June 14th, 2022

Amyl and the Sniffers

Amyl & the Sniffers – the Melbourne, Australia rock band fronted by powerhouse Amy Taylor – just wrapped up their triumphant stateside return for their first U.S. tour in nearly 3 years. The sold out run saw them perform at Coachella and Shaky Knees, as well as make their raucous U.S television debut on Late Night With Seth Meyers, which Stereogum described as “an absolute revelation,” adding that the band “absolutely fucking ripped it.” Today, the band announces that they’re ready to do it all over again with a U.S Fall tour, featuring some of the largest venues they have ever played. Ticket presale begins June 15 @ 10:00am local time and general on-sale begins Friday, June 17 @ 10:00am local time. https://www.amylandthesniffers.com/shows

Amyl2

Tour dates

9/8/22 – Primavera Sound – Los Angeles, CA

9/20/22 – Brooklyn Bowl – Nashville, TN

9/21/22 – Variety Playhouse – Atlanta, GA

9/23/22 – Terminal 5 – NYC

9/24/22 – 9:30 Club – Washington, D.C.

9/25/22 – Big Night Live – Boston, MA

9/27/22 – Majestic Theatre – Detroit, MI

9/28/22 – Vic Theatre – Chicago, IL

9/29/22 – First Avenue – Minneapolis, MN

10/1/22 – Ogden Theatre – Denver, CO

10/2/22 – The Depot – Salt Lake City, UT

10/4/22 – Knitting Factory – Boise, ID

10/5/22 – Sessions Music Hall – Eugene, OR

10/6/22 – Showbox Sodo – Seattle, WA

10/9/22 – Ohana Encore Weekend – Dana Point, CA

#amylandthesniffers

Posted in Previews Tagged with: ,

December 1st, 2021

best-of-2021

Best of 2021 – Last year we missed doing our annual “Best Of.” This year we present it after a year of quarantine albums galore. Tours didn’t start until May but new music was flowing from the start of 2021. 2022 is already aiming to be a busy year. Here are our choices for the Best of 2021.

We’ve evolved from Phoebe Bridgers, Megan Thee Stallion and others of last year to a new crop of artists.

Best Label – Fire Talk Records – Home to Bnny, Mamalarky, Packs and more this boutique label is setting up to be the next Saddle Creek Records.  

Secretly Group @secretlygroup, Saddle Creek Records @saddlecreek, Fire Talk Records @firetalkrecs, Don Giovanni Records @DonGiovanniRecs

Nest New Artist –  “New” is always relative. Georgia Maq has been part of Camp Cope, and Isabella Manfredi was part of The Preatures. Our winner is Ashe who album Ashlyn was hard to put down this year.

Georgia Maq @goldsoundz_, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Ashe @ashemusic, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Hawxx @hawxxmusic,  Noa Kirel @noakirel, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Killboy @killboy , Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd , Ydegirl @ydegirl, The Linda Lindas @the_linda_lindas, Allison Ponthier @allisonponthier, Isabella Manfredi @isabellamanfredi, Pom Pom Squad  @pompomsquad

Best Local (Colorado) Artist – Local artists can often be touring or even national acts. This category was very competitive with the amount of quarantine albums that came out. Our winner is Companion who mesmerized us in the Spring. They will quickly become a national act.

Companion @companiontheband , Wellington Bullings @wellingtonbullings, Jenny Shawhan @jennyshawhan, The Velveteers @thevelveteers , Grand Alliance @LeGrandAlliance, Bunny Blake @bunnyblakemusic, Ellsworth @ellsworththefolksinger, Stop Motion, Lvdy @lvdy, Lolita  @lolitaworldwide

Best Dance – Dance is also electronic and electro pop. Magdalena Bay & Sofi Tukker are the 800 lb gorillas in this category. Kito is our winner for surprising collaborations.

Magdalena Bay @magdalenabay, Sofi Tukker @sofitukker, Kito @kito

Best Pop – Pop like Indie is often open to interpretation. It is often what dominates at venues. Our winner is Charlotte Cardin whose Phoenix album was one of the best albums this year.

Hana Vu @hanavuuu, Lucy Dacus @lucydacus, Japanese Breakfast @jbrekkie, Baby Queen @queenofthebabies, Charlotte Cardin @charlottecardin, Jess Chalker @jess_chalker_, May-A @mayacumming, Ashe @ashemusic, Girl In Red @girlinred, Angèle @angele_vl, Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd, Nadia Vaeh @nadiavaeh, Olivia Rox @oliviarox, Number One Popstar @numberonepopstar, Bahari @bahari, Noga Erez @nogaerez, Lola Lennox @lolalennex

Best Rock – Rock is often the guitar driven beat that keeps you going. Kill Birds, who have been touring with Foo Fighters are our winner.

Royal and the Serpent @royalandtheserpent,  Amyl and the Sniffers @amylandthesniffers, Mattiel @mattielworldwide , Upsahl @upsahlmusicl, Self Esteem @selfesteemselfesteem, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Nadia Sheikh @nadiasheikhmusic, Red Hook @weareredhook, Pom Pom Squad @pompomsquad

Best Indie –  Indie always means both a sound but also a level of development. These are the artists at the small venues touring to survive. We have a diverse selection this year. Bnny is our winner.

Torres @torreslovesyou, The Beths @lizstokedstokes, Bnny @bnnyband, Madi Diaz @madidiaz, Marissa Nadler @marrisa_nadler, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Siiickbrain @siiickbrain, Sub*t @subtrules, Killboy @killboy, Cumgirl8 @cumgirl8, L’Freaq @lfreaq, Madelline @i.am.madelline, Anna Smyrk @annasmyrk

Best Experimental – There is always a “flinch” moment when you saw experimental. It involves a great deal of risk as personified by our winner Fifi Rong who is working on her dual album set with one album all in English, and one all in Chinese. She is crowdfunding now.

Insect Ark @insectark, Fifi Rong @fifirong, Sasami @sasamiashworth, Irreversible Entanglements @irreversibleentanglements, Haru Nemuri @haru_nemuri

Best Hip Hop – This is the first year that FEMMUSIC has this category. There may be some arguments as to whether all these artists fit it. Coi Leray is the best newcomer in this area. Ray BLK is our winner.

Bia @bia, Tones and I @tonesandi, Doja Cat @dojacat, Sza @sza, Cardi B @iamcardib, Megan Thee Stallion @theestallion, Coi Leray @coileray, Ms Banks @msbanks, Ray BLK @rayblk, Remi Wolf @remiwolf, Tinashe @tinashenow

Best Jazz – We will admit to not hearing as much jazz this year. Laufey is the winner with original interpretations of classics.

Laufey @laufey, Nnenna Freelon @officialnnenna

Best Country – Brandi Carlile is a favorite in this category and will take home more GRAMMYs. Allison Russell wins for being new and original.

Brandi Carlile @brandicarlile, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, Yola @iamyolaofficial, CMAT @cmatbaby, Jackson & Sellers @jacksonsellersmusic, Ingrid Andress @ingridandress

Best Heavy Metal – Infected Rain is a former winner in this category. Jinjer, Halestorm & The Pretty Reckless dominate. The Velveteers are this year’s winner.

Hawxx @hawxxmusic, Edge of Paradise @edgeofparadise, Jinjer @jinjer_official, The Velveteers @thevelveteers, Infected Rain @infectedrain_official, The Pretty Reckless @theprettyreckless, Halestorm @halestormrocks

Best R & B –  This category includes powerhouses like Arlo Parks and Dawn Richard. Alewya is our winner for new and original music this year.

Muni Long @munilong, India Shawn @indiashawn, Dawn Richard @dawnrichard, Alewya @alewya11, Arlo Parks @arloparks, Tkay Maidza @tkaymaidza, Danielia Cotton @danieliacotton, Saleka @saleka

Best Surprise – A “surprise” for us is that unexpected performance when it was not expected. It includes some risky performances such as LVXURI and Big Klit. S.G. Goodman is our hands down winner. We caught her as an opener and she garnered as much reaction as the headliner. She is a blunt, and emotive songwriter.

S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Kiesza @kiesza, LVXURI @mx_lvxuri, Big Klit  @klitoriusmaximus

Best Comeback – This has been a surprisingly competitive category. Whether it’s the return of ABBA after a long time to Adele’s new album. The big surprise this month is Taylor Swift taking the world with the longest song. She is our winner.

Kylie Minogue @kylieminogue, Avril Lavigne @avrillavigne, Deborah Gibson @debbiegibson, Liz Phair @LizPhairOfficial, Taylor Swift @taylorswift , ABBA @ABBA, Adele @adele, Lorde @lorde

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

November 9th, 2021

Amyl & The Sniffers

Amyl & the Sniffers, the Melbourne, Australia rock band fronted by Amy Taylor, released their sophomore album Comfort To Me a few weeks ago via ATO Records/Rough Trade. Now, after a triumphant release from the world’s longest lockdown in Australia, Amyl & the Sniffers announce their long-awaited return stateside for a North American 2022 tour. In addition to the band’s previously announced show at Music Hall of Williamsburg in December which sold out in less than one day, the Sniffers will tour Spring 2022.

Comfort To Me, which was co-produced by the band and Dan Luscombe, is the follow-up to Amyl & the Sniffers’ critically acclaimed 2019 self-titled debut album, which won Australia’s esteemed ARIA Award for Best Rock Album and saw the band tour their anarchic and ridiculously fun live show internationally for the past two years. With its lyrics largely written during the Australian Bushfire season, when The Sniffers were already wearing masks to protect themselves from smoke in the air, Comfort To Me came together in a 3-bedroom apartment where the four band members quarantined together during COVID-19 lockdown. The result is a less spontaneous and more darkly considered record that masterfully captures the essence of the band like never before. “This album is just us — raw self expression, defiant energy, unapologetic vulnerability,” says Taylor. “It was written by four self-taught musicians who are all just trying to get by and have a good time.”

Tour dates

12/6/2021 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg

4/26/2022 – Austin, TX @ Hotel Vegas

4/27/2022 – Austin, TX @ Hotel Vegas

5/6/2022 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall

5/ 7/2022 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall

5/9/2022 – Portland, OR @ Roseland Ballroom

5/10/2022 – Vancouver BC @ Rickshaw

5/11/2022 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile

5/13/2022 – Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line

5/14/2022 – Chicago, IL @ Logan Square Auditorium

5/16/2022 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall

5/ 17/ 2022 – Montreal, QC @ La Tulipe

5/19/ 2022 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel

5/21/2022 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts

5/22/2022 – Baltimore, MD @ Ram’s Head Live

@amylandthesniffers

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,

July 7th, 2021

Amyl and the Sniffers, the Melbourne, Australia rock band fronted by Amy Taylor, will release their second album Comfort To Me on September 10 on ATO Records.

Taylor and her bandmates – guitarist Dec Martens, bassist Gus Romer, and drummer Bryce Wilson – wrote Comfort To Me during the pandemic while quarantining in the same house together, spending more time refining the songs than they had previously. “The nihilistic, live in the moment, positivity and panel beater rock-meets-shed show punk was still there, but it was better,” says Taylor. “The whole thing was less spontaneous and more darkly considered.”

“The amount of time and thought I put into the lyrics for this album is completely different from the EPs, and even the first record,” she continues. “Half of the lyrics were written during the Australian bushfire season, when we were already wearing masks to protect ourselves from the smoke in the air. And then when the pandemic hit, our options were the same as everyone: go find a day job and work in intense conditions or sit at home and drown in introspection. I fell into the latter category. I had all this energy inside of me and nowhere to put it, because I couldn’t perform, and it had a hectic effect on my brain. My brain evolved and warped and my way of thinking about the world completely changed.

 Having to deal with a lot of authority during 2020 and realising my lack of power made me feel both more self destructive and more self disciplined, more nihilistic and more depressed and more resentful, which ultimately fuelled me with a kind of relentless motivation. I became a temporary monster. I partied more, but I also exercised heaps, read books and ate veggies. I was like an egg going into boiling water when this started, gooey and weak but with a hard surface. I came out even harder. I’m still soft on the inside, but in a different way.”

The result is a collection of 13 songs – mixed by Nick Launay (Nick Cave, IDLES, Yeah Yeah Yeahs) and mastered by Bernie Grundman (Prince, Michael Jackson, Dr. Dre, OutKast) – that amp up the band’s infectiously chaotic energy. “People will use other bands as a sonic reference to make it more digestible and journalists will make it seem more pretentious and considered than it really is,” says Taylor, “but in the end this album is just us — raw self expression, defiant energy, unapologetic vulnerability.”

Today the band shares Comfort To Me’s pummeling first single “Guided by Angels” alongside a video directed by John Angus Stewart.

https://www.amylandthesniffers.com/

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,

June 3rd, 2021

Splendour in the Grass is thrilled to introduce Splendour XR, a bold and world first extended reality edition of your favorite Aussie festival. It’s online, priced to be affordable and It’s Unreal!

Splendour XR will hit your screen of choice from

Saturday 24 & Sunday 25 July.

Available on mobile, tablet, browser, desktop and VR.

https://splendourxr.com/tickets/

Always the innovators, when COVID pulled the plug on live music around the world, team Splendour set to work and is now preparing to flick the switch on a world first online experience, unlike anything you’ve seen to date, that will take Splendour in the Grass to audiences around the globe.

Available on mobile, tablet, browser, desktop and VR, Splendour XR combines technology, art and over 50 of your favorite music artists, in a true virtual Splendour in the Grass festival experience rolled out over two days.

Indie rock royalty, critically acclaimed and genre defying singer-songwriters, viral pop sensations, hip-hop heroes and sought after collaborators, pioneering dance producers and artists who push way beyond boundaries into the unknown, will perform across Splendour XR’s stages alongside the hottest Australian acts of the moment.

DAY 1 – KHALID

CHVRCHES. DENZEL CURRY. DUKE DUMONT. TASH SULTANA. MASKED WOLF. RUSS MILLIONS. BAND OF HORSES. LITTLE SIMZ. VIOLENT SOHO. AURORA. PHOEBE BRIDGERS. VERA BLUE. PINK SWEAT$. CLIENT LIAISON. GRIFF. POND. TAYLA PARX. DUNE RATS. METHYL ETHEL. THE CHATS. TRIPLE ONE. CAT & CALMELL. KING STINGRAY. THE SOUTHERN RIVER BAND

DAY 2 – THE KILLERS

CHARLI XCX. VANCE JOY. GRIMES METAVERSE (SUPER BETA). THE AVALANCHES. OF MONSTERS AND MEN. KAYTRANADA. BLACK PUMAS. HOT DUB TIME MACHINE. MILLENNIUM PARADE. THE JUNGLE GIANTS. OCEAN ALLEY. JUNGLE. WHAT SO NOT. KING GIZZARD & THE LIZARD WIZARD. SINÉAD HARNETT. HOLLY HUMBERSTONE. SPACEY JANE. CROOKED COLOURS. AMYL AND THE SNIFFERS. WAFIA. AVIVA. THE SNUTS. BAND-MAID. ZIGGY RAMO. GRETTA RAY.

With single user tickets available from $19.99 for a single day/$34.99 for both days and with a $2.50 discount for Splendour in the Grass existing IRL ticket holders, punters can dive into Splendour XR from the comfort of their couch and watch with family and friends from across the globe or purchase an XR Party Pack and create their own Splendour XR house party.

Splendour XR will include an online medical centre to assist any patrons who are struggling with their mental health in this Covid world. And XR is committed to managing emissions and creating a clean and green platform with a minimal carbon footprint.

“Splendour has always offered patrons a deep programming experience with The Forum, Global Village, Little Splendour and more on offer alongside our favorite artists. We could not be more excited about Splendour XR and the opportunity to take the Splendour goodness online to our existing community and also to new audiences around the globe.” said Splendour in the Grass Co-producers Jessica Ducrou and Paul Piticco.

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

July 9th, 2019

Posted in Videos Tagged with: ,