May 5th, 2022

Colorado duo Companion are getting ready to release their debut album. Today they released a new track, “If I Were A Ghost.” 

“Jo and I lost our father when we were 13, and in many ways, we lost our mom too. She was never the same after he passed. And though we felt empathy for her grief, it was hard to navigate adolescence while also growing up with a grieving, broken mother,” explains Sophia. “After a particularly hard day where the empathy wasn’t coming easily, I started writing in an attempt to understand what it would be like to lose the love of your life & father of your children all at once. Thus came ‘If I Were a Ghost’ — a song about trying to work through grief, loneliness, and longing.”

#CompanionBand

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , ,

April 24th, 2022

FoCoMX featuring DJ Alf & friends, Elise Wunder, Companion, Megan Burtt, Lolita, Wendy Woo, Heavy Diamond Ring at various venues in Fort Collins, Colorado
April 22, 2022
Photos by David A. Barber

#focomx  #alf.ktcl  #elisewundermusic  #Companionband  #meganburttmusicpage #LolitaWorldwide  #thewendywooband  #HeavyDiamondRing  #MagicRatLiveMusic 

Posted in Live Photos Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,

April 13th, 2022

FoCOMX

FoCOMX – Fort Collins Music Experiment

Ft Collins, CO

April 21-22, 2022

https://focomx.focoma.org/

Fort Collins Musicians Association & Odell Brewing Co Present FoCOMX – The Fort Collins Music Experiment with over 300 Colorado bands on 30 stages. Some acts to pay attention are:

Card Catalog

https://focomx.focoma.org/artists/card-catalog

Companion

https://focomx.focoma.org/artists/companion

Elise Wunder

https://focomx.focoma.org/artists/elise-wunderdas-wunder-band

Heavy Diamond Ring

https://focomx.focoma.org/artists/heavy-diamond-ring

Knuckle Pups

https://focomx.focoma.org/artists/knuckle-pups

Lolita

https://focomx.focoma.org/artists/lolita

Sarah Slaton & The Great Perhaps

https://focomx.focoma.org/artists/sarah-slaton-great-perhaps

Wendy Woo Band

https://focomx.focoma.org/artists/wendy-woo-band-0

 

 

 

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,

March 11th, 2022

Companion announced the release of their single “23rd Street” and the release of their album Second Day of Spring on May 27th, 2022

“23rd Street” was written during a time saturated with change. We were living in downtown Oklahoma City, a couple blocks from the busy street the song is named after.

We were just a few months away from graduating college, Sophia had recently got engaged and was moving to a new state she barely knew a soul in, and we both had no idea what the coming year held for us.

In times of change, we often find ourselves experiencing a feeling we can only describe as “pre-nostalgia” — it’s the feeling, or realization, that things will never be the same as they are now.

Though you may come back to the same places, or reunite with old friends — the feeling you had then won’t ever quite come back the same way.

This song & this album perfectly encapsulate this feeling of impermanence, new growth, and change for us.

#companionband

Carolyn HunterI actually wrote this song before Lovelight, and yet it’s the last to be released. I think that the huge amount of time between writing and producing served it well. By the time we were in the studio with it, I was much less attached to the original structure, and lyrics of the song. I was able to “lose control” as they say, and let Julian Peterson and Micah Tawlks work their magic on the production side.

 

Julian (producer) and I would sit at his studio (Wolf Den Studios) out on a hay farm and just have fun. This was the last of the batch of songs we were recording and so we had a unique final-stretch playfulness. We messed with robotic audio settings, we flipped choruses and verses, we cut everything and laughed about it.

It was a good time, and I think it shows in the track. Then of course you add Micah’s shimmering synth splash hook and we were just happy crying.

#CarolunHunter 

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

December 1st, 2021

best-of-2021

Best of 2021 – Last year we missed doing our annual “Best Of.” This year we present it after a year of quarantine albums galore. Tours didn’t start until May but new music was flowing from the start of 2021. 2022 is already aiming to be a busy year. Here are our choices for the Best of 2021.

We’ve evolved from Phoebe Bridgers, Megan Thee Stallion and others of last year to a new crop of artists.

Best Label – Fire Talk Records – Home to Bnny, Mamalarky, Packs and more this boutique label is setting up to be the next Saddle Creek Records.  

Secretly Group @secretlygroup, Saddle Creek Records @saddlecreek, Fire Talk Records @firetalkrecs, Don Giovanni Records @DonGiovanniRecs

Nest New Artist –  “New” is always relative. Georgia Maq has been part of Camp Cope, and Isabella Manfredi was part of The Preatures. Our winner is Ashe who album Ashlyn was hard to put down this year.

Georgia Maq @goldsoundz_, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Ashe @ashemusic, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Hawxx @hawxxmusic,  Noa Kirel @noakirel, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Killboy @killboy , Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd , Ydegirl @ydegirl, The Linda Lindas @the_linda_lindas, Allison Ponthier @allisonponthier, Isabella Manfredi @isabellamanfredi, Pom Pom Squad  @pompomsquad

Best Local (Colorado) Artist – Local artists can often be touring or even national acts. This category was very competitive with the amount of quarantine albums that came out. Our winner is Companion who mesmerized us in the Spring. They will quickly become a national act.

Companion @companiontheband , Wellington Bullings @wellingtonbullings, Jenny Shawhan @jennyshawhan, The Velveteers @thevelveteers , Grand Alliance @LeGrandAlliance, Bunny Blake @bunnyblakemusic, Ellsworth @ellsworththefolksinger, Stop Motion, Lvdy @lvdy, Lolita  @lolitaworldwide

Best Dance – Dance is also electronic and electro pop. Magdalena Bay & Sofi Tukker are the 800 lb gorillas in this category. Kito is our winner for surprising collaborations.

Magdalena Bay @magdalenabay, Sofi Tukker @sofitukker, Kito @kito

Best Pop – Pop like Indie is often open to interpretation. It is often what dominates at venues. Our winner is Charlotte Cardin whose Phoenix album was one of the best albums this year.

Hana Vu @hanavuuu, Lucy Dacus @lucydacus, Japanese Breakfast @jbrekkie, Baby Queen @queenofthebabies, Charlotte Cardin @charlottecardin, Jess Chalker @jess_chalker_, May-A @mayacumming, Ashe @ashemusic, Girl In Red @girlinred, Angèle @angele_vl, Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd, Nadia Vaeh @nadiavaeh, Olivia Rox @oliviarox, Number One Popstar @numberonepopstar, Bahari @bahari, Noga Erez @nogaerez, Lola Lennox @lolalennex

Best Rock – Rock is often the guitar driven beat that keeps you going. Kill Birds, who have been touring with Foo Fighters are our winner.

Royal and the Serpent @royalandtheserpent,  Amyl and the Sniffers @amylandthesniffers, Mattiel @mattielworldwide , Upsahl @upsahlmusicl, Self Esteem @selfesteemselfesteem, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Nadia Sheikh @nadiasheikhmusic, Red Hook @weareredhook, Pom Pom Squad @pompomsquad

Best Indie –  Indie always means both a sound but also a level of development. These are the artists at the small venues touring to survive. We have a diverse selection this year. Bnny is our winner.

Torres @torreslovesyou, The Beths @lizstokedstokes, Bnny @bnnyband, Madi Diaz @madidiaz, Marissa Nadler @marrisa_nadler, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Siiickbrain @siiickbrain, Sub*t @subtrules, Killboy @killboy, Cumgirl8 @cumgirl8, L’Freaq @lfreaq, Madelline @i.am.madelline, Anna Smyrk @annasmyrk

Best Experimental – There is always a “flinch” moment when you saw experimental. It involves a great deal of risk as personified by our winner Fifi Rong who is working on her dual album set with one album all in English, and one all in Chinese. She is crowdfunding now.

Insect Ark @insectark, Fifi Rong @fifirong, Sasami @sasamiashworth, Irreversible Entanglements @irreversibleentanglements, Haru Nemuri @haru_nemuri

Best Hip Hop – This is the first year that FEMMUSIC has this category. There may be some arguments as to whether all these artists fit it. Coi Leray is the best newcomer in this area. Ray BLK is our winner.

Bia @bia, Tones and I @tonesandi, Doja Cat @dojacat, Sza @sza, Cardi B @iamcardib, Megan Thee Stallion @theestallion, Coi Leray @coileray, Ms Banks @msbanks, Ray BLK @rayblk, Remi Wolf @remiwolf, Tinashe @tinashenow

Best Jazz – We will admit to not hearing as much jazz this year. Laufey is the winner with original interpretations of classics.

Laufey @laufey, Nnenna Freelon @officialnnenna

Best Country – Brandi Carlile is a favorite in this category and will take home more GRAMMYs. Allison Russell wins for being new and original.

Brandi Carlile @brandicarlile, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, Yola @iamyolaofficial, CMAT @cmatbaby, Jackson & Sellers @jacksonsellersmusic, Ingrid Andress @ingridandress

Best Heavy Metal – Infected Rain is a former winner in this category. Jinjer, Halestorm & The Pretty Reckless dominate. The Velveteers are this year’s winner.

Hawxx @hawxxmusic, Edge of Paradise @edgeofparadise, Jinjer @jinjer_official, The Velveteers @thevelveteers, Infected Rain @infectedrain_official, The Pretty Reckless @theprettyreckless, Halestorm @halestormrocks

Best R & B –  This category includes powerhouses like Arlo Parks and Dawn Richard. Alewya is our winner for new and original music this year.

Muni Long @munilong, India Shawn @indiashawn, Dawn Richard @dawnrichard, Alewya @alewya11, Arlo Parks @arloparks, Tkay Maidza @tkaymaidza, Danielia Cotton @danieliacotton, Saleka @saleka

Best Surprise – A “surprise” for us is that unexpected performance when it was not expected. It includes some risky performances such as LVXURI and Big Klit. S.G. Goodman is our hands down winner. We caught her as an opener and she garnered as much reaction as the headliner. She is a blunt, and emotive songwriter.

S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Kiesza @kiesza, LVXURI @mx_lvxuri, Big Klit  @klitoriusmaximus

Best Comeback – This has been a surprisingly competitive category. Whether it’s the return of ABBA after a long time to Adele’s new album. The big surprise this month is Taylor Swift taking the world with the longest song. She is our winner.

Kylie Minogue @kylieminogue, Avril Lavigne @avrillavigne, Deborah Gibson @debbiegibson, Liz Phair @LizPhairOfficial, Taylor Swift @taylorswift , ABBA @ABBA, Adele @adele, Lorde @lorde

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

November 17th, 2021

Companion

Ft Collins band Companion is identical twin sisters Joanna & Sophia Babb. Today they release their first single and video as Companion. The single is “How Could I Have Known.”

The video takes a humorous look at finding the right someone.

A little background:

“I (Sophia) started writing “How Could I Have Known” at the beginning of my first autumn in northern Colorado. I quickly learned that fall is a fleeting, beautifully short time in the mountains – it doesn’t last long. It takes just a few blustery days for all the yellow aspen leaves to give way to bare trees, snowfall, and early sunsets.

That autumn, I was engaged to my now husband. He was dealing with some concerning medical issues, and I developed an over-awareness of how quickly I could never see him again. Having lost family members suddenly & without warning in the past, I became anxiously aware that just as soon as he came into my life, he could leave it, too.

Though this thought, at its core, is a very scary one – when I looked beyond the fear of losing something I held so dearly, I could see the incredible gift it is to have something to hold dear in the first place.

I showed Jo the beginnings of the song, and we finished it together in an afternoon. This song is a way to give thanks to the unknown forces that bring people together, acknowledge that those same forces may take people away, and meditate on the permanence of impermanence.”

Companion will be releasing a full length album and this is the first taste.

@companiontheband

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , ,