December 1st, 2021

best-of-2021

Best of 2021 – Last year we missed doing our annual “Best Of.” This year we present it after a year of quarantine albums galore. Tours didn’t start until May but new music was flowing from the start of 2021. 2022 is already aiming to be a busy year. Here are our choices for the Best of 2021.

We’ve evolved from Phoebe Bridgers, Megan Thee Stallion and others of last year to a new crop of artists.

Best Label – Fire Talk Records – Home to Bnny, Mamalarky, Packs and more this boutique label is setting up to be the next Saddle Creek Records.  

Secretly Group @secretlygroup, Saddle Creek Records @saddlecreek, Fire Talk Records @firetalkrecs, Don Giovanni Records @DonGiovanniRecs

Nest New Artist –  “New” is always relative. Georgia Maq has been part of Camp Cope, and Isabella Manfredi was part of The Preatures. Our winner is Ashe who album Ashlyn was hard to put down this year.

Georgia Maq @goldsoundz_, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Ashe @ashemusic, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Hawxx @hawxxmusic,  Noa Kirel @noakirel, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Killboy @killboy , Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd , Ydegirl @ydegirl, The Linda Lindas @the_linda_lindas, Allison Ponthier @allisonponthier, Isabella Manfredi @isabellamanfredi, Pom Pom Squad  @pompomsquad

Best Local (Colorado) Artist – Local artists can often be touring or even national acts. This category was very competitive with the amount of quarantine albums that came out. Our winner is Companion who mesmerized us in the Spring. They will quickly become a national act.

Companion @companiontheband , Wellington Bullings @wellingtonbullings, Jenny Shawhan @jennyshawhan, The Velveteers @thevelveteers , Grand Alliance @LeGrandAlliance, Bunny Blake @bunnyblakemusic, Ellsworth @ellsworththefolksinger, Stop Motion, Lvdy @lvdy, Lolita  @lolitaworldwide

Best Dance – Dance is also electronic and electro pop. Magdalena Bay & Sofi Tukker are the 800 lb gorillas in this category. Kito is our winner for surprising collaborations.

Magdalena Bay @magdalenabay, Sofi Tukker @sofitukker, Kito @kito

Best Pop – Pop like Indie is often open to interpretation. It is often what dominates at venues. Our winner is Charlotte Cardin whose Phoenix album was one of the best albums this year.

Hana Vu @hanavuuu, Lucy Dacus @lucydacus, Japanese Breakfast @jbrekkie, Baby Queen @queenofthebabies, Charlotte Cardin @charlottecardin, Jess Chalker @jess_chalker_, May-A @mayacumming, Ashe @ashemusic, Girl In Red @girlinred, Angèle @angele_vl, Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd, Nadia Vaeh @nadiavaeh, Olivia Rox @oliviarox, Number One Popstar @numberonepopstar, Bahari @bahari, Noga Erez @nogaerez, Lola Lennox @lolalennex

Best Rock – Rock is often the guitar driven beat that keeps you going. Kill Birds, who have been touring with Foo Fighters are our winner.

Royal and the Serpent @royalandtheserpent,  Amyl and the Sniffers @amylandthesniffers, Mattiel @mattielworldwide , Upsahl @upsahlmusicl, Self Esteem @selfesteemselfesteem, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Nadia Sheikh @nadiasheikhmusic, Red Hook @weareredhook, Pom Pom Squad @pompomsquad

Best Indie –  Indie always means both a sound but also a level of development. These are the artists at the small venues touring to survive. We have a diverse selection this year. Bnny is our winner.

Torres @torreslovesyou, The Beths @lizstokedstokes, Bnny @bnnyband, Madi Diaz @madidiaz, Marissa Nadler @marrisa_nadler, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Siiickbrain @siiickbrain, Sub*t @subtrules, Killboy @killboy, Cumgirl8 @cumgirl8, L’Freaq @lfreaq, Madelline @i.am.madelline, Anna Smyrk @annasmyrk

Best Experimental – There is always a “flinch” moment when you saw experimental. It involves a great deal of risk as personified by our winner Fifi Rong who is working on her dual album set with one album all in English, and one all in Chinese. She is crowdfunding now.

Insect Ark @insectark, Fifi Rong @fifirong, Sasami @sasamiashworth, Irreversible Entanglements @irreversibleentanglements, Haru Nemuri @haru_nemuri

Best Hip Hop – This is the first year that FEMMUSIC has this category. There may be some arguments as to whether all these artists fit it. Coi Leray is the best newcomer in this area. Ray BLK is our winner.

Bia @bia, Tones and I @tonesandi, Doja Cat @dojacat, Sza @sza, Cardi B @iamcardib, Megan Thee Stallion @theestallion, Coi Leray @coileray, Ms Banks @msbanks, Ray BLK @rayblk, Remi Wolf @remiwolf, Tinashe @tinashenow

Best Jazz – We will admit to not hearing as much jazz this year. Laufey is the winner with original interpretations of classics.

Laufey @laufey, Nnenna Freelon @officialnnenna

Best Country – Brandi Carlile is a favorite in this category and will take home more GRAMMYs. Allison Russell wins for being new and original.

Brandi Carlile @brandicarlile, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, Yola @iamyolaofficial, CMAT @cmatbaby, Jackson & Sellers @jacksonsellersmusic, Ingrid Andress @ingridandress

Best Heavy Metal – Infected Rain is a former winner in this category. Jinjer, Halestorm & The Pretty Reckless dominate. The Velveteers are this year’s winner.

Hawxx @hawxxmusic, Edge of Paradise @edgeofparadise, Jinjer @jinjer_official, The Velveteers @thevelveteers, Infected Rain @infectedrain_official, The Pretty Reckless @theprettyreckless, Halestorm @halestormrocks

Best R & B –  This category includes powerhouses like Arlo Parks and Dawn Richard. Alewya is our winner for new and original music this year.

Muni Long @munilong, India Shawn @indiashawn, Dawn Richard @dawnrichard, Alewya @alewya11, Arlo Parks @arloparks, Tkay Maidza @tkaymaidza, Danielia Cotton @danieliacotton, Saleka @saleka

Best Surprise – A “surprise” for us is that unexpected performance when it was not expected. It includes some risky performances such as LVXURI and Big Klit. S.G. Goodman is our hands down winner. We caught her as an opener and she garnered as much reaction as the headliner. She is a blunt, and emotive songwriter.

S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Kiesza @kiesza, LVXURI @mx_lvxuri, Big Klit  @klitoriusmaximus

Best Comeback – This has been a surprisingly competitive category. Whether it’s the return of ABBA after a long time to Adele’s new album. The big surprise this month is Taylor Swift taking the world with the longest song. She is our winner.

Kylie Minogue @kylieminogue, Avril Lavigne @avrillavigne, Deborah Gibson @debbiegibson, Liz Phair @LizPhairOfficial, Taylor Swift @taylorswift , ABBA @ABBA, Adele @adele, Lorde @lorde

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

October 21st, 2021

Dawn Richard

The never-not-moving Dawn Richard has announced her first shows in NYC, LA, Chicago, London, and Paris since the release of April’s critically lauded Second Line. Tickets for all shows, including the rescheduled Purity Ring tour for summer 2022, are on sale now.

Second Line

Today, Richard unleashes a new remix of Second Line’s “Boomerang” by East Coast–bred, Miami-based producer/songwriter Suzi Analogue.

Suzi Analogue on her remix:

Dawn Richard is a true legend and I’ve always looked up to her fearless, iconic journey as an independent artist, so it was a dream when I was asked to remix “Boomerang”—a track I really connected with from Second Line. Produced in my studio in Miami, I wanted to infuse a super vibed-out global club twist with a blend of electronic polyrhythms to switch up the original house sound of “Boomerang,” and build a new world around her beautiful electro-filled vocal performance so listeners can really go on a worldwide journey with the track. I pictured the track becoming a whole scene being played out of soundsystems into the late night as I made it.

Dawn Richard on tour:

Dec 02 Brooklyn, NY – Elsewhere

Dec 03 San Francisco, CA – Popscene @ Rickshaw Stop

Dec 04 Los Angeles, CA – Lodge Room

Jan 20 Minneapolis, MN – Turf Club

Jan 21 Milwaukee, WI – Cactus Club

Jan 22 Chicago, IL – Sleeping Village (Tomorrow Never Knows)

May 02 London, UK – Colour Factory

May 03 Manchester, UK – TBC

May 04 Leeds, UK – Headrow House

May 09 Paris, FR – Boule Noire

May 10 Antwerp, BE – De Roma

May 12 Berlin, DE – Kantine am Berghain

May 13 Copenhagen, DK – Hotel Cecil

May 14 Stockholm, SE – Nalen

Jun 01 Eugene, OR – McDonald Theater*

Jun 02 Portland, OR – Roseland*

Jun 03 Seattle, WA – Neptune*

Jun 04 Seattle, WA – Neptune*

Jun 05 Vancouver, BC – Hollywood Theatre*

Jun 07 Calgary, AB – Palace Theatre*

Jun 08 Edmonton, AB – Union Hall*

Jun 10 Salt Lake City, UT – Depot*

Jun 11 Denver, CO – Mission Ballroom*

Jun 12 Boulder, CO – Boulder Theater•

Jun 13 Lawrence, KS – Granada*

Jun 14 St. Louis, MO – Red Flag*

Jun 16 Milwaukee, WI – Turner•

Jun 17 Minneapolis, MN – First Avenue*

Jun 18 Chicago, IL – Riviera Theatre*

Jun 19 Columbus, OH – Newport Music Hall*

Jun 20 Toronto, ON – Phoenix Concert Theatre*

Jun 21 Montreal, QC – tbd*

Jun 22 Boston, MA – Big Night Live!*

Jun 24 New Haven, CT – College Street Music Hall*

Jun 25 New York, NY – Webster Hall*

Jun 26 Brooklyn, NY – Brooklyn Steel*

Jun 27 Philadelphia, PA – Union Transfer*

Jun 29 Washington, DC – 9:30 Club*

Jun 30 Washington, DC – 9:30 Club*

Jul 01 Raleigh, NC – The Ritz*

Jul 02 Charlotte, NC – Fillmore*

Jul 03 Asheville, NC – The Orange Peel*

Jul 05 Nashville, TN – Marathon Music Works*

Jul 06 Atlanta, GA – Buckhead Theater*

Jul 08 Orlando, FL – Plaza Live*

Jul 09 Miami, FL – Revolution*

Jul 10 Tampa, FL – The Ritz Ybor*

Jul 12 Birmingham, AL – Iron City*

Jul 13 New Orleans, LA – Joy*

Jul 14 Houston, TX – White Oak Music Hall*

Jul 15 Austin, TX – ACL Live*

Jul 16 Dallas, TX – The Bomb Factory*

Jul 17 Tulsa, OK – Cain’s Ballroom*

Jul 19 Tucson, AZ – Rialto*

Jul 20 Phoenix, AZ – Van Buren*

Jul 21 San Diego, CA – Observatory*

Jul 22 San Diego, CA – Observatory*

Jul 23 Los Angeles, CA – The Wiltern*

Jul 24 Oakland, CA – Fox Theater*

* w/ Purity Ring

@DawnRichard

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , ,

May 10th, 2021

Posted in Videos Tagged with: ,

April 12th, 2017

Posted in Videos Tagged with: ,