September 27th, 2022

Elton & Britney

Today, Elton John and Britney Spears are thrilled to release the video for one of the biggest songs of 2022 and chart-topping smash hit “Hold Me Closer.”

Award-winning director, Tanu Muino, was brought on to bring this to life. Tanu Muino is best known for her impressive repertoire of renowned music videos such as Lil Nas X’s “Montero,” Harry Styles’ “As It Was,” Cardi B’s “Up,” Yungblud’s “Fleabag,” Lizzo’s “Rumors” and more.

Tanu Muino said, “This was an emotional one for me as I grew up with Britney. After seeing “SlaveFor You,” I decided that I wanted to become a video director. Elton John is an icon that I and the world grew up listening to,” On the creative direction, Muino continued, “Going into this video, I knew there would be a lot of emotional expectations the audience and fans would have. With this responsibility, I had to do something different and unexpected. The visuals had to be different. The dance had to be forward-thinking to raise eyebrows and make Elton and Britney proud. To capture this magic, we shot around all my favorite architectural locations in Mexico City and brought on choreographer Jacob Jonas who does the best contemporary choreography today. Getting the best dancers, crew, and access to some of the most private locations in the world was simple as everyone wanted to work with Elton John and be part of his legacy.”

Also announced, three collectible, limited-edition CD single formats of “Hold Me Closer” are available for pre-order today and set for release in November. Each of the three unique discs will feature different artwork; one with the original single sleeve and the remaining two with fan-voted art as the cover. Additionally, each CD will carry a different track list, all with the original “Hold Me Closer” song, with the second track varying between an extended version, a Joel Corry Remix, or a Purple Disco Machine Remix of the single on the remaining two. Link to come later.

#EltonJohn #BritneySpears

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

July 12th, 2022

#cardib #kaynewest #lildurk 

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , ,

March 28th, 2022

#SummerWalker #Sza #CardiB

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , ,

December 15th, 2021

Charli XCX

GREENWICH ENTERTAINMENT PRESENTS CHARLI XCX: ALONE TOGETHER – AN INTIMATE PORTRAIT OF ISOLATION, CREATIVITY AND COMMUNITY – IN THEATERS AND ON-DEMAND ON JANUARY 28

FILM DOCUMENTS THE GLOBAL POP STAR’S CONNECTION WITH HER “ANGELS” AND  MAKING OF how i’m feeling now ALBUM DURING COVID-19 LOCKDOWN

Opening in select theaters and on-demand January 28th, Charli XCX: Alone Together, a new documentary film presented by Greenwich Entertainment and starring and executive produced by Charli XCX, exposes the international pop superstar’s inner self in ways that have never been seen before. 

When Los Angeles announced a five-week stay at home order in the early days of Covid-19, Charli announced to her ‘Angels’ online fan community that she would create a new album from scratch during that time. Directors Bradley & Pablo (Lil Nas X, Dua Lipa, Rosalia, Kanye West, Cardi B), were so inspired by the announcement that they proposed she document the process for what would become their feature-length film debut. Over 39 days of shooting, Charli amassed some 5000+ clips which required over a year of editing. The result is Alone Together – an intimate portrait of creativity and community which has already been hailed as “a love story between Charli and her fans” (Variety) and “an intimate examination of community in a time of isolation” (The Wrap).

From the outset, Charli opened up to her Angels, creatively and emotionally. As she was making what would become her 2020 album how i’m feeling now, she collaborated with them on selecting lyrics, the album’s cover, scenes for her music videos and more. She also opened up to those fans – many of whom identify as LGBTQ+ and face stigma and feelings of alienation on an everyday basis – about her own struggles. In the process, she gained a new understanding of her emotional limits and mental health issues.

By the end of the film, what starts out with uncertainty blossoms into a statement of strength, hope and completion and a project that had started with one person’s idea had grown to touch the lives of thousands.

“The film solidified what we already knew about Charli: she is a true innovator,” say directors Bradley & Pablo. “She saw an opportunity to experiment and that drives her artistically. Her boldness to create during this time was incredibly inspiring.”

“We hope that audiences walk away seeing the value of human connection and the importance of community. We live in a highly individualized society but we have seen that as human beings we thrive when we work, talk, move, love and support collectively. For both Charli and the fans, we see the power of togetherness to heal and creatively push boundaries during an incredibly difficult time period.”

#bradleyandpablo #charli_xcx

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,

December 1st, 2021

best-of-2021

Best of 2021 – Last year we missed doing our annual “Best Of.” This year we present it after a year of quarantine albums galore. Tours didn’t start until May but new music was flowing from the start of 2021. 2022 is already aiming to be a busy year. Here are our choices for the Best of 2021.

We’ve evolved from Phoebe Bridgers, Megan Thee Stallion and others of last year to a new crop of artists.

Best Label – Fire Talk Records – Home to Bnny, Mamalarky, Packs and more this boutique label is setting up to be the next Saddle Creek Records.  

Secretly Group @secretlygroup, Saddle Creek Records @saddlecreek, Fire Talk Records @firetalkrecs, Don Giovanni Records @DonGiovanniRecs

Nest New Artist –  “New” is always relative. Georgia Maq has been part of Camp Cope, and Isabella Manfredi was part of The Preatures. Our winner is Ashe who album Ashlyn was hard to put down this year.

Georgia Maq @goldsoundz_, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Ashe @ashemusic, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Hawxx @hawxxmusic,  Noa Kirel @noakirel, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Killboy @killboy , Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd , Ydegirl @ydegirl, The Linda Lindas @the_linda_lindas, Allison Ponthier @allisonponthier, Isabella Manfredi @isabellamanfredi, Pom Pom Squad  @pompomsquad

Best Local (Colorado) Artist – Local artists can often be touring or even national acts. This category was very competitive with the amount of quarantine albums that came out. Our winner is Companion who mesmerized us in the Spring. They will quickly become a national act.

Companion @companiontheband , Wellington Bullings @wellingtonbullings, Jenny Shawhan @jennyshawhan, The Velveteers @thevelveteers , Grand Alliance @LeGrandAlliance, Bunny Blake @bunnyblakemusic, Ellsworth @ellsworththefolksinger, Stop Motion, Lvdy @lvdy, Lolita  @lolitaworldwide

Best Dance – Dance is also electronic and electro pop. Magdalena Bay & Sofi Tukker are the 800 lb gorillas in this category. Kito is our winner for surprising collaborations.

Magdalena Bay @magdalenabay, Sofi Tukker @sofitukker, Kito @kito

Best Pop – Pop like Indie is often open to interpretation. It is often what dominates at venues. Our winner is Charlotte Cardin whose Phoenix album was one of the best albums this year.

Hana Vu @hanavuuu, Lucy Dacus @lucydacus, Japanese Breakfast @jbrekkie, Baby Queen @queenofthebabies, Charlotte Cardin @charlottecardin, Jess Chalker @jess_chalker_, May-A @mayacumming, Ashe @ashemusic, Girl In Red @girlinred, Angèle @angele_vl, Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd, Nadia Vaeh @nadiavaeh, Olivia Rox @oliviarox, Number One Popstar @numberonepopstar, Bahari @bahari, Noga Erez @nogaerez, Lola Lennox @lolalennex

Best Rock – Rock is often the guitar driven beat that keeps you going. Kill Birds, who have been touring with Foo Fighters are our winner.

Royal and the Serpent @royalandtheserpent,  Amyl and the Sniffers @amylandthesniffers, Mattiel @mattielworldwide , Upsahl @upsahlmusicl, Self Esteem @selfesteemselfesteem, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Nadia Sheikh @nadiasheikhmusic, Red Hook @weareredhook, Pom Pom Squad @pompomsquad

Best Indie –  Indie always means both a sound but also a level of development. These are the artists at the small venues touring to survive. We have a diverse selection this year. Bnny is our winner.

Torres @torreslovesyou, The Beths @lizstokedstokes, Bnny @bnnyband, Madi Diaz @madidiaz, Marissa Nadler @marrisa_nadler, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Siiickbrain @siiickbrain, Sub*t @subtrules, Killboy @killboy, Cumgirl8 @cumgirl8, L’Freaq @lfreaq, Madelline @i.am.madelline, Anna Smyrk @annasmyrk

Best Experimental – There is always a “flinch” moment when you saw experimental. It involves a great deal of risk as personified by our winner Fifi Rong who is working on her dual album set with one album all in English, and one all in Chinese. She is crowdfunding now.

Insect Ark @insectark, Fifi Rong @fifirong, Sasami @sasamiashworth, Irreversible Entanglements @irreversibleentanglements, Haru Nemuri @haru_nemuri

Best Hip Hop – This is the first year that FEMMUSIC has this category. There may be some arguments as to whether all these artists fit it. Coi Leray is the best newcomer in this area. Ray BLK is our winner.

Bia @bia, Tones and I @tonesandi, Doja Cat @dojacat, Sza @sza, Cardi B @iamcardib, Megan Thee Stallion @theestallion, Coi Leray @coileray, Ms Banks @msbanks, Ray BLK @rayblk, Remi Wolf @remiwolf, Tinashe @tinashenow

Best Jazz – We will admit to not hearing as much jazz this year. Laufey is the winner with original interpretations of classics.

Laufey @laufey, Nnenna Freelon @officialnnenna

Best Country – Brandi Carlile is a favorite in this category and will take home more GRAMMYs. Allison Russell wins for being new and original.

Brandi Carlile @brandicarlile, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, Yola @iamyolaofficial, CMAT @cmatbaby, Jackson & Sellers @jacksonsellersmusic, Ingrid Andress @ingridandress

Best Heavy Metal – Infected Rain is a former winner in this category. Jinjer, Halestorm & The Pretty Reckless dominate. The Velveteers are this year’s winner.

Hawxx @hawxxmusic, Edge of Paradise @edgeofparadise, Jinjer @jinjer_official, The Velveteers @thevelveteers, Infected Rain @infectedrain_official, The Pretty Reckless @theprettyreckless, Halestorm @halestormrocks

Best R & B –  This category includes powerhouses like Arlo Parks and Dawn Richard. Alewya is our winner for new and original music this year.

Muni Long @munilong, India Shawn @indiashawn, Dawn Richard @dawnrichard, Alewya @alewya11, Arlo Parks @arloparks, Tkay Maidza @tkaymaidza, Danielia Cotton @danieliacotton, Saleka @saleka

Best Surprise – A “surprise” for us is that unexpected performance when it was not expected. It includes some risky performances such as LVXURI and Big Klit. S.G. Goodman is our hands down winner. We caught her as an opener and she garnered as much reaction as the headliner. She is a blunt, and emotive songwriter.

S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Kiesza @kiesza, LVXURI @mx_lvxuri, Big Klit  @klitoriusmaximus

Best Comeback – This has been a surprisingly competitive category. Whether it’s the return of ABBA after a long time to Adele’s new album. The big surprise this month is Taylor Swift taking the world with the longest song. She is our winner.

Kylie Minogue @kylieminogue, Avril Lavigne @avrillavigne, Deborah Gibson @debbiegibson, Liz Phair @LizPhairOfficial, Taylor Swift @taylorswift , ABBA @ABBA, Adele @adele, Lorde @lorde

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

August 24th, 2021

Before she had even turned 21, Nija had written scores of Billboard Hot 100 hits. Now 23, the three-time GRAMMY Award-winning contributor has reached a new milestone: the release of her self-penned, self-produced debut single, “Ease My Mind (Come Over),” and the accompanying video via Capitol Records.

Shot in Los Angeles, the official video for “Ease My Mind (Come Over)” is a visually surreal exploration of inner space, traveling through Nija’s subconscious mind. Director Child (Big Sean, Janelle Monáe, H.E.R.) gives us a keyhole view into the vibrant worlds conjured by her imagination as she awaits the arrival of a lover.

Nija says, “This song is about those times when you’ve had a long day, maybe stressed out from work, and you just want to get your mind off things with that special person at the end of the day.”

Born in New Jersey and now based in Los Angeles, Nija has demonstrated a knack for translating her experiences into relatable, emotional songs for artists such as Beyoncé, Cardi B, Ariana Grande, Drake, H.E.R., Lady Gaga and Maroon 5. As she started working on her own music, she relished the freedom she had to fully express herself. Now Nija is writing songs that are more intensely personal and taking control of her music and narrative in a way she never has before.

“When I’m playing the songwriter role, I’m an actress. I’m telling the artist’s story,” she says. “But with my artistry, I don’t have to pull back and I don’t have to be confined or put in a box. It’s free rein to be me, to write from the heart.”

https://www.instagram.com/amnija_/

 

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,

August 12th, 2021

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , ,

July 16th, 2021

Today, multi-platinum selling and chart-topping recording artist Normani returns with “Wild Side” featuring Cardi B. The track drops alongside a jaw-dropping Tanu Muino-directed visual (recently directed Cardi B’s “Up”) choreographed by the renowned Sean Bankhead, who also choreographed Normani’s “Motivation” video – an iconic visual ode to the late 90s-early 2000s – and her MTV VMAs performance. This latest visual showcases Normani’s signature, sleek dance moves, her versatility with fashion and how she continues to be at the top of her game.

Speaking about the new track and working with Cardi B, Normani reveals,  “I had already been in rehearsal for about three weeks preparing for the video when Cardi heard the record for the first time. She really showed up for me and brought this record to life by simply doing what Cardi does best. I love that woman down and I’m forever grateful.”

https://www.instagram.com/normani/

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , ,

February 5th, 2021

Posted in Videos Tagged with: ,

June 4th, 2018

Posted in Videos Tagged with: ,

April 29th, 2018

Posted in Videos Tagged with: ,

June 30th, 2017

Posted in Videos Tagged with: ,