September 21st, 2022

Alewya

After releasing her highly praised bold debut EP, Panther in Mode, Alewya returns with the latest dazzling weapon in her arsenal: the new single and video for “Let Go.”

Brimming with ancestral drums and raspy melodies, “Let Go” marks a new phase for her, one that through a time of mental agony and confusion revealed a newfound personal freedom and confidence.

“I’m freeing myself up, getting more confident in how lost I feel,” notes Alewya. “With Panther In Mode, I was coming from a more poised space. The next phase is more wild. I won’t hold back anymore.”

Today, Alewya also shares the song’s video, directed by Rawtape x Lee Trigg. The video sees her as the sole performer and features original hieroglyphic-style artwork by Alewya.

#alewya11

 

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , ,

December 1st, 2021

best-of-2021

Best of 2021 – Last year we missed doing our annual “Best Of.” This year we present it after a year of quarantine albums galore. Tours didn’t start until May but new music was flowing from the start of 2021. 2022 is already aiming to be a busy year. Here are our choices for the Best of 2021.

We’ve evolved from Phoebe Bridgers, Megan Thee Stallion and others of last year to a new crop of artists.

Best Label – Fire Talk Records – Home to Bnny, Mamalarky, Packs and more this boutique label is setting up to be the next Saddle Creek Records.  

Secretly Group @secretlygroup, Saddle Creek Records @saddlecreek, Fire Talk Records @firetalkrecs, Don Giovanni Records @DonGiovanniRecs

Nest New Artist –  “New” is always relative. Georgia Maq has been part of Camp Cope, and Isabella Manfredi was part of The Preatures. Our winner is Ashe who album Ashlyn was hard to put down this year.

Georgia Maq @goldsoundz_, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Ashe @ashemusic, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Hawxx @hawxxmusic,  Noa Kirel @noakirel, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Killboy @killboy , Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd , Ydegirl @ydegirl, The Linda Lindas @the_linda_lindas, Allison Ponthier @allisonponthier, Isabella Manfredi @isabellamanfredi, Pom Pom Squad  @pompomsquad

Best Local (Colorado) Artist – Local artists can often be touring or even national acts. This category was very competitive with the amount of quarantine albums that came out. Our winner is Companion who mesmerized us in the Spring. They will quickly become a national act.

Companion @companiontheband , Wellington Bullings @wellingtonbullings, Jenny Shawhan @jennyshawhan, The Velveteers @thevelveteers , Grand Alliance @LeGrandAlliance, Bunny Blake @bunnyblakemusic, Ellsworth @ellsworththefolksinger, Stop Motion, Lvdy @lvdy, Lolita  @lolitaworldwide

Best Dance – Dance is also electronic and electro pop. Magdalena Bay & Sofi Tukker are the 800 lb gorillas in this category. Kito is our winner for surprising collaborations.

Magdalena Bay @magdalenabay, Sofi Tukker @sofitukker, Kito @kito

Best Pop – Pop like Indie is often open to interpretation. It is often what dominates at venues. Our winner is Charlotte Cardin whose Phoenix album was one of the best albums this year.

Hana Vu @hanavuuu, Lucy Dacus @lucydacus, Japanese Breakfast @jbrekkie, Baby Queen @queenofthebabies, Charlotte Cardin @charlottecardin, Jess Chalker @jess_chalker_, May-A @mayacumming, Ashe @ashemusic, Girl In Red @girlinred, Angèle @angele_vl, Sloppy Jane @sloppyjanebandd, Nadia Vaeh @nadiavaeh, Olivia Rox @oliviarox, Number One Popstar @numberonepopstar, Bahari @bahari, Noga Erez @nogaerez, Lola Lennox @lolalennex

Best Rock – Rock is often the guitar driven beat that keeps you going. Kill Birds, who have been touring with Foo Fighters are our winner.

Royal and the Serpent @royalandtheserpent,  Amyl and the Sniffers @amylandthesniffers, Mattiel @mattielworldwide , Upsahl @upsahlmusicl, Self Esteem @selfesteemselfesteem, Kill Birds @killbirdsmusic, Nadia Sheikh @nadiasheikhmusic, Red Hook @weareredhook, Pom Pom Squad @pompomsquad

Best Indie –  Indie always means both a sound but also a level of development. These are the artists at the small venues touring to survive. We have a diverse selection this year. Bnny is our winner.

Torres @torreslovesyou, The Beths @lizstokedstokes, Bnny @bnnyband, Madi Diaz @madidiaz, Marissa Nadler @marrisa_nadler, Jillette Johnson @jillettejohnson, Siiickbrain @siiickbrain, Sub*t @subtrules, Killboy @killboy, Cumgirl8 @cumgirl8, L’Freaq @lfreaq, Madelline @i.am.madelline, Anna Smyrk @annasmyrk

Best Experimental – There is always a “flinch” moment when you saw experimental. It involves a great deal of risk as personified by our winner Fifi Rong who is working on her dual album set with one album all in English, and one all in Chinese. She is crowdfunding now.

Insect Ark @insectark, Fifi Rong @fifirong, Sasami @sasamiashworth, Irreversible Entanglements @irreversibleentanglements, Haru Nemuri @haru_nemuri

Best Hip Hop – This is the first year that FEMMUSIC has this category. There may be some arguments as to whether all these artists fit it. Coi Leray is the best newcomer in this area. Ray BLK is our winner.

Bia @bia, Tones and I @tonesandi, Doja Cat @dojacat, Sza @sza, Cardi B @iamcardib, Megan Thee Stallion @theestallion, Coi Leray @coileray, Ms Banks @msbanks, Ray BLK @rayblk, Remi Wolf @remiwolf, Tinashe @tinashenow

Best Jazz – We will admit to not hearing as much jazz this year. Laufey is the winner with original interpretations of classics.

Laufey @laufey, Nnenna Freelon @officialnnenna

Best Country – Brandi Carlile is a favorite in this category and will take home more GRAMMYs. Allison Russell wins for being new and original.

Brandi Carlile @brandicarlile, Allison Russell @allisonrussellmusic, Yola @iamyolaofficial, CMAT @cmatbaby, Jackson & Sellers @jacksonsellersmusic, Ingrid Andress @ingridandress

Best Heavy Metal – Infected Rain is a former winner in this category. Jinjer, Halestorm & The Pretty Reckless dominate. The Velveteers are this year’s winner.

Hawxx @hawxxmusic, Edge of Paradise @edgeofparadise, Jinjer @jinjer_official, The Velveteers @thevelveteers, Infected Rain @infectedrain_official, The Pretty Reckless @theprettyreckless, Halestorm @halestormrocks

Best R & B –  This category includes powerhouses like Arlo Parks and Dawn Richard. Alewya is our winner for new and original music this year.

Muni Long @munilong, India Shawn @indiashawn, Dawn Richard @dawnrichard, Alewya @alewya11, Arlo Parks @arloparks, Tkay Maidza @tkaymaidza, Danielia Cotton @danieliacotton, Saleka @saleka

Best Surprise – A “surprise” for us is that unexpected performance when it was not expected. It includes some risky performances such as LVXURI and Big Klit. S.G. Goodman is our hands down winner. We caught her as an opener and she garnered as much reaction as the headliner. She is a blunt, and emotive songwriter.

S.G. Goodman @s.g.goodman, Kiesza @kiesza, LVXURI @mx_lvxuri, Big Klit  @klitoriusmaximus

Best Comeback – This has been a surprisingly competitive category. Whether it’s the return of ABBA after a long time to Adele’s new album. The big surprise this month is Taylor Swift taking the world with the longest song. She is our winner.

Kylie Minogue @kylieminogue, Avril Lavigne @avrillavigne, Deborah Gibson @debbiegibson, Liz Phair @LizPhairOfficial, Taylor Swift @taylorswift , ABBA @ABBA, Adele @adele, Lorde @lorde

Posted in Previews Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

October 6th, 2021

Alewya has also announced Panther In Mode, her debut EP due for release on November 18 via Because London Records. The critically-praised London-based artist, illustrator and sculptor has also released her new single “Play,” along with a new video co-directed by Alewya & Jack Bowden. 

“Play” was produced by Busy Twist — who was behind the boards for Alewya’s breakout track “Sweating” — and is a kinetic celebration of freedom. “’Play’ is a song about my love and gratitude for pleasure and play and how it has and can unlock deeper feelings of connections,” notes Alewya. “It’s overtly feminine and innately primal and most of all light and fun!” @alewya11

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , ,

July 21st, 2021

Today, London-based artist Alewya has released her new track “Spirit_X”, a mesmerising track indebted to the sounds and communal embrace of the rave. Drawing from the restless rhythms of drum and bass, “Spirit_X” moves at high speed, with Alewya’s vocals echoing the emotions of a heady night. Alongside this news, Alewya is proud to announce that she will be joining Little Simz on her December UK tour.

Alewya says on “Spirit_X”: “I know that the rave can be utilized as ritual and ceremony to transform, uplift and energize a person. I love giving visceral experiences. I love drum and bass for that specific reason. ‘Spirit_X’ encompasses all of the above in my way.”

https://www.instagram.com/alewya11/?hl=en

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , ,

June 23rd, 2021

Alewya returns with her latest single “Jagna,” out today on Because London Records. The track follows her explosive 2020 debut “Sweating,” and is coupled with a new video directed by Alewya and Tom Ringsby.

“Firstly, ‘Jagna’ will never be able to be articulated in words. But I’ll try,” notes Alewya. “‘Jagna’ is polarity. ‘Jagna’ is release, ‘Jagna’ is my soul, ‘Jagna’ is my rage, ‘Jagna’ is my lesson, my desperation, frustration, my surrender, my vulnerability, my acceptance and my existence on this planet.” In addition to releasing the single, Alewya shared the stunning video that sees the artist frantically running through the desert and was filmed at the famed desert-esque beach of Dungeness in the UK.

The translation of Alewya’s name from Arabic means ‘most high’ or ‘the highest’ so it’s fitting that her music centres around the idea of transcendence. After spending four years in New York, she returned to west London where she was raised. Alewya, of Egyptian and Ethiopia descent, grew up nestled in a community rich with diaspora from around the globe. It was here she received a nourishing musical education that can be heard throughout her music.

https://www.instagram.com/alewya11/?hl=en

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , ,

March 17th, 2021

Producer, singer-songwriter and visual artist Alewya teams up with multi-award winning drummer, producer and composer Moses Boyd on new track “The Code,” out today via Because London Records. As the world came to a halt, these two London-based artists came together in their hometown to collaborate and their artistic chemistry was apparent only minutes after jamming together in the studio.

Moses says on the collaboration “My favourite moments in the studio are those when the flow is seamless and doesn’t need to be explained. We made ‘The Code’ within minutes of jamming together and it was just that, seamless. I knew we would have great musical chemistry and it’s been refreshing to work with someone as open, brave and inquisitive as Alewya. I know she has so much more great music to come.”

“This track came so naturally,” Alewya adds. “Moses has a way of understanding musical language and weeding it out of you – I was truly grateful for it. The Code is essentially a song sung by the observer in me Observing the shadow of me. Captures what we as a collective and individually are going through – an intense dark night of the soul.”

Alewya is known for her single “Sweating.” Moses Boyd released his album Dark Matter which was nominated for a 2020 Mercury Prize.

https://www.instagram.com/alewya11/

https://www.instagram.com/mosesboydexodus/

Posted in Videos Tagged with: , , , , , , ,

June 25th, 2020

Alewya is a UK based producer and singer with Ethiopian-Egyptian roots.

The translation of Alewya’s name from Arabic means “most high” or “the highest” so it’s fitting that her music centres around the idea of transcendence. Her music is an accessible space for her and her listeners to connect spiritually. “I want to move people to themself. I want them to feel the same way that I felt when I had a taste of a higher power and felt there was a presence over me. I want people to feel that.”

Alewya notes, “It’s about feeling chemistry with someone but also about a female who is not afraid of her prowess and power. It’s a mood.”

https://www.instagram.com/alewya11/

Posted in Special Features, Videos Tagged with: ,