December 1st, 2018
Jade Bird
Best Guitars – Thunderpussy – This Seattle 4 piece wowed up earlier in the year with the riffs of Whitney Petty. They released their self-titled album this year. http://www.thunderpussyusa.com/
Runners Up: Bones – https://www.bonesuk.com/
 
Best Bluegrass – Sierra Hull – Hull continues to dominate as a young Grammy Nominated mandolin player. https://www.sierrahull.com/
Becky Buller – http://beckybuller.com/
 
Best Country – Edan Archer – We discovered this country artist at  Canadian Music Week. Her song, “Bad Imitation of Something Good” immediately caught our attention. http://www.edanarcher.com/
Runners Up: Madison Cunningham – http://www.madisoncunningham.com/
 
Best Jazz – Nicole Mitchell – This jazz flutist working in a drumless quartet presents the bold album Maroon Cloudhttps://www.nicolemitchell.com/
Runners Up: Myra Melford – http://www.myramelford.com/
Cyrille Aimee – https://cyrillemusic.com/
 
Best Indie –  The Beths – This quirky 4 piece wormed their way into our hearts with the song “Future Me Hates Me.” Their subsequent singles only reinforced our opinion. https://thebeths.com/
 
Best Punk – Taco Mouth – This Nashville band had us roiled in anger and laughing in hysterics at the video for “Fighting For Today.” https://www.facebook.com/tacomouthband/
Runners Up: Death Valley Girls – https://www.facebook.com/DeathValleyGirls/
 
Best Rock – Marissa Nadler – Nadler had already been a strong favorite with us because of Strangers. Her new album For My Crimes continued to amaze us. https://www.marissanadler.com/
Jo Passed  – http://www.jopassed.com/
 
Best Pop – Jade Bird – This UK artist released her EP in 2017 and is preparing to release a full length in 2019. It wasn’t until we saw her live that we could say the hype was true. She is sometimes marketed as a country artist. Make no mistake, Jade Bird is the next Jenny Lewis in the making. She can play a variety of styles and has a smile that disarms the world. http://www.jade-bird.com/
Runners Up: Transviolet – http://www.transviolet.com/
 
Best Heavy Metal – Hide – This Industrial duo caught our attention early in the year with “Wildfire.” They are a face melting extreme act who will only get bigger.  https://www.facebook.com/hidefromhide/
Runners Up: Halestorm – http://www.halestormrocks.com/
 
Best EDM – Sigrid – This synthpop artist exploded early this year and we expect more of the same for 2019. https://www.thisissigrid.com/
 
Best Foreign Artist –  Million Miles – Sophie Baudry released her latest EP Good Luck, Honey. She has a soulful voice that is hypnotic in every single. https://www.millionmilesmusic.com/
Runner Up: Irini Mando – https://www.facebook.com/IriniMando/
 
Best Unexpected Surprise – Marchfourth – A 12 piece marching band with contortionist and jugglers and a two hour set of the best party music. http://www.marchfourthband.com/
Runners Up: Nicolle Rochelle – Ginkgoa – https://www.ginkgoa.com/
 
Best Return – Alison Sudol – Sudol is both an actress and singer-songwriter known for the band A Fine Frenzy. She has returned with the Moon EP. http://alisonsudol.com/
Runners Up: Metric – https://www.ilovemetric.com/
Avril Lavigne – https://avrillavigne.com/
 
Best Local Artist – Rowan Kerrick – It has been our pleasure to watch Rowan evolve. After time in NY for school she is back and breaking into the Denver scene. https://www.facebook.com/musicbyrowan/
Runners Up: Wild Call – https://www.facebook.com/wildcalldenver/
Heavy Diamond Rain – http://www.pauldehavenmusic.com/
 
Best New Artist – King Princess – She has been selling out shows all summer. This NY artist will shatter records soon enough. Her EP Make My Bed includes the single “1950.” https://kingprincessmusic.com/
Runners Up: Stef Chura – http://stefchura.net/
Brynn Elliott – https://brynnelliott.com/
Merritt Gibson –  http://www.merrittgibson.com/
 
Artist of the Year – Boygenius – Arriving late in the year is the superband of the year which features Julien Baker, Lucy Dacus & Phoebe Bridgers. https://www.facebook.com/boygeniustrio/
Runners up: Pale Waves – http://www.palewaves.co.uk/
Natalie Prass – https://natalieprass.com/
 
Label of the Year – Mom & Pop Records – On their 10 year anniversary Mom + Pop is going strong with artists including Alice Merton, Courtney Barnett, Hinds, Sleigh Bells & Tash Sultana
Runners Up: Ba Da Bing Records – http://www.badabingrecords.com/
Father/ Daughter Records – http://www.fatherdaughterrecords.com/
New West Records – http://www.newwestrecords.com/
Saddle Creek – https://saddle-creek.com/
 

Posted in Special Features Tagged with: