allisonponthier, Isabella Manfredi @isabellamanfredi, Pom Pom Squad  @pompomsquad

Best Local (Colorado) Artist – Local artists can often be touring or even national acts. This category was very competitive with the amount of quarantine albums that came out. Our winner is Companion who mesmerized us in the Spring. They will quickly become a national act.

Companion @companiontheband , Wellington Bullings @wellingtonbullings, Jenny Shawhan @jennyshawhan, The Velveteers @thevelveteers , Grand Alliance @LeGrandAlliance, Bunny Blake @bunnyblakemusic, Ellsworth @ellsworththefolksinger, Stop Motion, Lvdy @lvdy, Lolita  @lolitaworldwide

Best Dance – Dance is also electronic and electro pop. Magdalena Bay & Sofi Tukker are the 800 lb gorillas in this category. Kito is our winner for surprising collaborations.

Magdalena Bay @magdalenabay, Sofi Tukker @sofitukker, Kito @kito

Best Pop – Pop like Indie is often open to interpretation. It is often what dominates at venues. Our winner is Charlotte Cardin whose Phoenix album was one of the best albums this year.

Hana Vu @hanavuuu, Lucy Dacus @lucydacus, Japanese Breakfast @jbrekkie, Baby Queen @queenofthebabies, Charlotte Cardin @charlottecardin, Jess Chalker @jess_chalker_, May-A @mayacumming, Ashe @ashemusic, Girl In Red @girlinred, Angèle @angele_vl, Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd, Nadia Vaeh @nadiavaeh, Olivia Rox @oliviarox, Number One Popstar @numberonepopstar, Bahari @bahari, Noga Erez @nogaerez, Lola Lennox @lolalennex

Best Rock – Rock is often the guitar driven beat that keeps you going. Kill Birds, who have been touring with Foo Fighters are our winner.

Royal and the Serpent @royalandtheserpent,  Amyl and the Sniffers @amylandthesniffers, Mattiel @mattielworldwide , Upsahl @upsahlmusicl, Self Esteem @selfesteemselfesteem, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Nadia Sheikh @nadiasheikhmusic, Red Hook @weareredhook, Pom Pom Squad @pompomsquad

Best Indie –  Indie always means both a sound but also a level of development. These are the artists at the small venues touring to survive. We have a diverse selection this year. Bnny is our winner.

Torres @torreslovesyou, The Beths @lizstokedstokes, Bnny @bnnyband, Madi Diaz @madidiaz, Marissa Nadler @marrisa_nadler, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Siiickbrain @siiickbrain, Sub*t @subtrules, Killboy @killboy, Cumgirl8 @cumgirl8, L’Freaq @lfreaq, Madelline @i.am.madelline, Anna Smyrk @annasmyrk

Best Experimental – There is always a “flinch” moment when you saw experimental. It involves a great deal of risk as personified by our winner Fifi Rong who is working on her dual album set with one album all in English, and one all in Chinese. She is crowdfunding now.

Insect Ark @insectark, Fifi Rong @fifirong, Sasami @sasamiashworth, Irreversible Entanglements @irreversibleentanglements, Haru Nemuri @haru_nemuri

Best Hip Hop – This is the first year that FEMMUSIC has this category. There may be some arguments as to whether all these artists fit it. Coi Leray is the best newcomer in this area. Ray BLK is our winner.

Bia @bia, Tones and I @tonesandi, Doja Cat @dojacat, Sza @sza, Cardi B @iamcardib, Megan Thee Stallion @theestallion, Coi Leray @coileray, Ms Banks @msbanks, Ray BLK @rayblk, Remi Wolf @remiwolf, Tinashe @tinashenow

Best Jazz – We will admit to not hearing as much jazz this year. Laufey is the winner with original interpretations of classics.

Laufey @laufey, Nnenna Freelon @officialnnenna

Best Country – Brandi Carlile is a favorite in this category and will take home more GRAMMYs. Allison Russell wins for being new and original.

Brandi Carlile @brandicarlile, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, Yola @iamyolaofficial, CMAT @cmatbaby, Jackson & Sellers @jacksonsellersmusic, Ingrid Andress @ingridandress

Best Heavy Metal – Infected Rain is a former winner in this category. Jinjer, Halestorm & The Pretty Reckless dominate. The Velveteers are this year’s winner.

Hawxx @hawxxmusic, Edge of Paradise @edgeofparadise, Jinjer @jinjer_official, The Velveteers @thevelveteers, Infected Rain @infectedrain_official, The Pretty Reckless @theprettyreckless, Halestorm @halestormrocks

Best R & B –  This category includes powerhouses like Arlo Parks and Dawn Richard. Alewya is our winner for new and original music this year.

Muni Long @munilong, India Shawn @indiashawn, Dawn Richard @dawnrichard, Alewya @alewya11, Arlo Parks @arloparks, Tkay Maidza @tkaymaidza, Danielia Cotton @danieliacotton, Saleka @saleka

Best Surprise – A “surprise” for us is that unexpected performance when it was not expected. It includes some risky performances such as LVXURI and Big Klit. S.G. Goodman is our hands down winner. We caught her as an opener and she garnered as much reaction as the headliner. She is a blunt, and emotive songwriter.

S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Kiesza @kiesza, LVXURI @mx_lvxuri, Big Klit  @klitoriusmaximus

Best Comeback – This has been a surprisingly competitive category. Whether it’s the return of ABBA after a long time to Adele’s new album. The big surprise this month is Taylor Swift taking the world with the longest song. She is our winner.

Kylie Minogue @kylieminogue, Avril Lavigne @avrillavigne, Deborah Gibson @debbiegibson, Liz Phair @LizPhairOfficial, Taylor Swift @taylorswift , ABBA @ABBA, Adele @adele, Lorde @lorde

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

October 26th, 2021

Irreversible Entanglements

Today, the agit-jazz collective Irreversible Entanglements (featuring poet / activist / musician Camae Ayewa aka Moor Mother) have released a new single titled “Keys To Creation.”

The song is the latest from the band’s forthcoming album Open The Gates, which will be released on November 12, 2021 via Don Giovanni Records and International Anthem. @irreversibleentanglements

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , ,

October 25th, 2021

Super-group duo Bat Fangs have just released the third single “Talk Tough” from their forthcoming album Queen Of My World. An accompanying music video for the song is also out now, which was directed by Mark Shue of Guided By Voices.

Queen Of My World will be released this Friday October 29, 2021 on Don Giovanni Records.

Betsy Wright (of Ex Hex) on guitar and vocals, and drummer Laura King (of Mac McCaughn and Speed Stick) bridge the gap between their respective Washington DC and Carrboro NC scenes, in their unified love of good-time shredding hard rock. @batfangs

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,

October 14th, 2021

Don Giovanni Records have announced the release of the new solo album from Screaming Females guitarist and vocalist Marissa Paternoster. The album is titled Peace Meter and it will be released on December 3rd 2021.

After a handful of releases under the moniker Noun, Peace Meter is the first ever recording to be released under Paternoster’s name, a deliberate choice making it stand on its own as a unique statement from the prolific guitarist.

Marissa Paternoster has released lead track “White Dove.”

@marissapaternoster

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , ,

July 13th, 2021

Minneapolis’ beloved indie rock trio Bad Bad Hats has signed with Don Giovanni Records for their brand new album, Walkman, due out September 17. While breathing exuberant joy and her singular sense of humor into every syllable, songwriter Kerry Alexander (guitar/vocals) brings personal storytelling and wit into the multi-layered lyrics, while wailing on bouncing guitar lines and infectious melodies with bandmates Chris Hoge (bass) and Con Davison (drums). 

Defined by a balance of sweet and sour, the trio’s music honors classic pop songwriting, with nods to nineties rock simplicity and pop-punk frivolity. Lead single “Detroit Basketball” is delivered alongside a video that charmingly depicts the band’s delightfully absurdist perspective, delivered with the utmost sincerity, as they make their valiant return to the spotlight. Piston’s fans will recognize this song’s title as the call-and-response chant that fills the Little Caesars Arena on game night, but the simple phrase stuck in Kerry’s head, who drew on it for inspiration for this searing power-pop track.

Bad Bad Hats Tour Dates

On sale now

July 30: Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St Entry

July 31: Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St Entry (early show)

July 31: Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St Entry (late show)

On sale Friday, July 16

August 12: Spring Green, WI @ Shitty Barn

September 22: Omaha, NE @ Reverb Lounge

September 23: Kansas City, MO @ Record Bar

September 24: Saint Louis, MO @ Off Broadway

September 25: Des Moines, IA @ xBk

October 7: St. Cloud, MN @ Pioneer Place

October 8: Fargo, ND @ Fargo Brewing Company

October 9: Sioux Falls, SD @ Icon Lounge

October 15: Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop

October 19: Newport, KY @ Southgate House Revival

October 20: Columbus, OH @ Natalie’s

October 21: Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Cafe

October 22: Vienna, VA @ Jammin Java

October 23: Richmond, VA @ Richmond Music Hall

October 24: Philadelphia, PA @ Silk City

October 26: Asbury Park, NJ @ The Saint

October 27: Hamden, CT @ Space Ballroom

October 28: New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge

October 29: Concord, NH @ Bank of New Hampshire Stage

October 30: Keene, NH @ Colonial Theatre

October 31: Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall

November 2: Northampton, MA @ Iron Horse

November 3: Albany, NY @ The Linda

November 4: Buffalo, NY @ The 9th Ward at Babeville

November 5: Cleveland, OH @ Mahall’s

November 6: Ferndale, MI @ Otus Supply

November 7: Grand Rapids, MI @ Pyramid Scheme

November 18: Wausau, WI @ Grand Theater

November 19: Milwaukee, WI @ Cactus Club

November 20: Chicago, IL @ Schubas

December 2: Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon

December 3: Duluth, MN @ Sacred Heart Music Center

December 4: Green Bay, WI @ Badger State Brewing

https://www.badbadhats.com/

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , ,

January 26th, 2021

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , ,